We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cheap, Central, Crap” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Paddy's Palace

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Paddy's Palace
Ranked #72 of 105 Speciality Lodging in Dublin
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Cheap, Central, Crap”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2014

I'm not one who usually writes good or bad reviews, but after my stay here I feel compelled to write this review.

I would first like to start off by saying that the staff at the hostel desk were wonderful, especially Darren. They do the best they can with what the have, and tried to make us feel as comfortable as possible, at all times. Very helpful, gave great advice, maps, information on public transport etc.

As for the room we got, it was way over priced (80e for a twin-room). Tiny, cramped, window wouldn't open and right next to a noisey railway bridge.

The internet worked for a total of about 15 minutes during our 3 day stay.

The tour desk staff were very unhelpful and I waited for 10 minutes once, while one of them sat typing (knew I was there), only to look and acknowledge me after a member of the hostel staff asked her to, as he was busy.

The water in the showers is either scorching hot or freezing cold.

All in all, an unpleasant stay. The only upside were the hostel staff.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Shan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

314 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    37
    60
    60
    52
    105
See reviews for
17
36
86
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2014

My friend and i stayed at this hostel for 2 nights while in dublin and only paid €10 for each night (8 bed dorm). The dorm rooms are fairly big, the beds were comfortable and the rooms were clean. The noise wasnt too bad considering the location and we didnt have any problems with the other people in the room. Although we didnt use it, the hostel offers a very big kitchen and breakfast. The location is great, only a 5 minute walk from the main centre and you get free airport shuttle going every 2 hours from the hostel!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mala L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2014

The cost of the hostel is brilliant and I guess you get what you pay for, so beggers can't be choosers I suppose. But the staff here, I assume like many hostels aren't paid and live here... and the attitude shines out that this is the case! I would pay a little extra and stay up the road a bit, as it's quite easy to meet here if you're on a tour with them.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jared K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Dublin hotels

Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2014

This hostel is so central and great value for money with a free airport shuttle and day tour. It is a bit noisy because it is so cetral but clean and cheap. The previous night we paid double the money in the temple bar. Full of backpackers also as it is belong to paddywagon tours.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jimmy g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brandon, Canada
Level Contributor
33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2014

I spend one night in this fire trap before leaving on a tour of the country. The tour was wonderful but they need to pull this place down and start over.
The noise was from the tram and train as well as traffic. The room was tiny for the two of us. The internet was useless and only available in the lobby. The lobby was a hideous place. The breakfast was a few pieces of stale bread and watered down lime juice. They charged for towels for showers and the water was scaulding so beware. The cost is expensive for a private room..80 euros or more for a disgusting room up 3 flights of stairs..it was actually depressing to arrive to after flying all night. DONT GO THERE>> if you are going on tour find a hotel or B and B nearby and walk over early in the morning to catch your tour.

Room Tip: just dont go there
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MikeinBrandon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
366 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2014 via mobile

Stayed here before and after my tour good price for the dorms but wouldn't rush back in a hurry! Tours they offer are great! Staff were very helpful! Breakfast was basic kitchen was old! Showers were poor a press button didn't last very long location ok.

Stayed September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Matthew J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North East England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2014 via mobile

I stayed at Paddy's Palace for 3 nights in July 2014 over a weekend. It was only my second time in a hostel, but after paying £45 for 3 nights in an 8 bed dorm room, i expected something good. £45 might sound reasonable, but compared to other hostels in the same area, it was at the expensive end. Unfortunately it was the cheapest left that wasn't.fully booked when we finally were able to book.

I wouldn't say it was all terrible, but a lot of it was. The luggage storage is not safe. They give the key to anyone who asks for it, and they could easily access the belongings of all others whilst putting in or getting out their own.
Most of the staff were very pleasant but I did have one experience that wasn't very nice at reception whilst I was trying to help a girl who didn't speak much English to her room. She did not know her floor or room number and I went to check at the desk for her and felt as if the woman was just uneccessarily rude as if I/we were stupid.

The toilets and rooms are very clean. But two toilets for a whole floor of people seemed a little too stretched. And only two showers too.
Which brings me onto the worst part... The showers are ice cold, no matter what time of day. I had to finish washing my hair in the sink because it was so bad. (but even the taps don't heat up at all.) I know it may seem like something so small but when you're walking around a city in the middle of summer, or attending concerts as i did, a hot, even warm shower can be the difference between enjoying your stay, and not at all. This is really something that needs to be sorted.

There are no lockers in the rooms, there were two plug sockets for 8 people, and everything is so cramped that is is unbearabley hot, which meant all windows had to be open on the night, bringing in a lot of noise and contributing towards a bad sleep.
The beds are quite comfy, but if you move even an inch you'll be greeted with the sound of the whole bunk squeaking with your every movement.

The free bus to the airport was a life saver for us at 4am.

So I guess if you don't want to shower at all during your stay and keep your valuables on you at all times, then you'll be okay... At the very least i would say this place is okay for 1 night and no more.

Honestly, i've never written a review before, and i travel a heck of a lot and stay in cheap places. But i really really hated my stay at this hostel and felt like it couldn't go unsaid.

So be wise, get in there early and book somewhere else before the good places go.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Emmy Rhoslyn P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
Abrahams Hostel
#27 of 105 in Dublin
3.5 of 5 bubbles 520 reviews
South City Centre
Kinlay House
Kinlay House
#15 of 105 in Dublin
3.5 of 5 bubbles 757 reviews
Avalon House
#19 of 105 in Dublin
3.5 of 5 bubbles 800 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South City Centre
Oliver St. John Gogarty's Hostel
Jacobs Inn Hostel
#2 of 105 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,817 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Paddy's Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Paddy's Palace

Property: Paddy's Palace
Address: 5 Beresford Place | Lower Gardiner Street, Dublin 1, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Hotel Style:
Ranked #72 of 105 Speciality Lodging in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 43
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, HostelWorld and Odigeo so you can book your Paddy's Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Paddy`s Palace Hotel Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing