We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A stone's throw away to the centre”
Review of Jacobs Inn Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Jacobs Inn Hostel
Ranked #2 of 118 Speciality Lodging in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Province of Siena, Italy
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“A stone's throw away to the centre”
Reviewed 10 August 2014

This hostel is really nice and has got a strategic location that eaily connects you to the centre.
I stayed here with my husband and we really enjoyed everything. Brakfast was the highlight of this trip. The staff is efficient and we were given good suggestions on tours.
We will definitely come back!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Daffy2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NiamhBro, Public Relations Manager at Jacobs Inn Hostel, responded to this review, 15 October 2014
Delighted you enjoyed your stay - do come again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,082 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    841
    863
    248
    76
    54
See reviews for
172
234
601
75
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tagbilaran City, Philippines
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

My only beef is the fact that there's just one shower/WC facility in each room even where there are 12 people sharing. But it helps that there are toilets on the lobby of every floor and on the ground floor so it's not really a big issue.

The couches are comfy and they are strategically positioned so that making eye contact with people becomes inevitable--which makes it easy to socialise. Great for the likes of me who aren't readily gregarious. I've made a number of good friends sitting on those couches.

And the staff! Oh, the staff is awesome--especially the reception desk people! Very gregarious and cool! Perhaps I was sometimes awkward to them because I'm not a big extrovert especially when I'm low on energy after an entire day of walking around Dublin but they were great.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BonBonQuest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NiamhBro, Public Relations Manager at Jacobs Inn Hostel, responded to this review, 15 October 2014
Thank so much for your great review. We agree with you about the one shower and toilet per large dorm but unfortunately we can't do anything to change it. At least as you say there are more toilets in the corridor. Do come again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for 2 nights as our first stop for a 6 week holiday in Europe from Australia we found the staff very helpful land the rooms very clean breakfast was a bonus made it easier rather than finding somewhere to eat before exploring I would definitely come back here

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Aidan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NiamhBro, Public Relations Manager at Jacobs Inn Hostel, responded to this review, 15 October 2014
Great review. Thanks for posting. Hope you enjoyed the rest of your tip.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Radcliffe, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
165 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for a couple of nights clean nice room big staff wee all friendly the cost was very good the beds were comfortable and the bathroom as clean as it coud be would we stay again definitely yes.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank RussT6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NiamhBro, Public Relations Manager at Jacobs Inn Hostel, responded to this review, 15 October 2014
Thanks - exactly the kind of review we like to see. Do come again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2014 via mobile

Tons of pubs within crawling distance, friendly staff and decent beds. There were some rowdy folks outside the hostel, and the staff took care of them immediately. As far as hostels go, this was brilliant. Perfect for a buddy trip, and for those backpacking. Plus Dublin is just amazing. Will visit again!

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
Thank mcfearlessness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NiamhBro, Guest Relations Manager at Jacobs Inn Hostel, responded to this review, 15 October 2014
Thanks for your review - delighted you enjoyed your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nashville, Tennessee
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 August 2014

Jacob's Inn really helped ease the transition of going to a new country. The staff was so friendly and helpful! I didn't feel nervous about getting around alone because of how much they helped explain directions and the culture to me. All of my interactions with people working or staying there were positive. Traveling alone can be lonely, but the staff really helped ease that feeling. The facilities were nice and clean. There are pretty good sized lockers to put your belongings in. I got one locker and fit a large suitcase and backpacking backpack in there. The lock is included when you rent the locker.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jenni-ClaireJones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NiamhBro, Guest Relations Manager at Jacobs Inn Hostel, responded to this review, 15 October 2014
Just love your review - do come again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2014 via mobile

I know hostel Staff generally are inhabitants of the Hostel working for their board, but I think the it is also necessary to have people who can adequately explain complicated hostel rules.

FYI - You need to return your padlock if you check in early and store your luggage, or they charge you per day usage of the locker (even if it sat empty the whole time)

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank megantravels_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NiamhBro, Public Relations Manager at Jacobs Inn Hostel, responded to this review, 15 October 2014
Thanks for your comments - our staff don't live in the hostel - they only work in the hostel and most of them have worked there for years. We don't have any staff who can't speak English fluently. I'm really sorry that you didn't understand that once you pay a deposit for a lock and pay a daily rate for the lock - you must return the lock on the day you stop using it otherwise you will be charged for each day you have it - I would think that this is the norm everywhere - how are we to know you aren't using it since you still have the lock. Also by you keeping the lock means that other guests can't use it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
Kilmainham
Sheldon Park Hotel
Sheldon Park Hotel
#66 of 151 in Dublin
1,369 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Isaacs Hostel
#6 of 118 in Dublin
2,068 reviews
Abbey Court
#7 of 118 in Dublin
1,041 reviews
Temple Bar
Barnacles Hostel Temple Bar
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jacobs Inn Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jacobs Inn Hostel

Property: Jacobs Inn Hostel
Address: Jacobs Inn 21 Talbot Place, Dublin D01 W5P8, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 118 Speciality Lodging in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Jacobs Inn Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Jacobs Inn is Dublin's only purpose built youth/backpacker hostel with all of the modern conveniences of a hotel. Situated in the city centre beside the central bus station,the tram and rail lines, Jacobs Inn is the most accessible hostel in Dublin. There are Private Ensuite Rooms sleeping from 1-4 people and spacious Ensuite Dormitories sleeping 6-12. Temple Bar is a twelve minute walk away. O'Connell Street, 3arena, Croke Park and the Aviva are just a few minutes from the hostel.Facilities include FREE breakfast, FREE WiFi, Pub Crawls, FREE Bed Linen,FREE walking tour of Dublin, Laundry, Storage Facilities, Comfy TV Lounge and common areas, Games Room 24 Hour Key Card Access to Rooms, Modern Self Catering Kitchen, Roof top terrace, Movie and Games Nights ,Friendly staff, great craic and much more! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, HostelWorld, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Jacobs Inn Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jacob`s Hotel Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing