We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent B & B 5 minutes from Dublin City!”
Review of Annagh House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Annagh House
Ranked #112 of 150 Hotels in Dublin
Reviewed 8 August 2013

This was my first stay in Clontarf, at Annagh House and I was very pleased. When I first looked at Annagh House on line I was immediately drawn to its comfort and the fact that it was away from the City Centre. Clontarf itself is a beautiful area and Annagh House certainly compliments the town and surroundings. Annagh House is directly across from Dublin Bay and Dollymount Strand, a 3 mile beach, which is absolutely beautiful. John and Delia were the perfect hosts - from the fabulous food - to the cleanliness of the accommodations - to the questions about touring sights in the area. Annagh House is a "must go to again and again" and is highly recommended.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Denise M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (88)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

35 - 41 of 88 reviews

Reviewed 15 July 2013

This is a very beautiful older home that has been totally refurbished by John and Delia. Our room was in the front part of the second floor and was overlooking the water. The view was beautiful. The location is great because you're not in the hustle and bustle of downtown Dublin, but not that far away, either. It was only about a 15-20 minute drive.
Each morning we awoke to the smell of the food being prepared by Delia. It was delicious and plentiful.
We were able to park our car very near to the B&B on the street in front. You may also park inside the gate of their property, if you wish. Nearby is a pier and bird sanctuary, which made for fun walks with our children. There are also a number of good restaurants within walking distance if you don't want to eat in Dublin.
Both John and Delia are charming people and were gracious hosts.
This was overall a very enjoyable experience, and we would definitely repeat.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Joseph L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2013

This was our first trip to Dublin, we wanted a peaceful location within easy reach of the centre. This is perfect. Fine room, John and Delia are lovely hosts, extremely helpful but not obtrusive, very pleasant dining room and the breakfast was really good and copious. The area is lovely as the Liffey comes down to the sea. Really good walk by the wooden bridge to hidden beach & further on by the sea wall to St Anne's Park. Enjoyed our picnic, by the water right across from the house, bought locally - ask for the good fish & chip shop and there you will find excellent off licence and delicatessen too. Very good bus and rail access to Dublin centre & little towns down the coast, like Howth. If staying for 3 days a bargain is the Dublin bus tour with local bus fares included.

Room Tip: Our room was at the back, it was fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank anne_dixon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2013

The rooms are tired and very basic. Breakfast was poor and very obviously the cheapest they could buy. On the positive the location was good and owner was helpful if not lacking in manners occasionally.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank melodycool1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2013

I came all the way from Mexico to attend a design event in Dublin and was so happy to stay at Annagh House! Delia and John are a lovely couple which excels in making you feel right at home Ina foreign country. They were friendly since I arrived, showed me how to arrive to the city centre, take the bus, they even arranged a taxi to pick me up the day of my back to Mexico flight.

I love to practice my English with them, and since Delia studied History it was so nice to have a conversation after having breakfast. Their good taste, culture and kindness shows in everything. I also liked the fact that they have pictures from their daughters and nieces in the dinning room, it gives the " home" feeling as well as the great breakfast.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms with heating during night because April is still cold in ireland
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Zfer_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2013

My husband and I spent our last night in Ireland at the Annagh House. The house was lovely and John was very kind. We only spent a few hours sleeping here however since we had an early flight out. John was kind enough to set up a car to pick us up in the morning to take us to the airport. If you have a car, be careful pulling in and out of the drive since cars are usually parked on the street and it can be difficult to see. We had the very top room of the house and the water in the shower did not get warm no matter how long we waited but again that could also be because the hour we were getting ready at.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Amanda G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2012

Had a wonderfully enjoyable stay, what could we add to five star reviews below? Not a lot, perfect in every respect, will hopefully return. Hosted by John and Delia, most friendly welcome in sixty years of traveling.

Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
5  Thank Bizzibren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
West County Hotel
#84 of 150 in Dublin
312 reviews
Uppercross House Hotel
#78 of 150 in Dublin
354 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Clontarf Castle Hotel
#3 of 150 in Dublin
4,189 reviews
Kilmainham
Sheldon Park Hotel
Sheldon Park Hotel
#70 of 150 in Dublin
1,436 reviews
The Bonnington Dublin
#120 of 150 in Dublin
1,437 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Annagh House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Annagh House

Address: Annagh House 301 Clontarf Road, Dublin 3, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#9 Best Value Hotel in Dublin
#52 Family Hotel in Dublin
Price Range: £56 - £97 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
Annagh Hotel Clontarf

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing