We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If your young and on a budget this is a good place to stay”
Review of Paddy's Palace

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Paddy's Palace
Ranked #81 of 119 Speciality Lodging in Dublin
Reviewed 24 September 2012 via mobile

When staying here you need to remember what you paid and that it's a hostel.
Keep that in mind and you'll be satisfied.
I even tried a different place next door for 1 night because it looked cleaner, the shower was terrible!!! So I went back to paddys.
You'll need to leave 5 euro deposit for your room key and keep all valuables on your person, it's hard to get in the luggage locker as they only have certain times. There are tiny lockers for rent for small valuables and towels are 2 euro each.
Breakfast is free but limited to cereal toast and coffee.
Great location lots of trams, buses and facilities near by.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank captainbooboo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (332)
There are newer reviews for Paddy's Palace
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

188 - 194 of 333 reviews

Reviewed 19 September 2012

Rooms are mediocre. no lockers in rooms. WIFI only in the lounge and it is unbelievably slow. Lounge is locked as of 11pm. Every time you want to get into the building you have to ask someone at reception to let you in.

Good place to stay if you are doing a paddywagon tour, which are loads of fun, otherwise I would stay elsewhere.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank readyLH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2012

A good hostel in the centre of dublin, i found it clean and central and cheap and dont forget there is FREE airport bus, let me repeat that - FREE!
Ok its not a 5 star hostel but im a backpacker, not a 5 star tourist. i thought this hostel was absolutely fine

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MaximillianKolby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2012

I have to be honest, we saw the rating and we didn't expect a lot of this hostel. We only booked it because of the free airport shuttle and because we only stayed in Dublin for the night. But it was worse than I thought. The room was very small and only consisted of a bunk bed and a mirror. It was not very clean. It seemed a while since the vacuumed it. The linen lay on the floor instead of the bed. So we were wondering if it was clean. There was something covering the mattress, but it didn't seem like a normal mattress cover and even made the bed more unattractive. You really wanted to stay as less as possible in the room. There was a lot of nice at night and the bed was not so good. The free breakfast was ok. The airport shuttle was late and the bus smelled like cigarettes. We were lucky we had a lot of time before our flight. I would advice you to only book this hostel if you need to get to the airport the day after and need just a place to crash.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SarahVandenBogaert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2012

This place gets a 4 because its great value for what you pay. If you want the comforts of a hotel, pay the price of a hotel room :).

Girls at reception were really friendly and helpful, answered all our many questions with a smile, let us chill in the lounge while we waited for our room. Secure luggage storage, small lockers for valuables and a well stocked kitchen with free breakfast, reliable wifi, this place was great.

We were in a top floor room, so its a bit quieter, bathrooms were clean, it helped that we had considerate roommates. We had nice hot showers. Really for 10 Euros a night, its hard to complain. Throw in the free airport shuttle and we were staying for about 4 euros a night :).

Most of the complaints seem to be related to small petty issues or else other guests which aren't really the fault of the hostel. For all the travellers out there, this place is fine. it's not luxury, but its certainly no problem for a couple of nights.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Global-Reporter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2012

If you want even the remotest hope of getting to sleep choose elsewhere. I was put into a basement room that looked out on to the street where traffic and drunken apes kept me awake for the night, but this was after the couple who enjoyed a root in the bunk below me before she left for the night! The only thing that was good about this place was escaping on the free airport bus at 5am.

Room Tip: Umm stay elsewhere?!
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christaoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2012

I stayed in Dublin’s Paddy's Palace hostel in May-June 2012 for 4 nights without taking showers. Thank god the weather was very cold. I have read a review of 2009 which had complained about hot showers. I assumed must be fixed in 3 years. No, I was wrong and they had not fixed them. Staff is not enough for 140 bed hostels. Very little friendly and not helping at all. Also staff was temp students etc, so no event info was available from them. Also the section I was in had bad showers, only steaming hot water to burn your skin. I had experience burning my skin, complained and no action taken.

I can say only few good things about the hostel. Kitchen, BF (ok) and locations are good. All other are very bad. I do not know about other hostels around but should be reviewed again if it is part of good booking company. Also the responsible staff, main people, will take 3-4 days off together. My refund took for ever because the main person was not there to signoff.

Room Tip: take room 2 doors down from reception to get little better room
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ksn1122
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
Jacobs Inn Hostel
#2 of 119 in Dublin
2,123 reviews
Abrahams Hostel
#18 of 119 in Dublin
570 reviews
South City Centre
Kinlay House
Kinlay House
#14 of 119 in Dublin
791 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Avalon House
#25 of 119 in Dublin
839 reviews
Four Courts Hostel
#23 of 119 in Dublin
413 reviews
Spire Hostel
#17 of 119 in Dublin
124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Paddy's Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Paddy's Palace

Address: 5 Beresford Place | Lower Gardiner Street, Dublin 1, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Hotel Style:
Ranked #81 of 119 Speciality Lodging in Dublin
Price Range: £16 - £40 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 43
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Paddy's Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Paddy`s Palace Hotel Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing