We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great experience for a great price!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Four Courts Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Four Courts Hostel
Ranked #18 of 106 Speciality Lodging in Dublin
Bloomington, Minnesota
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great experience for a great price!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2014

My husband and I stayed in a 4 bed mixed dorm. The first night our other roommates were great. They were respectful, quiet and friendly. The next roommate we got was a loud obnoxious drunk who yelled at me when I got up to go to the bathroom in the middle of the night. He was rude and disrespectful and we could take it. It was 3 am and we went down to the front desk and talked to Peter. He quickly put us in a new room for the night and was apologetic. The next day we got up and went out and when we came back that evening we saw our roommate stumbling drunk pass us his way out. We stopped at the front desk and talked to Adrian who just put us in a new room for the remainder of our stay.
It was a great experience thanks to the staff and we would gladly go back!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Megannwolf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

387 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    103
    152
    80
    30
    22
See reviews for
17
39
96
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
26 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2014

The Four Court Hostel in Dublin was recommend for me and because of the price I decided to stay there... But it was a great surprise to me because even it was recommended as the price was so good I was imagine "something" to worry in hostel... But it was not the case... The cleanliness in the bedrooms is good and the staff and service are very good. They have a self service breakfast and nice rooms to stay. The big kitchen makes possible to cook well :)

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scylla03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2014

It was our first time in Dublin and my sister and I picked this hostel for location. It is very easily accessible by the Airlink bus from the airport, as the stop is just a minute away from it. We stayed in a 2-bed room, which was quite nice and had its own bathroom. The room was clean, though a bit cold (but that's just not being used to absence of central heating). The button-shower was actually great! Also, there was free breakfast - simple, but a good start for the day. The staff was friendly and helpful. There's shuttle service to the airport which is very convenient if you have a ridiculously early flight. Overall, a great stay and definitely recommended if you're on a budget and want to spend your money on exploration of the wonderful city insteady of a luxury facility.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DarkFury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln, Nebraska
Level Contributor
104 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2014

I was pleasantly surprised by the friendly, funny staff, the free breakfast, and the great facilities. It has a good atmosphere and location. I only stayed one night but I felt at home! It is in a good area of Dublin.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Reba N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miajadas, Spain
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2014

This hostel had a good location, great breakfast, and an entertaining staff. It took a little getting used to because the building is old, the showers aren't too great and the exterior walls are paper thin, but I would recommend it for the price for sure!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lohutch1212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2014

This hostel was in a great location. Very close to Temple Bar, easy to walk to many of the sights within the center of Dublin. There is a stop right out front for the Airlink to get to the hostel which was great because once when we landed in Dublin, there were no plans. The common area for breakfast is great and very helpful to getting your day started. We were in a private room with bunkbeds. Very small but had a bathroom and then communal showers down the hall. The room was quiet but I usually always bring earplus whenever in a hostel. Going to Brazen Head down the street is a must if you are staying here for the live music and the authentic Irish pub, the oldest in the city. The front desk is very strict with security measures and they are there 24 hours, which made 2 females travelling together feel very safe. They also have a baggage area that they can hold you bags should you arrive before check in/want to site see the day of checkout which is a huge bonus. They have really great recommendations for places to see as well.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MaryKateD14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2014

Was travelling for my first time alone, and was honestly very nervous! But everything went smoothly, everyone was very nice and helpful. The free light breakfast was cereal and toast and some fruit, but more than enough to start a day of sightseeing. Stayed in the female dorm and had a good night's sleep, it wasn't too noisy. Last but not least, very good value for money! Had a really good time :)

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alicia642
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
South City Centre
Jurys Inn Dublin Christchurch
Jacobs Inn Hostel
#2 of 106 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,866 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Isaacs Hostel
#6 of 106 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,874 reviews
South City Centre
Kinlay House
Kinlay House
#16 of 106 in Dublin
3.5 of 5 bubbles 767 reviews
Temple Bar
Abigails Hostel
Abigails Hostel
#8 of 106 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 654 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Four Courts Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Courts Hostel

Property: Four Courts Hostel
Address: 15-17 Merchants Quay, Dublin 8, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 106 Speciality Lodging in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 236
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HostelWorld so you can book your Four Courts Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Four Courts Hotel Dublin
4 Courts Hostel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing