We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel fab but don't book any spa treatments!”
Review of Sheldon Park Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sheldon Park Hotel
Ranked #67 of 151 Hotels in Dublin
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Hotel fab but don't book any spa treatments!”
Reviewed 29 May 2013

Excellent price for this hotel, we stayed for 2 nights and staff are really helpful in the hotel. We asked for a room for 5 peolpe on arrival, had booked two doubles and a single but decided we would all like to stay together as a girls weekend away and the receptionist sorted a room for all five of us straight away. Room very clean and cosy, could not fault it. Tram stop is about 5 mins walk away and takes you anywhere you need so it's not a problem being out of town as so easy to travel in and not expensive.

We booked some spa treatments over the phone a few weeks before with the spa that is next door but not part of the hotel, however it is heavily advertised in the hotel and we booked this hotel purely for the spa treatments.
Disaster, we booked five people to have various treatments on our arrival, knowing we wouldn't all have tratments at the same time we thought we could lounge around the pool area while we waited for out treatments. On arrival there were two therapists working who looked at us with a horrified expression and told us only three people were booked in, so booking before arrival didn't work! They then spent 30 mins to decide what they could do for us and we wish we had just cancelled, cramped treatment rooms, dirty towels used, fusty smelling sponges and cold oils apllied for massage, doors opened during treatments and shellac polish that came off in 24 hrs, do not book any treatments.
The hotel is brilliant but does not accept any responsibilty for the Spa so be warned.

Room Tip: Some smoking rooms so beware.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank luckyholidaymaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,302 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    362
    536
    254
    88
    62
See reviews for
335
503
48
106
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (172)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2013

The Sheldon Park is in the middle of an industrial estate about four miles from the centre of Dublin. Doesn't sound promising does it? It's redeeming feature, though, is that the LUAS (tram) red line is only a few steps away, and will whisk you into central Dublin in about 20 minutes for a couple of Euros. This makes it worth considering if the central hotels are full or beyond your budget (we managed to get a reasonably-priced room at the Sheldon Park on the weekend of a sold-out rugby match at the Aviva Stadium, when the central hotels were quoting silly prices, or were full). The hotel itself is ultra-bland Best Western fare, but clean and comfortable enough with efficient and helpful staff. A few minor criticisms: we were allocated a smoking room (don't recall being offered a choice when booking); our double room on the second floor was in the roof, so the person on the window side of the bed would stand up into a dormer window and, if pitch-black in the middle of the night, walk straight into the wall of the dormer which came down to well below head height; turning on (either) basin tap required the use of both hands to prevent the tap just swizzling around; the choice of TV channels was limited in the extreme; although it was May the maid turned the radiator on full every morning (and opened the window!), so the first thing we did each evening was to turn the darned radiator off again. We used the bar once, and found it uninteresting but acceptable. Didn't bother with the restaurant (with much more interesting fare available in the central Dublin restaurants), and with no real effort made for vegetarians we didn't bother with breakfast either. All in all the Sheldon Park will not live long in the memory, but it does the job if it suits your budget and circumstances.

Room Tip: Ask for a non-smoking room if that's what you want. Avoid the top-floor rooms if you are more t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bazalter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cologne, Germany
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2013

The hotel is in a business park near a tram station. The room was small but tidy.

Unfortunately, live music is being played on weekends even after midnight. The music is too loud to get any kind of sleep. Really inconvenient for early risers.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank another_traveller_03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2013

The hotel is just fine.
Room was clean and comfortable. The location was perfect as we had a member of our family in Crumlin hosptital. The shower made funny noises and the water pressure wasn't constant.

The staff in the hotel were very nice, but the staff in the restaurant were atrocious, rude and not polite.
I would recommend the hotel but definitely not the restaurant.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Xavi_Barsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Elizabeth, South Africa
Level Contributor
601 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 534 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2013

This was our second visit to Dublin, and we elected to stay for 4 nights at this hotel again.I'm very pleased we did,as we had a quiet, cosy room on the top floor, the beds were comfortable and the TV reception good.The room was also thoroughly cleaned every day.
We found the staff to be friendly and helpful, and in particular the night manager, who alerted my husband to the possibility of noise coming from the music in the bar over the weekend, but noise levels were contained and we experienced no problems.
The breakfasts remain excellent with a wide choice of fruits, cereals and juices to be had from the buffet.What we really appreciated, was the super choice of Danish pastries and croissants, as well as different types of bread, which you could toast if you wanted to.
The cooked-to-order full Irish breakfast was superb - no other words for it!
We found the location of this hotel really convenient - we took an Airlink bus from the airport when we arrived in Dublin, travelled on it as far as the Red Cow stop, then jumped on the Luas for 1 stop to Kylemore - thus saving ourselves a packet in taxi fares.Getting into town was also a breeze with the Luas stop being so close to the hotel.Guests arriving by car would have ample off-road parking - a real bonus in a busy city!At the end of our stay it was easy enough to use the Luas to get to Heuston station so we could catch the train down to Gallway.
I felt we got excellent value for money at this hotel!

Room Tip: If you want a quiet night, then the top floor is about your best bet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jilldutoit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
186 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2013

This is a fairly old building but large and with good facilities. However if you are only here for a short visit it may be a bit too far away from town. Now of course the Luas does run not too far away and that gets you into town in about 15/20 minutes. But the walk to the tram is not the most comfortable if you have any kind of walking problems - as I do! So that walk alone will add another 10 minutes or so on to the journey into town.
But all that said - the staff are really friendly and the food is very good, right from breakfast through to late night snacks. The carvery lunch was exceptionally nice.
There is also a fitness centre next door - part of the hotel - and the use of that is free with your room.
Our room was called a Junior suite - so it was a good size. However the windows were old and as it was very windy outside the wind carried on into the room making it very cold. You could really feel the wind if you stood in front of the window! The heating was only on for a few hours each day. Night-time it was a case of dragging the extra blanket out of the wardrobe!
All this said - we will probably come back to this same hotel on our next visit as the staff are terrific, it is exceptionally clean everywhere, the food is very good............ !

Room Tip: There is live music in the bar Saturday and Sunday nights, so if you prefer to sleep rather than to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BonnieSwede
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
236 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2013

The hotel is very conveniently located 2 minutes’ walk from the tram. You can use the tram to go and explore down town. The parking is free when you stay in the hotel – be aware of parking fees when you book your hotel in Dublin – most of the hotels charged between 10 and 20 euro per night for parking. The service and cleanliness f this hotel are good. Unlike most Best Western hotels in USA this brand hotels in Europe are in good shape and great service. Leisure center and spa are connected to the hotel and are free for hotel guests.
One thing that amazed me is the smoking rooms available right next to non-smoking!!! You can smell the cigarettes in the corridors but THANKS GOD there is no smell inside the rooms ( but still 4 stars because of smoking rooms right net to non smoking)
This is good hotel with good location if you stay on budget. With the train you are 20 minutes away from the down town.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jani_Vladi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
4.8 mi away
Dublin Skylon Hotel
Dublin Skylon Hotel
#33 of 151 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,830 reviews
5.0 mi away
Sandymount Hotel
Sandymount Hotel
#29 of 151 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,098 reviews
1.5 mi away
West County Hotel
West County Hotel
#90 of 151 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 292 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
The Croke Park
The Croke Park
#7 of 151 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,405 reviews
3.6 mi away
Maldron Hotel Parnell Square
8.5 mi away
Hilton Dublin Airport Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheldon Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheldon Park Hotel

Property: Sheldon Park Hotel
Address: 131 Kylemore Road, Dublin 12, Ireland (Formerly BEST WESTERN Sheldon Park Hotel)
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin > Kilmainham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Dublin
#53 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Sheldon Park Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 131
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sheldon Park Hotel & Leisure Club is located two minutes walk from the Red Luas Line (tram Line) which will take you to the city centre in just 20 minutes. Situated on the 131 Kylemore Road just off the N7, with easy access from the M50 and all major routes of Ireland. The Hotel combines classic elegance with modern design. Each of the 131 tastefully decorated en-suite bedrooms and Suites has comfy duvets and fluffy pillows, ensuite bathroom, DDI telephone, radio/alarm clock ,cable television, tea/coffee making facilities, iron board, hairdryer & free Wi-Fi. Access to the The Hotel Leisure Club is complimentary to all of our guests. The Leisure Club provides extensive health and leisure facilities which include swimming pool, hydrotherapy pool, kiddies pool, Jacuzzi, sauna/steam room and state of the art gymnasium. Visit Sheldon Beauty Spa offering an array of pampering packages. Minnie McCabe's Bar welcomes you in the typical Irish style offering fun with live music every weekend, serving fine bar food throughout the week and carvery available Monday to Saturday for both private and business lunches. The elegant Heustons Restaurant greets you, a la carte menu available every evening. Free Parking available on Hotel Grounds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Superbreak UK, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sheldon Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Dublin
Dublin Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing