We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Place to Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Latchfords of Baggot Street
Ranked #100 of 151 Hotels in Dublin
melbourne
Level 6 Contributor
166 reviews
102 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Good Place to Stay”
Reviewed 11 June 2013

Latchford's is a good place to stay when visiting Dublin. It is an older building but the rooms are clean, the beds comfortable, and the staff are friendly and helpful. We usually eat out when on holidays but decided to make use of kitchenette and so bought our supplies at the local supermarket and cooked some simple meals for ourselves. There are a number of restaurants within walking distance. We used the public bus service to get around and there is a bus stop a few metres from the door. Alternatively, if you are keen, you could walk to central Dublin. Be aware that there is no lift/elevator if your room is not on the ground floor. We would stay here again if in Dublin.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank station
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    46
    39
    21
    7
    2
See reviews for
4
34
32
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Napa, California
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2013 via mobile

This is an older building and we found it charming, but not everyone might. There are high moulded ceilings and marble fireplace mantles, but floors creak and there are some odd angles here and there.
Having a kitchenette is handy. It is a quick walk to downtown and the staff are friendly and helpful. Enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Napajohnb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dry Ridge, Kentucky
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2013

I recently spent 2 nights solo at the Latchfords of Baggot St. and found it to be an excellent value for the money. It was very close to St. Patrick's Day and I was trying to find nice accommodation without spending a lot of money. The hotel is centrally located and is convenient to Trinity College, Grafton St., St. Stephen's Green and is very near Merrian Square. I arrived after hours and it was no problem at all getting into my room with a key that was conveniently left for me by the manager Jody inside the lobby. It was great having my own little kitchen because when travelling alone I tend to be a light eater and was able to heat up soup, coffee, tea and keep milk nice and cold for my cereal in the morning. The room was clean and spacious, the bed was comfy. I would definitely recommend Latchfords to all of my friends and will look them up again when in Dublin.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AndreaK27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2012

I stayed in a small one bedroom apartment at Latchford's in August 2012. Because I was alone I got a great rate of 350 euros for the week. The apartment was comfortable and in the back of the property so it was very quiet. The kitchen is just a little kitchenette but I was able to make simple meals like omelettes no problem. The neighborhood is great - just down the street are many restaurants, pubs etc. It is not too far of a walk to the Liffey, Grafton Street, Trinity College etc. I never once took a bus (well, except from the airport.)

Latchford's is also to be commended on its wonderful staff. Jody, in the office, is great - I have never had emails to a hotel answered so fast in my life! And the cleaning staff and rest of the front desk crew - wonderful. Mr. Latchford, give these people a raise!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank rialtogrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 6 Contributor
303 reviews
106 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 350 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2012

Stayed here as a 'solo traveller' and booked it at the last minute, meaning I got a great deal (£48 for one night). The hotel is located in one of the finest areas of Dublin...surrounded by bars, shops, cafes etc. Its a nice area of Dublin which is quiet but also very close to the central shopping streets.

In general, the hotel does everything you require.. the rooms are in good order, the staff are friendly (I got a late check out when I requested it and they also looked after my phone charger as I had forgotten it on check out..collected it later that day).

There are no major frills with this place...however, there is enormous value on offer given the price, its location and the general character of the building you will stay in (its an older Georgian mansion house - very nice).

Give it a go if you are there for the weekend and you want something at a decent price.

Dublin 2 is the best part of Dublin and this place in located in its heartland. (i used to live in Dublin and know it well). NB There is a major difference between north of the liffey (Dublin 1 which is not so nice) and south of the liffey Dublin 2 which is nicer). Dublin 2 is a very affluent area which is safe and vibrant,

Enjoy.

Tip, visit Merrion Square park - a fantastic park which is a few hundred metres away...an oasis of calm in a busy, but great city.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view over the back car park - its quieter apparently.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank doscal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2012

Was very disapointed with my stay in Latchfords. Expected a lot more going by the rating and other reviews, but the room was very shabby and not very clean. It really is no where near the standard of other Dublin hotels in the same price category.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank G S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2012

We stayed at Latchfords for a weekend birthday celebration and had a great time here. The staff provided clear instructions about getting to the hotel and how to access our flat after reception was closed by email, as we had an evening flight. We were initially in the 2 bed apartment at the top of the building. The hotel is a beautiful Georgian house in a great area of Dublin. The 2 bed apartment is fine (maybe a touch small for 4 people) but well-equipped and comfortable. Unfortunately we had an issue with the double mattress as it was quite well used! We mentioned this the next day wondering if we could swap the mattress, but within minutes were offered alternative accommodation in the mews house which was great and very spacious. We found the mews flat very comfortable and peaceful. To the right of Latchfords you have some great Irish bars such as Baggots, O Donahue’s etc and to the left some really nice cafes, takeaways etc. You can walk to Grafton Street in about 15 mins. The best things about Latchfords are the kind and professional staff and the beautiful building. All this for a very reasonable price in a great part of Dublin. You can’t really go wrong. Have a great stay!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NatMac5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
0.4 mi away
Roxford Lodge Hotel
Roxford Lodge Hotel
#11 of 151 in Dublin
1,313 reviews
0.6 mi away
Harrington Hall
Harrington Hall
#88 of 151 in Dublin
521 reviews
0.5 mi away
Pembroke Townhouse
Pembroke Townhouse
#75 of 151 in Dublin
779 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Mespil Hotel
Mespil Hotel
#31 of 151 in Dublin
489 reviews
0.4 mi away
Schoolhouse Hotel
Schoolhouse Hotel
#29 of 151 in Dublin
1,162 reviews
0.3 mi away
Waterloo House
Waterloo House
#32 of 151 in Dublin
583 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Latchfords of Baggot Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Latchfords of Baggot Street

Property: Latchfords of Baggot Street
Address: 99-100 Baggot Street Lower, Dublin D02 DF21, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #100 of 151 Hotels in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Latchfords of Baggot Street 2*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Latchfords of Baggot Street reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Latchfords Of Baggot Street Hotel Dublin
Latchfords Of Baggot Street Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing