We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Sheldon Park Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ibis Dublin(Clondalkin)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Palmerstown Lodge(Palmerstown)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Internet
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (1,495)
Filter reviews
1,495 results
Traveller rating
406
601
300
111
77
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
406
601
300
111
77
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsleisure centreleisure clubtram stopswimming hatswimming poolluas linesteam roomminute walklovely hoteldublin city centrefamily roomcooked breakfastshort breakbooked this hotelhotel barbar foodfull irish breakfast
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
880 - 885 of 1,495 reviews
Reviewed 24 July 2014 via mobile

This hotel is by far the best alternative if you want to avoid the high prices in Dublin hotels. The hotel is super comfortable and has everything you need. Even though it is in a non descript area, its location is great. You walk 3 minutes to the tram station and you are in downtown Dublin 15 mn later! There is a fabulous gym in the building next to the hotel which opens a little late and closes early, by American standards at least. However i found that the biking and walking path by the canal is right around the block and I had a delightful run there. Breakfast is 10 euros but worth it if you are hungry. The hotel has by far the best value for a stay in Dublin.

Stayed: July 2014
3  Thank Yolande M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dublinhotel, Manager at Sheldon Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you for sharing your kind review on trip advisor. We are happy to read that you enjoyed your stay. We are indeed ideally located on the outskirt of the city centre, which can be reached within about 15 minutes by the tramway, and of easy reach from the M50.
We have also duly noted your comment regarding the leisure centre, and this will be passed on to the relevant manager.
We hope to welcome you again on a future trip to Ireland.
Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014

This is a terrific hotel. A good value for the price. It is out of the hustle and bustle of downtown Dublin, yet is only 10 minutes away via a short walk to the Luas Train. It has a nice restaurant and lounge. It also has an Athletic Center next door that you are able to use which includes a workout area, a full size indoor pool, hot tub and sauna. The staff was informative about what was available to do in Dublin, and they were willing to book tours etc. for you. They were very attentive and friendly.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Sassie84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dublinhotel, Manager at Sheldon Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay in the Sheldon Park Hotel, and for your kind comments which we will pass onto the staff. We are happy to see that you enjoyed your stay and we look foward to welcoming you again soon. Regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2014 via mobile

Just back from a two night stay here with my friend and her daughter and myself and my son. We got a family room which was huge with a double bed and two singles. Two of the beds are old and the springs on the mattress kept popping up, management please look into changing the mattress on the single bed inside the door in room 215, it really is beyond what I'd call uncomfortable. Other than that the room was perfect, very large and clean and a big bathroom, just be careful of the bathroom tiles they are very slippy.

The hotel itself is very grand with old mahogany style furniture but us very clean and the receptionist Paula is wonderful. She had fun with our kids and was very welcoming and gave plenty advice about day trips, would like to see her acknowledged by management for being so nice.

We had dinner included in our package so was advised to book a table, we did this for the Thursday night but when we arrived at. 9 pm the dining room was empty!!!! Why tell us it was very busy when it was clearly not. The waiter showed us to our table was very grumpy Frederick was his name I later found out he is manager. It took him 15 minutes to come back with set dinner menus , as we had two kids with us he should have given us kids menus too but he didn't so kids had picked out their dinner from the limited menu, when he eventually came back at 9.40 to take our order we were disappointed to have to reconsider our order again. The kids didn't like the kids menu so I asked if we could use the value of dinner voucher twoards bar menu which he said we could, we ordered starters and main course, our starters were brought out after 15 minutes my friend had ordered pizza for main course and this cane out with the starters!!!!! Not great when she'd eaten both starter snc main course before my starter plate was even removed, a half hour after my main arrived, very bad service and not even an apology when I mentioned my friend and her daughter got their main course with their starters. All in all the meal was lovely great food and bar menu prices aren't that bad but their service was terrible. Frederick only grunted or didn't speak atall.

Saying that though I would return again as the hotel is so close to the Luas it's very handy.

Stayed: July 2014
3  Thank Handyandy29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2014

We spent 15 nights at Best Western Sheldon Park Hotel. The hotel is like a colonial mansion from the South of USA (something like in the movie "Gone with the wind"). The room was quite (take care-in week-ends the Restaurant close later, so the room is recommanded to be in the opposite side of the building).The furniture was super ok, the room was very clean, and every day the towels were changed.The bathroom was perfect. The staff was very friendly, specially Mr.Florin who gave us very helpful suggestions to spend our time in Dublin.The breakfast was very consistent (too good!!).The room had free wi-fi. From the hotel we could arrive in the city centre in approx.25 minutes with the tramway LUAS (the tickets are sold in each stop, from automatic machines-the cheapest way is to buy a 7 days ticket or a 1 day ticket; the city centre is at the stop O'Connell Street).From O'Connell Street the most important attractions are very close-max.30 minutes walking).
From the Airport,we asked for a free map and free documentation, at the Ïnformation point (Dublin have the best free documentation we have ever seen) and than we took the double- decker bus line 747 (6 euro pro person-from the driver) and we get-off to Heuston Station (the last bus stop). than we took the Luas tram and get-off to Kylemore stop. The hotel is situated at about 200m from the stop, on the Street perpendiculary (across) on the tram lane.Trips around Dublin> to Dalkey and to Howth, by train, from Connolly Station (ask for a return ticket-it is cheaper than two single tickets).

Room Tip: Ask for a quite room-not to the Street .
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emil M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2014

We stayed at the Sheldon Park Hotel last week for 3 nights and really enjoyed our stay. The staff were all helpful and friendly. The room was a very good size for a family of four with a double and 2 single beds. The bedroom and bathroom were spotless, the only negative was that our view from the window was of a roof and air vents. The decor is dated but i felt it added to the charm of the hotel although some rooms visible through windows from outside are full of dusty unused excess furniture which take away from the hotel. The pool was a really good size and my 2 boys loved the "Jacuzzi" sections of the pool, the only negative was that you need to bring your towels from your room which you then need to dry if you want to have a shower the following morning.The breakfast was good with self service for cereal, toast, pastries, juice etc. The hot breakfast is made to order which was nice. We ate in the bar one evening which was very tasty and we had a meal in the restaurant which was included in our deal. The menu was quite limited and we were waiting for our main course for over half an hour after our starter with no apology or explanation. Our sons were finished their dinner and dessert and we hadn't our main course yet which resulted in the boys getting bored as they waited for us. Overall we had a very pleasant stay and found the hotel very good value. Would definitely stay again, very family friendly and with a lovely pool.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michelle A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews