We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Felt a little bit like home” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Annagh House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Annagh House
Ranked #109 of 153 Hotels in Dublin
Heilbronn, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Felt a little bit like home”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2013

I stayed only for two nights in Dublin to visit some friends and I was really delighted by this B&B. Fantastic location right across from the sea. Good for a wonderful walk in the evening breathing the fresh air. I arrived in the late afternoon and I was welcomed by the host who immediately explained me everything I needed to know about how to get into the city centre and so on. I booked a single room en-suite and I did have everything I needed. I even had a lovely teapot in my room so that I could enjoy a cup of tea whenever I feel like it! My room and the whole house was charmingly furnished and decorated! The host was absolutely lovely too! He asked me about my wishes for breakfast and he kept me company when I was the only guest in the dining room. Delicious breakfast! Can't moan about anything. All in all, he was really keen to make my stay enjoyable! And I have to admit that he succeeded. Highly recommend it.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Anni193
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    45
    22
    10
    4
    3
See reviews for
17
34
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Kelowna, Canada
Level Contributor
58 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2013

We stayed for a week while in Dublin to attend a wedding. The location is excellent - right across from the sea, with a few good restaurants nearby, excellent bus service, and a beautiful walk across the bridge to a nice beach. It's a lovely old house. We had a room in the front because we wanted the sea view, but be aware that the cars sound quite loud on this busy road, so you would want a room in the back for quiet. The bathroom is a bit small, but the shower is excellent - just wait a few minutes for the hot water to get upstairs. John may seem a bit gruff at first, but he is actually a real sweetheart and very accommodating and endlessly patient with my many questions. He is a great source of helpful information for how to get around, where to eat, etc. The full Irish breakfast is great, but a bit much for us to eat every day, so all we had to do was ask and we were provided with porridge, yogurt, cheese and bread instead. A really good value for the price and we would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: We had a room in the front because we wanted the sea view, but be aware that the cars sound quite lo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank MillicentMayflower
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2013

We arrived to stay one night to catch the early ferry, I am glad we did, the rooms were very dated, woodworm in one of the chairs. The breakfast was just plonked in front of you, no asking what you wanted. Host was not at all welcoming. Would not stay again, More 2 star than 3

Room Tip: Rooms at the front very noise due to traffic volume windows need to be closed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jackie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2013

This was my first stay in Clontarf, at Annagh House and I was very pleased. When I first looked at Annagh House on line I was immediately drawn to its comfort and the fact that it was away from the City Centre. Clontarf itself is a beautiful area and Annagh House certainly compliments the town and surroundings. Annagh House is directly across from Dublin Bay and Dollymount Strand, a 3 mile beach, which is absolutely beautiful. John and Delia were the perfect hosts - from the fabulous food - to the cleanliness of the accommodations - to the questions about touring sights in the area. Annagh House is a "must go to again and again" and is highly recommended.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Denise M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
44 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2013

This is a very beautiful older home that has been totally refurbished by John and Delia. Our room was in the front part of the second floor and was overlooking the water. The view was beautiful. The location is great because you're not in the hustle and bustle of downtown Dublin, but not that far away, either. It was only about a 15-20 minute drive.
Each morning we awoke to the smell of the food being prepared by Delia. It was delicious and plentiful.
We were able to park our car very near to the B&B on the street in front. You may also park inside the gate of their property, if you wish. Nearby is a pier and bird sanctuary, which made for fun walks with our children. There are also a number of good restaurants within walking distance if you don't want to eat in Dublin.
Both John and Delia are charming people and were gracious hosts.
This was overall a very enjoyable experience, and we would definitely repeat.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Joseph L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2013

This was our first trip to Dublin, we wanted a peaceful location within easy reach of the centre. This is perfect. Fine room, John and Delia are lovely hosts, extremely helpful but not obtrusive, very pleasant dining room and the breakfast was really good and copious. The area is lovely as the Liffey comes down to the sea. Really good walk by the wooden bridge to hidden beach & further on by the sea wall to St Anne's Park. Enjoyed our picnic, by the water right across from the house, bought locally - ask for the good fish & chip shop and there you will find excellent off licence and delicatessen too. Very good bus and rail access to Dublin centre & little towns down the coast, like Howth. If staying for 3 days a bargain is the Dublin bus tour with local bus fares included.

Room Tip: Our room was at the back, it was fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank anne_dixon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2013

The rooms are tired and very basic. Breakfast was poor and very obviously the cheapest they could buy. On the positive the location was good and owner was helpful if not lacking in manners occasionally.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank melodycool1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dublin
0.3 mi away
Bram Stoker Hotel
Bram Stoker Hotel
#113 of 153 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 153 reviews
3.6 mi away
Marine Hotel
Marine Hotel
#1 of 1 in Sutton Cross
4.0 of 5 bubbles 530 reviews
3.6 mi away
Kilronan House
Kilronan House
#38 of 153 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 840 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Clontarf Castle Hotel
Clontarf Castle Hotel
#4 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,571 reviews
0.6 mi away
Avoca Lodge
Avoca Lodge
#102 of 161 in Dublin
3.5 of 5 bubbles 33 reviews
1.5 mi away
Seaview
Seaview
#65 of 161 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 18 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Annagh House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Annagh House

Property: Annagh House
Address: Annagh House 301 Clontarf Road, Dublin 3, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Dublin
#52 Family Hotel in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Annagh House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Annagh Hotel Clontarf

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing