We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hostel”
Review of Jacobs Inn Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Jacobs Inn Hostel
Ranked #2 of 118 Speciality Lodging in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
St. John's
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great Hostel”
Reviewed 8 July 2014

Great hostel! Beds were comfortable, rooms were clean and the bathroom in our room looked like aaa hotel! There was even a tv! The staff had a lot of suggestions and were able to help us along our way. The hostel was a little far away but definitely manageable. Only problem we had was our keys never worked so we always had to go back down to the front desk. Good stay great sleep!”

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sara-Ashley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NiamhBro, Guest Relations Manager at Jacobs Inn Hostel, responded to this review, 26 July 2014
Thanks so much - glad you enjoyed your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,083 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    841
    863
    249
    76
    54
See reviews for
172
234
601
75
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2014

My husband and I stayed three nights in a 10-bed mixed dorm. Security is quite good, you need a key card to get anywhere beyond reception. Although people are coming and going a lot and you could fairly easily slip in, the key cards then only give access to a specific dorm so you and your belongings are safe enough. There are no lockers in the dorms, you can leave your stuff in the luggage room on the ground floor and are charged if you leave it there overnight. We weren't sure about this at first, but it makes things easier if you need to leave luggage before you check in or after you check out.
Our room had a bathroom which was in reasonable condition; the bathrooms we saw were not luxurious but did the job. Towels cost €2 to rent during the stay and bed linen was free. We found the beds really comfortable and I slept very well.
Free breakfast was good, there was no limit so you could eat 20 pieces of toast if you were on a budget! There was bread, butter, jam, cornflakes, muesli, hard boiled eggs, tea, coffee and hot chocolate, which I think is more than reasonable for a hostel, particularly when unlimited. You might pay an extra €9 for the full breakfast in a hotel, you were barely paying that for your bed here.
There was a good-sized kitchen diner, we didn't really use it but it seemed to have everything you'd need. As well as the common room with TV, there were a couple of sofas and a selection of books left by previous travellers, although we never found out where the movie nights listed on the website took place.
The location was good, 5-10 minutes from O'Connell Street and a large selection of restaurants, Tesco and SuperValu supermarkets nearby so lots of eating and drinking options.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AlisonC070877
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NiamhBro, Guest Relations Manager at Jacobs Inn Hostel, responded to this review, 26 July 2014
What a great review- glad you enjoyed it. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2014

I stayed 2 nights only and was overall satisfied with the quality and price. The hostel is a good value for money.

+
Location is very good, close to all the attractions, close to the bus and train stations, to the airport bus station too, close to the river. Free breakfast, free fast WiFi, quite good facilities. Free coffee, milk, tea and juice in the kitchen the whole day round. Kitchen with fridges, place to store your food on the shelves, the ovens, etc. The area around (Talbot street) has supermarkets and a number of cheap shops and cheap food). Main shopping street is also nearby.
Plastic cards instead of keys, feels quite safe. you are passing 3-4 locked doors on your way to the room.
The female dorm was quite good and not too noisy despite overlooking the street. All dorms are en-suite, with shower in the room.
The hostel organizes free walking tour, barbeque evenings and other activities. they also book excursions for you if you wish (I would certainly recommend Cliffs of Moher excursion, despite long traveling it was worth it!).
Dart train station is just few steps from the hostel. I would recommend visiting Howth village and a beautiful Killiney beach, both are about 30 min by Dart train (return ticket to Howth ca. 5 eur, to Killiney 6 eur).

-
the 2store beds are metal and are not very comfortable especially if you are on the lower one.
Breakfast was a bit too simple (toast bread, butter, jam, corn flakes, coffee-tea, juice), no yogurts or smth. non-sweet to add to bread. for the price it is maybe Ok.
Shower was dirty and messy (open bottles, 5-6 shavers laying on the shower floor in the middle, seem to be the leftovers from the previous guests). I have not seen the rooms and bathrooms been cleaned during my stay.
You have to pay about 2 eur per day for the lockers (these are in a separate room). There are no lockers or any facilities/space to store you luggage in the dorm room. if you dont want to pay, expect to keep your bags in the middle of the room or under your bed.
Towels are not provided, bring your own.

Room Tip: as I understood WiFi coverage is only on the ground floor and in common areas such as reception or r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elen2611
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NiamhBro, Guest Relations Manager at Jacobs Inn Hostel, responded to this review, 24 July 2014
Thanks for a great concise review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay. Breakfast is a light breakfast which we include free of charge. We could offer more but then you would have to pay for it and we try to keep the costs down as much as possible for our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014

I'm not usually one to do hostels but the group I was travelling with preferred to and booked this hostel. I wasn't really sure what to expect but it was fantastic. It is right in the centre, literally a few steps from the bus station and we could walk everywhere. We had a private room with bathroom and it was great, I would say probably better than many cheap but not so cheap hotels in Dublin. Would definitely recommend to friends

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ElhlK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NiamhBro, Guest Relations Manager at Jacobs Inn Hostel, responded to this review, 24 July 2014
So glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Do come again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2014

One of the best things about this hostel is the ease with which you can arrive from the airport. There's a bus that drops off just a block or two from the hostel. The walking tour was very informative and I enjoyed it a lot. I didn't try the pub crawl but heard that it was decent, good for the money at least. The internet was horrible, it was only accessible in the main common areas and even then it wouldn't work with some apps such as Viber on occasion. The reception was generally nice and helpful but next time I would probably look for a smaller hostel and maybe pay a little more.

Room Tip: away from the back as there is a train that passes by that would bother light sleepers
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emma B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NiamhBro, Guest Relations Manager at Jacobs Inn Hostel, responded to this review, 24 July 2014
Thanks for taking the time to post your review. Glad you enjoyed your stay - problem with the internet is that with so many people downloading stuff all at the same time makes it go slow. Backpackers are always online and we have lots of backpackers staying with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2014

Good location to go around by foot, dart and arriving/departing from the airport. Hostel cosy and functional and receptionist helpful. My room had a simple decor but had all the facilities expected. I will be back.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BerrieLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NiamhBro, Guest Relations Manager at Jacobs Inn Hostel, responded to this review, 24 July 2014
So glad you enjoyed your stay at our hostel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 26 June 2014

We stayed 2 nights at Jacob's Inn. It's a small walk from the city center and easy to find when you spot the rails. The beddings and rooms are great and clean. We stayed in a 10 bed dorm with Ensuit bathroom. Again, clean, bright lights, huge mirror. The only disappointment is the amount of power plugs in the room, others had to charge their phone on my mate's bed but i guess it's the fault of the building. Apart from that, great clean kitchen and amazing and helpful staff. There is an airport shuttle that can be ordered to the hostel so if you have an early flight like me 6:35 you are surely covered, just book in time. Thanks again!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank m89hun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NiamhBro, Guest Relations Manager at Jacobs Inn Hostel, responded to this review, 24 July 2014
So glad you enjoyed your stay - we are looking at ways of adding more sockets without blowing the place up so watch this space!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
Kilmainham
Sheldon Park Hotel
Sheldon Park Hotel
#66 of 151 in Dublin
1,371 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Isaacs Hostel
#6 of 118 in Dublin
2,074 reviews
Abbey Court
#8 of 118 in Dublin
1,041 reviews
Temple Bar
Barnacles Hostel Temple Bar
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jacobs Inn Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jacobs Inn Hostel

Property: Jacobs Inn Hostel
Address: Jacobs Inn 21 Talbot Place, Dublin D01 W5P8, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 118 Speciality Lodging in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Jacobs Inn Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Jacobs Inn is Dublin's only purpose built youth/backpacker hostel with all of the modern conveniences of a hotel. Situated in the city centre beside the central bus station,the tram and rail lines, Jacobs Inn is the most accessible hostel in Dublin. There are Private Ensuite Rooms sleeping from 1-4 people and spacious Ensuite Dormitories sleeping 6-12. Temple Bar is a twelve minute walk away. O'Connell Street, 3arena, Croke Park and the Aviva are just a few minutes from the hostel.Facilities include FREE breakfast, FREE WiFi, Pub Crawls, FREE Bed Linen,FREE walking tour of Dublin, Laundry, Storage Facilities, Comfy TV Lounge and common areas, Games Room 24 Hour Key Card Access to Rooms, Modern Self Catering Kitchen, Roof top terrace, Movie and Games Nights ,Friendly staff, great craic and much more! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Jacobs Inn Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jacob`s Hotel Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing