We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Worst ever”

Sichuan House Chinese Restaurant
Cuisines: Chinese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: +353 (0)18-783400
Waterford, Ireland
Level Contributor
31 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Worst ever”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2013

Myself and my wife ate here. Worst food ever. This is the first time I have given a 1 review and 1 is being generous. Just avoid like the plague.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tripy2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

9 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    1
    1
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Buddygunz
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Closed by the Food Safety Authority”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2013

This dirty kip was recently closed by the FSA due to serious health and safety concerns. Parnell Street must have the highest density of closure orders in the country and you can see why. The quality and standard of food is appalling.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Buddygunz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Poplar Bluff, MO
Level Contributor
106 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Yeahhhh. Good food for a reasonable price.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2013

Stumbled across this completely by accident and decided to give it a try. We went in and were the only non-orientals in the joint. In my experience, this is almost always a good sign. The food was absolutely delicious and very large portions. Honestly, one dish would have been plenty for my wife and myself, and I am not bashful around food. The neighborhood was just a couple of blocks from O'Connell street, but was a little seedy, so probably better to go while still daylight, but we were there in May and daylight lasted till 10:30 or later. Small place, so you might have to wait, but I highly recommend for good food.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PBSpeakeasy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fullerton, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Dan Dan noodles are boss”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2013 via mobile

Who would have thought that I'd find the best Chinese food of my life in Dublin, Ireland. After spending a week eating the rich food of London and France, my palate was craving something with a bit of spice, and boy did this place deliver. The Dan Dan noodles were great and crazy spicy, but in a good way. Highly recommend if you are in Dublin and craving some Chinese which probably won't be very often.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank JoeYiZy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level Contributor
42 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Delicious food!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2012

I went there for the first time this week with my friend who was in that restaurant few times.
I honestly can say thay I had the best ever food experience and you can't find any that good places in the whole Dublin!
Don't worry about the look of that place, it's just a simple decor and the neighborhood is maybe not very nice.
But don't miss that place, just go in there and enjoy the good food!
I was trully surprised as I did not expected that food will be that good, huge portions and for a very fair price.
I ordered fried pork in a garlic souce, my portion was really big and I paid only 7.80euro. My friend got chicken satay for the same price and it was also very good (I tried).
You can also take your food away, if you can't finish they will pack it for you. Or you can simply pop in and just get take away for a nice dinner at home.

I think this place is a hidden gem in Dublin! Just go there and taste the best chinese cuisine in Dublin! Great food!

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank SylviaMeath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sichuan House Chinese Restaurant also viewed

Dublin, County Dublin
Dublin, County Dublin
 
Dublin, County Dublin
Dublin, County Dublin
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing