We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A very average Guest House.”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Annagh House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Annagh House
Ranked #110 of 153 Hotels in Dublin
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A very average Guest House.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2013

The rooms are tired and very basic. Breakfast was poor and very obviously the cheapest they could buy. On the positive the location was good and owner was helpful if not lacking in manners occasionally.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank melodycool1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    45
    22
    10
    4
    3
See reviews for
17
34
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Mexico City, Mexico
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2013

I came all the way from Mexico to attend a design event in Dublin and was so happy to stay at Annagh House! Delia and John are a lovely couple which excels in making you feel right at home Ina foreign country. They were friendly since I arrived, showed me how to arrive to the city centre, take the bus, they even arranged a taxi to pick me up the day of my back to Mexico flight.

I love to practice my English with them, and since Delia studied History it was so nice to have a conversation after having breakfast. Their good taste, culture and kindness shows in everything. I also liked the fact that they have pictures from their daughters and nieces in the dinning room, it gives the " home" feeling as well as the great breakfast.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms with heating during night because April is still cold in ireland
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Zfer_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamilton, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2013

My husband and I spent our last night in Ireland at the Annagh House. The house was lovely and John was very kind. We only spent a few hours sleeping here however since we had an early flight out. John was kind enough to set up a car to pick us up in the morning to take us to the airport. If you have a car, be careful pulling in and out of the drive since cars are usually parked on the street and it can be difficult to see. We had the very top room of the house and the water in the shower did not get warm no matter how long we waited but again that could also be because the hour we were getting ready at.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Amanda G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warwick; UK
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2012 via mobile

Had a wonderfully enjoyable stay, what could we add to five star reviews below? Not a lot, perfect in every respect, will hopefully return. Hosted by John and Delia, most friendly welcome in sixty years of traveling.

Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
5 Thank Bizzibren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
35 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2012

John and Delia were excellent hosts and very accommodating. The room we stayed in was quite nice, the shower was excellent and the room very quiet as we looked out onto the backyard. The B & B is a short bus ride from Dublin Centre. We purchased a 3 day bus pass and often went into Dublin and back twice a day without a problem. It is also a short walk from Clontarf center where there is a large grocery store. The B & B faces the harbor and is across the road from a jogging path. It is also a short taxi ride from the airpot.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the back are quieter. Rooms facing the water have a better view but may be noisier.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank antbethf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarasota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2012

I have to write a review of the best accommodation I've ever stayed in at Dublin Ireland. Annagh House has the most helpful hosts in John and Delia. The rooms are excellent, fantastic location opposite the ocean but close to Dublin City. Great restaurants in walking distance We stayed 3 days and they couldn't do enough to assist us in making our stay perfect. Very knowledgable on all tours and attractions, always time to chat and make us welcome. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Katy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2012

On a recent trip to Ireland to find long lost relatives we were pleasantly surprised at the excellent accomodation we found at Annagh House in Clontarf at Dublin with amazing sea views. We chose Annagh House because of the beautiful website and we were not let down, in reality it was even nicer but the warm hospitality made us stay an extra two days in Dublin. Delia and John were so friendly and helpful, full of local knowledge and couldn't assist us enough in our search for our relatives. We would highly recommend this Guest House as being of very high quality, excellent food, perfect location and the best hosts ever. Thank you both so much for making our stay in Dublin so perfect!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Martha O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
Maples House Hotel
#98 of 153 in Dublin
3.5 of 5 bubbles 234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
North City Centre
Celtic Lodge Guesthouse
Celtic Lodge Guesthouse
#85 of 153 in Dublin
3.5 of 5 bubbles 601 reviews
Dergvale Hotel
#73 of 153 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 339 reviews
West County Hotel
#88 of 153 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 290 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Annagh House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Annagh House

Property: Annagh House
Address: Annagh House 301 Clontarf Road, Dublin 3, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#10 Best Value Hotel in Dublin
#52 Family Hotel in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Annagh House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Annagh Hotel Clontarf

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing