We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Apartments - But Hotel is bad.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Browns Hotel and Apartments
Ranked #134 of 151 Hotels in Dublin
Co Cork
Level 6 Contributor
97 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Nice Apartments - But Hotel is bad.”
Reviewed 1 April 2014

We stayed at the hotel a while ago and I would not recommend it...badly organised...staff unfriendly, you don't get a feeling of being safe or anything.
However, we have stayed at the apartments at the back, and this is what I am reviewing today. The apartments are quite modern and good value but the walk to go around the back of the building is not good for late at night...make sure to get a taxi to bring you to the door entrance.
Even thought the apartments are nice, I doubt I will be back as I have found other nicer, safer places.

Room Tip: Get an apartment and not a room in the hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Totalamnesia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2
    14
    21
    19
    63
See reviews for
8
26
7
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2012

Had a terrible time in this hotel. Me and my friend were hoping for cheap and cheerful and got cheap but in no where cheerful. The room was stale and mouldy. You couldn't swing a mouse in the bathroom never mind a cat. Our room was on the ground floor by the front of the building. To get into the building you had to buzz in and we constantly heard the buzzer for the front door of the hotel going off ALL night. I have marked the location as very good as it was near everything, although on a slightly dodgy street but me and my friend wasn't to concerned about the street.

Room Tip: Dont book here
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Nic_star12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Dublin hotels

Dublin
1 review
Reviewed 25 June 2012

Nice and friendly hotel. At a walking distance of city centre.
The street is busy and therfore noisy. Missing is a mirror in the bathroom, .

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Gert G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Limerick
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2011

Unless this hotel has improved its shoddy room doors, which you cannot secure lock from the inside, I would sincerely urge female solo travellers to NOT STAY in My Place Dublin, formerly Browns Hotel. My WORST hotel experience ever

Room Tip: Do not stay here....
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank pallas_runner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2010

This hotel was old, the bathroom was mouldy and small. The hot water barely worked. The cleaner literally threw a towel at you in the morning and that's what they called "cleaning". My friend stayed in the "luxury Room" and was bitten by fleas. It's located near the city centre but on a dodgy street. The staff were clueless and disinterested. The pizza place downstairs was good though.

  • Stayed July 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Swatson888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2010

Stayed at Brown's Hotel as part of a short break with my Fiance. After reading the reviews I was not expecting too much from the hotel. We arrived slightly early to check in however the room was ready and we were given the keys. At first it seemed as though the door did not have a lock, and after asking at reception we were told that they are self locking doors. To ensure we did not have any valuables stolen we ensured that we took all things important with us at all times. The room was located on the first floor directly accross from the reception desk. This room looked out over Gardiner Street and also had one wall which formed the side of the entrance corridor. Because of this it was very noisy at almost all times of the day, added to this was a entrance buzzer that sounded everytime the main door into the building was opened. This was continually going off all night and we felt it was louder than necessary.
The location of the hotel was ideal, being about 5 minute walk to get to the tourist hop on hop off bus. Even the walk to temple bar was shorted than anticipated taking approxamitely 15 minutes. Overall Dublin was a fantastic city and we would very much like to stay again however would not be staying in Browns hotel.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank tet018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
My Place Dublin Hotel
#125 of 151 in Dublin
520 reviews
North City Centre
Celtic Lodge Guesthouse
Celtic Lodge Guesthouse
#90 of 151 in Dublin
623 reviews
Ripley Court Hotel
#93 of 151 in Dublin
1,429 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Gardiner Lodge
#113 of 151 in Dublin
18 reviews
North City Centre
Dublin Central Inn
Dublin Central Inn
#78 of 151 in Dublin
1,121 reviews
O'Shea's Hotel
#82 of 151 in Dublin
313 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Browns Hotel and Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Browns Hotel and Apartments

Property: Browns Hotel and Apartments
Address: 89-90 Lower Gardiner St, Dublin 1, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #134 of 151 Hotels in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Browns Hotel offers options of accommodations in the Hotel, the next-door Hostel (which offers more moderately priced lodgings) or affiliated city-centre apartments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cancelon so you can book your Browns Hotel and Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Browns Hotel Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing