We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really recommend”

National Museum of Ireland - Archaeology
Book In Advance
More Info
US$57.53*
and up
Dublin Pass with Hop-On Hop-Off Tour and Entry to Over 30 Attractions
More Info
US$425.48*
and up
Private Tour: Irish Ancestry and Heritage Walking Tour in Dublin
More Info
US$39.55*
and up
Dublin Freedom Pass: Unlimited Transport and Hop-On Hop-Off Sightseeing
Ranked #16 of 541 things to do in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Owner description: The National Museum of Ireland - Archaeology is the national repository for all archaeological objects found in Ireland and home to over two million artefacts. Permanent Exhibitions: Our exhibitions include the finest collection of prehistoric gold artefacts in western Europe, outstanding examples of metalwork from the Celtic Iron Age and the Museum’s world-renowned collection of medieval ecclesiastical objects and jewellery. The Treasury: Ór - Ireland's Gold, Prehistoric Ireland, Kingship and Sacrifice, Viking Ireland, Medieval Ireland, Ancient Egypt, Ceramics and Glass from Ancient Cyprus, Life and Death in the Roman World. There is also a number of Temporary Exhibitions taking place.
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Really recommend”
Reviewed 12 August 2014 via mobile

Aside from the content it is well worth visiting the for the architecture alone. The exhibitions are generally well displayed (especially on the ground floor). It would perhaps have been nice to have more detailed information on some of the pieces and at some points it was a little over crowded. Setting up a wifi service specifically for an exhibition is a really clever idea (it's called the treasury) but so much more could be made of it! I found it purely by accident.

Helpful?
1 Thank Beth M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,259 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,721
    1,233
    266
    30
    9
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Orinda, California
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“A treasure trove”
Reviewed 12 August 2014

Very beautiful building and an incredible treasure trove of artifacts including a cache of gold jewelry found in the bogs. You can learn about the history of civilization in Ireland and then continue upstairs to see artifacts from other cultures as well.
The Bog Men are each within their own small enclosed space. They are actually quite fairly gruesome and I would not recommend taking children to see them. The rest of the museum is fine for kids.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank aliza m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“First time back as a parent”
Reviewed 11 August 2014

Being a Dub I was brought here regularly as a kid and have fond memories. I recently brought my 6 year old daughter back and she loved the exhibit of Brian Boru as she had just done it in senior infants. Its certainly not as big as you remember as a kid but it is still a great spot to go to on a morning out. The displays on the bog people was amazing as was the vikings. I did find the place a bit sparse in terms of staff/vibe. I think there could be a bit more excitement made of the place, maybe have roving interactive sessions with some of the ushers etc. Considering its the summer and there is a lot of kids visiting I think there needs to be more made of the welcome received. Yes its free which is great to have but walking in with my daughter I was a bit underwhelmed I was expecting her to be met with more of what to expect. The person handing the map to her was nonchelant about being there and made nothing of her being there. You walk into museums in other cities and the magnitude of what you are about to see hits you in both the staff, the hoardings/signs and the general chatter that is going on amongst the visitors. Will definately make it somewhere we bring her more often but I wouldnt be running back in a hurry.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Dublin_Rambler_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good 1st stop”
Reviewed 10 August 2014

Great way to start our 10 day trip to Ireland. Gave us some history that made it possible for us to get more out of our trip. Put everything we saw into perspective. My hubby was enthralled by the Bog Bodies.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank RJB10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level 5 Contributor
99 reviews
41 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Great explanations of complex history”
Reviewed 9 August 2014

This museum is wonderfully rich with artifacts and the exhibits are excellent. The gold and treasury exhibits were spectacular, but my favorite was the exhibit on the millennial anniversary of the battle of Clontarf 1014. It did a brilliant job explaining a complex event (things weren't nearly as black and white as have generally been interpreted, and included much about the technology of the time. Of course the exhibit on the bog bodies is interesting and very tastefully done, but really, is every bog body a king sacrificed on the boundary between two kingdoms? That seems a bit of a curatorial stretch but otherwise it is a beautiful exhibition. The explanation of the rapid depletion of peat in Ireland was eye opening. We were with a group of university students from the states and had only 90 minutes in this museum, but it wasn't nearly enough time to see this excellent museum. And it was free!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank looksformuseums
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed National Museum of Ireland - Archaeology also viewed

 

Been to National Museum of Ireland - Archaeology? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing