We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great staff”
Review of Jacobs Inn Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Jacobs Inn Hostel
Ranked #2 of 105 Speciality Lodging in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great staff”
Reviewed 13 December 2013

To the staff member you arranged a spare bed for me at 6:30am on Tuesday, 10 December, you utter gem! All the staff are fab. There were quite a lot of young people in the hostel, who were a little rowdy, and there were no reading lamps in the rooms. But, other than that, my stay was flawless!
Ideal location for visitors to Dublin arriving by coach!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bronwen E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NiamhBro, Owner at Jacobs Inn Hostel, responded to this review, 7 February 2014
Thanks for your review. We do have great staff and love them all. Do come again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,908 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    753
    811
    223
    68
    53
See reviews for
148
214
538
71
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 December 2013

very clean, near the city center shopping centre and temple bar (10 minutes) .. basic breakfast, very friendly staff, wifi in the living room but not in the rooms. We had a private room for 3 adults with bathroom. Not expensive- i recommend it!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marilena168
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isaacs-hostel, Guest Relations Manager at Jacobs Inn Hostel, responded to this review, 10 December 2013
Thanks a million and so glad you enjoyed.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shawnee, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
62 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 November 2013

A church group of 12 men went to Dublin Ireland to build a room for a church there. The group stayed at Jacob's Inn Hostel. It was my first experience at a Hostel. The Hostel was very crowded, the lobby always had a 10 or more people. We had one large room with 6 bunk beds, each used a "sleeping Bag". One bathroom to share. No appliance or TV in the room. All this typical of a Hostel. The toilet in the Hall was out of order for several days, as was some of the vending machines. The wireless required you to log into Facebook. The lobby had two PC's that were always occupied. Breakfast was orange juice and cornflakes, coffee and tea available, oh and toast. The desk would not convert $100 bills to local money. The Hotel was a little worn. However, the rate was good, as it cost us about $17 a man per night.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RVMcClure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isaacs-hostel, Guest Relations Manager at Jacobs Inn Hostel, responded to this review, 3 January 2014
Thanks for your feedback and so glad you found us good value.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 20 November 2013

Used to hotels so this was all a bit of an adventure. Pleasantly surprised though. Everything was nice and clean and the staff were friendly and helpful. Great value though and would come back again rather than pay hotel rates. Little noisy during the night, but it is a hostel after all.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tinanins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NiamhBro, Owner at Jacobs Inn Hostel, responded to this review, 7 February 2014
So glad you enjoyed your experience. We hope we have converted you to Hostel living!! Do come again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 November 2013

This hostel is really cool! Had really low expectations considering it was so cheap but was amazed at how good it was, the people, the rooms, the breakfast - really nice! Especially the beds were so good and comfortable got some great sleep lol!
The guys at the reception were lovely too, one of the morning's we were leaving early (way before the breakfast time) and we requested to get some breakfast and they were more than happy to give us some bread and let us use the kitchen at 5:30 in the morning! lovely place and people :)

Room Tip: Since we changed rooms every night that we stayed there (because it was cheaper :P) out of the 3 nig...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank danni0315
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NiamhBro, Owner at Jacobs Inn Hostel, responded to this review, 7 February 2014
Thanks so much for your lovely review. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay. We do offer really low prices in low season. We are a bit more expensive in high season but not much. Do come again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hoylake, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 8 November 2013

This Hostel to be fair did everything you wanted. Cheap, modern clean and friendly.

The booking system seemed a bit inconsistent as there was an issue with having to confirm the room with a credit card if the room deposit was paid with paypal. The communication was via email on the morning of the booking so if you didn't check the email I can only assume if this would have been cancelled!!

We were also told there wouldn't be an issue if there were people that couldn't travel (cancelled ferries) and we could cancel the room without charge but on the day itself we were charged full rate which I thought was a bit short sighted as they had a waiting list of people wanting to stay the night. We gave as much notice as possible for this.

No towels in the room.

Would stay again as the price was brilliant.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank iwanrob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NiamhBro, Owner at Jacobs Inn Hostel, responded to this review, 7 February 2014
Thanks for your review. The paypal issue is a bit of a problem for us too. A third party handle our online bookings and we need credit card details just as a guarantee for the booking. Our cancellation policy is 24 hours so we can take cancellations up to then. I'm delighted you were happy with the hostel apart from that. Do come again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Limerick, Ireland
1 review
Reviewed 5 November 2013 via mobile

The Hostel is really nice! I went there 2 times with my friends!! It's 5 minutes from the city centre, rooms are cleaned, everyday there is something organized by the staff... Staff is really nice and kind! the hostel is huge, the breakfast is included on the total cost.. I really enjoyed the hostel, perfect.

Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Sara V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NiamhBro, Manager at Jacobs Inn Hostel, responded to this review, 9 December 2013
Thanks so much for your lovely reviews. We love guests like you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
0.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Dublin Custom House
0.5 mi away
Jurys Inn Dublin Parnell Street
0.7 mi away
The Croke Park
The Croke Park
#7 of 151 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,405 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Dublin Skylon Hotel
Dublin Skylon Hotel
#33 of 151 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,832 reviews
1.1 mi away
Generator Hostel Dublin
0.1 mi away
Isaacs Hostel
Isaacs Hostel
#6 of 105 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,925 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jacobs Inn Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jacobs Inn Hostel

Property: Jacobs Inn Hostel
Address: Jacobs Inn 21 Talbot Place, Dublin D01 W5P8, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 105 Speciality Lodging in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Jacobs Inn Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Jacobs Inn is Dublin's only purpose built youth/backpacker hostel with all of the modern conveniences of a hotel. Situated in the city centre beside the central bus station,the tram and rail lines, Jacobs Inn is the most accessible hostel in Dublin. There are Private Ensuite Rooms sleeping from 1-4 people and spacious Ensuite Dormitories sleeping 6-12. Temple Bar is a twelve minute walk away. O'Connell Street, 3arena, Croke Park and the Aviva are just a few minutes from the hostel.Facilities include FREE breakfast, FREE WiFi, Pub Crawls, FREE Bed Linen,FREE walking tour of Dublin, Laundry, Storage Facilities, Comfy TV Lounge and common areas, Games Room 24 Hour Key Card Access to Rooms, Modern Self Catering Kitchen, Roof top terrace, Movie and Games Nights ,Friendly staff, great craic and much more! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, HostelWorld, Ebookers, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Jacobs Inn Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jacob`s Hotel Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing