We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Blessed is he who expecteth little...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Almara Bed & Breakfast Dublin
Ranked #42 of 149 Dublin B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
UK
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Blessed is he who expecteth little...”
Reviewed 11 August 2013

We stayed here for two nights. We arrived at 1pm on Saturday and we were politely told that our room was not ready. Alan directed us to a very average and expensive pub, by no means the nearest, in which he obviously has some kind of side-interest. Alan lays on the charm with a trowel but by the end of your stay you are likely to see through it. We had agreed a rate of 99 euros per night - hardly cheap - and paid a 99 euro deposit several weeks in advance of arrival. Alarm bells began to ring shortly after arrival when Alan casually raised the suggestion that he had no record of the deposit payment, asking if we had used a different card. I thought it odd that he would not have contacted us before now if there had been any issue with the deposit. I said I was sure the payment had indeed been made and that I would check my online banking and show him if necessary. The subject was not raised again.

The important thing to know about Almara is that words you might think you understood quite well have a very different meaning in "Alanspeak". For example, 'High speed internet" means a one-bar signal that just about functions depending on where in the building you are. "4 star", as other reviewers have noted, means tiny, noisy, hot (in July), slightly grubby rooms with incredibly dated furnishings. "Cot" means filthy "travel cot" into which you would not dream of depositing someone else's child, much less your own.

The Alanspeak description of the "full Irish breakfast" raised my hopes quite high. The reality was an unpleasant circle of black fatty stuff, an equally unappetising piece of white fatty stuff, two cheap cocktail-type sausages and some very average bacon. I regret that I did not photograph how pitiful it looked on something not much bigger than a side-plate. A further indication of the owners' meanness may be gathered from the fact that they have not invested £20 in a high chair. Our one-year old had to eat breakfast from his buggy, no doubt to the irritation of the other guests in the cramped breakfast room. We were also told 'if you're giving milk to the baby, use that jug, not this one, as that jug's a bit fresher.' I can only deduce from this that adult guests should not expect fresh breakfast. Blessed is he who expecteth little for he shall not be disappointed...

All of this we might've overlooked, but what guaranteed that we will never return was a further highly dubious money incident. Alan kept urging us to pay him in cash and said that if we did not, the cost of the room would go up to 103 euros. Since my bank would charge me for withdrawing the cash in any case, I paid by card and, grudgingly, Alan's penalty charge. This, along with the other reviews and our own experience, convince me that this is not a place to recommend on any level; the "friendliness" you will encounter seems to me designed to lower your guard, something you'd be very ill-advised to do at Almara.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank M B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    46
    27
    11
    10
    10
See reviews for
27
33
8
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas, United States
1 review
Reviewed 24 July 2013

This is a charming guest house with helpful hosts. Their website did not do them justice. Staying just between Dublin city center and airport was a good move, with a short bus ride that frequently stopped near the door. Breakfasts were ample and tasty. Everything was very clean and comfortable. Only complaint was hard pillows.

Room Tip: Rooms in back will have less noise from road traffic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colorado
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2013

First off, we would like to say how nice and informative Alan is at the Almara. The location is very close to the Dublin airport. However, the Almara's website is a bit off. We expect a lot more from a "4 star" B and B. This is not a four star accommodation. The rooms are very small, average, and we did not realize we would be sharing a bathroom with other guests.
The following was found on one of their websites...
"All reviews can be seen on the internet when Almara is searched - to put this another way in all of our twenty years not one bad review has been written about us!" Obviously, they have not read reviews on tripadvisor.
It is also interesting to read other reviews and see how guests have been "upgraded" upon arrival. This happened to us as well. Interesting...

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank zephyrco2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cupar
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2013 via mobile

Clean B&B situated on very busy main route into city centre, traffic noisy during evenings and early morning.
Did not meet expectations generated by website advertisement. Rooms clean, but small. Breakfast choice very limited, and cereals stale - maybe left out in serving bowls too long.
Very easy access via bus to city centre, a plus point, but isolated for any other activities, not much close by in the way of entertainment or eating if you do not wish to spend evening in city.



  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jill s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2013

On the website it claims to be a 4* B&B, although on the sign at the accommodation it stated 3*, personally I would be generous to give 2*. I booked 2 double rooms for 2 nights and asked when making the booking if there was a cot available for an 18 month old child. I was told no problem. On arrival we were surprised to see that the cot was an old, rather unstable travel cot. The room with the cot had 2 single beds and a sink and was satisfactory, but the room in which I stayed with my husband was very dowdy, it was in need of redecoration, had a musty smell and was so small with a double bed that there was barely room to walk around the bed. The small built-in wardrobe and shelving were a disgrace, which we decided not to use. The bedding was clean and the bathroom was large and kept reasonably clean, although if we had wanted the bath rather than the shower we would have had to ask for a plug! The sink had a crack in it! I would give the bedroom 3 out of 10 and the bathroom 5 out of 10. The lounge seats 5 people and the TV is an antique! Breakfast was average. Orders were taken on arrival in the dining room and before we had drank the small glass of orange juice and eaten the cereal, the “Full Irish” had arrived queuing up for us to eat and getting cold! It consisted of one piece of white pudding, one piece of black pudding, a rasher of bacon, 2 shrivelled sausages, all of which I think had been pre-cooked and kept warm, thus drying out, and an egg. No sign of a tomato or mushroom to brighten up the plate! No offer of a refill of tea or coffee that was served at the start of breakfast. Alan had been told in advance that 2 of the guests were vegetarian and he said that was no problem. On the first morning they were offered as a replacement for the “Full Irish” scrambled egg, mushrooms and tomatoes. On the second morning he had run out of mushrooms so produced some baked beans. Incidentally, Alan does not provide a high chair to use even though he does have a cot of some sorts! His attitude to children is indifferent. I was able to glance into another room which seemed bigger and brighter than the one in which we had to stay, but on chatting to another guest there, she was also unhappy with the B&B in particular her room size. We were told the day before we checked out that he would add 3% on the bill if we paid by credit card!! I would not recommend and will not be returning!

Room Tip: Enquire as to the size of the room being allocated
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank DivingLotti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lachapelle, Aquitaine, France
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 March 2013

We spent 3 nights in Almara. Alan was very friendly with us and take time to explain us how to travel to the city, the good places to see, where to eat...
He wrote me all the importantes informations by e-mail before we arrive in dublin (bus number, the rate, the route,...)
The room was OK, 2 singles bed but no matter. It was clean, and we slept very well.
The break fast was good too, juste we found it a little bit expensive, (10 euros per pers. for a full irish, we paid less in the city centre !) The rate of the room too, but it was because of St patrick's day.

Well, for us, alan was welcoming and friendly, the room was OK. And we were only max 15 min from city centre by bus. Everything was allright !

If we go to dublin again, We shall return to it with no problem at all !

Room Tip: - a good room at 15 min by bus from city centre. - very welcoming
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Western Ireland, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 November 2012 via mobile

First thing I noticed as we were shown to our "upgraded" room was mould along the bottom of the roller blind. The twin room was tiny (A queen bed and a small single with no headboard squished along the foot of it). The decor was old fashioned and dowdy (terracottas and bright yellows). The room was really cold and heating was not turned on until the fire was lit at night I reckon!! The towels were grubby and some not freshly washed. We thought we were in a upgraded room and could only imagine what standard rooms were like based on ours, so said nothing as we were exhausted anyhow. My friend spent half the night awake as the small bed was too small for an adult and the draught from the window was coming right down on her head. Next morning went down for the "famous full irish" breakfast, lets just say the I fail to see what is famous about it! It was okay, just okay!! There were no offers of a top up coffee or more of the rationed half glass of orange juice. Fry up consisted of one piece of black pudding, one piece of white pudding, 2 shriveled sausages, a rasher and a fried egg......not a bean or tomato in sight.
Tv room was small with a 1990's type tv.
Alan told us that cash was preferred method of payment as laser incurred 3% charge?? I have never heard of that with laser, maybe visa etc . Anyhow, when heading up to get my bag one of the other rooms had the door open and I had a look in- I was gobsmacked as the room was modern, large and spacious and I would have been very happy to pay 70euro for it. So long story short-good rooms kept clean for weekend guests or regulars perhaps??!! Alan was having one of it when I told him I was disgusted that we were unhappy with the "upgraded" room which he had falsely lead us to believe was the highest standard available. He is a rude man and a moneygrabber from what I can see. Customer service does not matter to him, he just wants the cash and offers no comeback to disgruntled customers. I would never ever go near the place again.

Stayed November 2012
Helpful?
6 Thank Sinsamder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
0.9 mi away
Flyover Bed and Breakfast
Flyover Bed and Breakfast
#17 of 149 in Dublin
191 reviews
1.6 mi away
Acara House B&B
Acara House B&B
#47 of 149 in Dublin
54 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cashel Lodge Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
The Marilyn Mansion
The Marilyn Mansion
#58 of 149 in Dublin
179 reviews
1.7 mi away
Egans House
Egans House
#23 of 149 in Dublin
451 reviews
0.7 mi away
Shantalla Lodge B&B
Shantalla Lodge B&B
#16 of 149 in Dublin
137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Almara Bed & Breakfast Dublin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Almara Bed & Breakfast Dublin

Property: Almara Bed & Breakfast Dublin
Address: 226 Collins Avenue West | Whitehall, Dublin 9, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 149 B&Bs / Inns in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Almara Bed & Breakfast Dublin 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perfectly located halfway between Dublin Airport and Dublin City Centre (8 minutes by taxi from both) Almara is an award winning Irish Tourist Board and Dublin Tourism approved 3 star B&B. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd and LateRooms so you can book your Almara Bed & Breakfast Dublin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Almara Bed And Breakfast
Almara Hotel Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing