We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best ice cream in Dublin!”
Review of Murphys Ice Cream

Murphys Ice Cream
Ranked #2 of 53 Dessert in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Local cuisine, Child-friendly
Dining options: Drinks, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
St. John's, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Best ice cream in Dublin!”
Reviewed 15 August 2014

You can't get a full meal at Murphy's, but you can get the best dessert. Our family made four different stops, always for an evening treat. The ice cream is of superb quality, with some unexpected flavours (like brown bread!).

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank John_G_A1A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

472 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    336
    98
    26
    7
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
159 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Absolutely LOVE Murphy's ice-cream”
Reviewed 11 August 2014

We try to visit Murphy's any time we are in the city centre and it never disappoints. The quality of the ingredients, the innovative flavours and the friendly staff make for a winning combination. We tried to suggest going somewhere else but our children wouldn't even discuss it :)

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank eaka2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“THE BEST ICE CREAM IN THE WORLD”
Reviewed 6 August 2014

I am NOT exaggerating when I say this place is the best!
They had the same flavors daily, but they change them every few months it seems. There are ten or so options for flavors. They make their ice cream from County Kerry cows which are supposedly as endangered as the Giant Panda. In addition, they make their sea salt flavor with real sea salt.
They also have brownies, coffee, & cappuccino.
My mom & I were in Dublin a total of about 6 days & went here 4 or five times.
The staff, including the owner, is wonderful as well!

For those of you who have had Kopp's or Leon's in Milwakuee, WI: This place is a million times better. No competition!!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank lizcanapa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“You Haven't Tasted Ice Cream Until You've Tasted Theirs”
Reviewed 6 August 2014 via mobile

Ok, admit it. There is no other ice cream that can compare to Murphy's. Fresh and creamy, just the way ice cream should be. Their best seller is the Dingle Sea Salt (which is my favourite because it goes well with their chocolate brownie) and other favourites include the Irish Oat and Butterscotch (they're all so nice too). They ask you to sample any of their ice cream if you have any doubts and you can take order a tub of whatever ice cream that pleases you at a reasonable price.

Helpful?
1 Thank heyalleen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Droitwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Sorbet to die for”
Reviewed 6 August 2014

I loved the whole atmosphere here! The girl talking to people passing at the door must have spoken to over 100 people in the short time I was there and she was as friendly to the first person as she was the last?! I don't know how she maintained the friendliness and helpfulness after the 20th?! It would be nicer to have more than 2 vegan options, but the ones I had were lovely.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank TeapotByrne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Murphys Ice Cream also viewed

Dublin, County Dublin
Dublin, County Dublin
 
Dublin, County Dublin
 
Dublin, County Dublin
Dublin, County Dublin
 

Been to Murphys Ice Cream? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing