We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful large rooms”
Review of Tinode House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Dublin
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Tinode House
Ranked #8 of 149 Dublin B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Beautiful large rooms”
Reviewed 29 June 2014

We just returned from Dublin and had two lovely rooms at Tinode House (twin/no. 3, very cosy, on 1st floor and modern double room on ground floor), both beautiful and quite large, bathrooms also nice, everything very clean. The rooms were going out towards the back garden and quiet at night, slept very good. The winter garden was great to sit in when it was rainy outside, there was also a nice little garden on the back side with table and chairs under a big umbrella as well as a little pavillon, both very relaxing, not only for smokers). PJ gave us lots of good advice and was very helpful and made us feel welcome. There is a nice pub with good food just 3 minutes down the road on the same side. Location is good, bus stop in front of the house to get to the city conveniently. Beautiful B & B with very comfortable atmosphere that we would choose again, Anna / Austria.

Room Tip: We had twin/no. 3, very cosy on 1st floor and modern double room on ground floor), both beautiful an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anna H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

238 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    202
    31
    5
    0
    0
See reviews for
69
114
10
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bellevue, WA
Level Contributor
184 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2014

Compared to other B&B's that we visited in Ireland, the facility itself is not the strong point. A row house on a busy street, and some of the rooms are smallish. The strong points are the host and the location. PJ provided wonderful hospitality and excellent advice. The location is simple for both the airport and the city. From the airport, take the #16 (as I recall) city bus, it is that simple,, and the same bus to get into the city. Breakfasts are great. In addition, for lunch, PJ recommended Fagans Pub close by, and go there for the carvery (half portion).

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rerBellevue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2014

My family (mom, dad, brother) and I stayed with PJ & Maureen on June 6- June 9. We checked in later than expected, but it was no problem. PJ was absolutely accommodating.
The stay was splendid and I could type plenty, but I'm going to break it down into points to stay simple.

- Breakfast was delicious: you can mix and match to create the breakfast you want. I recommend the traditional breakfast. Need less food? Go for the poached eggs and tomatoes. Maureen makes the breakfast, so if you see her, say "thanks". She doesn't greet guests as much as PJ.
- PJ is full of advice if you ask for it.
- The beds are incredibly comfortable.
- There's parking out front (but you really don't need a car in Dublin unless you're making day trips away from the city). Also, parking in Dublin city is AWFUL. Just a forewarning.
- There's plenty of natural light and mirrors for those who need places to get ready. The windowsills also function great for doing makeup.
- It's quiet, calm and clean without being pretentious or stuffy. Other guests were quiet and respectful, as well.
- It's only a 10 minute drive from the heart of Dublin.
- It's an excellent point for daytime excursions- like Newgrange or the Wicklow Forest.
- It's a 5 minute drive from the airport.

My only complaint is for a lack of plug outlets that fit converters. The plugs (in my room upstairs) were close to the ground, and my converter literally couldn't plug in. There were other plug outlets, so it wasn't a big deal.
Also, the water pressure in the shower is really low. It works, but barely.

Overall, PJ & Maureen are excellent hosts, and Tinode House is an excellent place to stay. I recommend it over a hotel (or another b&b) any day.

Thanks for the wonderful stay!
-the traveling Texans

Room Tip: My brother and I shared the room at the top of the stairs and it got great internet reception all da...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lana_from_Texas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2014

We were at Tinode House for 2 nights when we flew into Dublin. Everything was exceptionally clean and comfortable. Breakfasts were delicious. Located outside the Dublin Town Centre, but the bus stop was right outside the door. PJ was extremely helpful and personable. He will be one of our favorite memories!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bdonnici
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wilmington, Delaware
1 review
Reviewed 16 June 2014

We booked two rooms for four of us for 4 nights at the beginning of our stay in Ireland and returned there the last night we were in Ireland before heading to the airport in the morning. It's an easy bus ride to and from the airport. PJ was most welcoming accommodating and very helpful with information about Dublin and how to get around. We were able to get our 3 day bus pass from him, which included the Hop-On-Hop Off bus as well as the most convenient buses to and from center city and around Dublin. That was a great savings and a great convenience. The rooms were clean, beds were comfortable, breakfast was always delicious and PJ was always there to help us and share some Irish stories. There was a lovely, bright sunroom off the dining room. I would definitely recommend Tinode House to anyone who is visiting Dublin. At the end of our visit, I inadvertently left a ring in my room. After contacting PJ, he put it in the mail to me, and followed up repeatedly to make sure it had arrived. Thank you, PJ and Maureen, for your Irish hospitality. Marj

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marj J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hartford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2014

We booked two rooms for 3 nights. PJ's advance information on taking the bus made getting from the airport to the Tinode House very easy, particularly after that long flight from the states. He also guided us with the buses around Dublin. The bedrooms, dining room and common rooms are all very clean and comfortable. We couldn't have done any better. Many thanks to PJ, his welcoming and accommodations. The Tinode House was our first stop on a month-long trip to Ireland and Scotland and it set the bar of all the rest.

Room Tip: Travel light. We took too much clothing and toiletries. There are at least two stores within a ten...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Thomas F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2014

P.J. took care of us every step of the way, from helping us safely park our rental car in his private car park to guiding us through the best ways to explore Dublin. He even gave us a special selection of fruits and yogurt for a quick breakfast when we had to leave early for the airport on our last day. He was a warm and friendly host. We really enjoyed his stories. We feel like we understand Dublin culture much better after seeing it through his eyes.

The bed was a super-king, huge and very comfortable. Breakfast was delicious. The location is great, too. It's a ten minute drive to the airport, a two minute walk to the bus stop, five minutes' walk for food, and a 30 minute walk to the city center.

No complaints here. We will absolutely be looking up P.J. again next time we're in Dublin.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pullupachair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
1.0 mi away
The Croke Park
The Croke Park
#7 of 151 in Dublin
4,460 reviews
0.2 mi away
Dublin Skylon Hotel
Dublin Skylon Hotel
#35 of 151 in Dublin
1,864 reviews
1.9 mi away
Clontarf Castle Hotel
Clontarf Castle Hotel
#3 of 151 in Dublin
3,815 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Jurys Inn Dublin Parnell Street
0.9 mi away
Almanii Bed & Breakfast
Almanii Bed & Breakfast
#3 of 149 in Dublin
309 reviews
3.0 mi away
Leesonbridge Guesthouse
Leesonbridge Guesthouse
#7 of 149 in Dublin
873 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tinode House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tinode House

Property: Tinode House
Address: 170 Upper Drumcondra Road, Dublin 9, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 149 B&Bs / Inns in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 4

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing