We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Grafton Capital Hotel
Ranked #125 of 150 Hotels in Dublin
Reviewed 24 January 2012

I only had 2 issues with this hotel, the tv didnt work and it was further away from the temple bar than advertised, apart from that, nice a clean, club down stairs was massive, had a good time there , will stay again definatly

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ally187069
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,063)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

701 - 707 of 1,063 reviews

Reviewed 22 January 2012

I stayed here over Paddy's day and would definately stay here again - the best thing about this hotel is the location - its close by to everything: St Stephens Green, lots of pubs in the area and the main shopping places.

I have been to Dublin many times, and this is by far the best hotel I have stayed in, I'm heading over again this year but unfortunately, the hotel is booked up during the weekend I am planning to visit.

The only thing I would be warey of is the club next door, it is very noisy depending on where in the hotel your room is: Our room was right above the club, so sleeping was hard work - but we were there to party anyway so wasn't a major problem for us but if you are older or going as a couple who just want a nice quiet weekend away, I would suggest you dont stay here. We did pop into the club one night before going on to Temple Bar but it wasn't very impressive, but is alright as a starter for the beginning of the night.

If your a group of friends going to Dublin to party - this is definately the hotel for you!

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aimz1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2011

Chose hotel the based on reviews here, and we were not disappointed.
The location is excellent - just minutes away from St Stephen shopping area. It is close by to a park - St Stephen Green, where you can catch the Dublin Hop On Hop Off buses, and also horse coaches, and also Grafton Street - a pedestrian shopping area.
The hotel itself is bit old, but to me, it was cosy, and more importantly, it was clean. The room was huge with king size bed. Hot water was also good. Although it didn't offer free breakfast, you can always pay for the breakfast if you wish to have it in the hotel itself.
Although we arrived at midnight ( after a long flight from Kuala Lumpur via Heathrow ), check in was a breeze and we were in our room in no time.
For the Muslim, there is a Halal restaurant just across the street from the hotel main entrance, so getting food is not a problem.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank mcbrain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2011

Just back from 2 nights here - 8th & 9th December.

I thought this hotel was too good to be true with cheap rates and excellent location. Turns out it was!!

Location: Fantastic - located behind the Dunnes Stores side of Stephens Green Shopping Centre. 1 min walk to Grafton Street. The ONLY plus.

Reception: Dull and staff were far from friendly or helpful

Room - 2 star is generous, we booked a double, it was 2 singles pushed together (romantic - not!) The bathroom was clean but dated and had mould in the tiles. The room was grubby in general.

Bar - never got to see it as the 1st day it was closed and the 2nd we were told we had to go to the night club for a drink because they had a private party coming in 2 hours.

Breakfast - €9.95 extra per person - go to the cafe across the road instead for half the price

NOISE - The walls and window in the bedrooms are wafer thin. The night club is directly under the hotel and you can hear every song they play in the nightclub. Our room was on the top floor - 5 and we could still hear it. When the music eventually finished up about 2.30am we thought GREAT - sleep time - NO - the guys in the room next to us arrived back and decided to have girls back and chat until 5am. Bear in mind the walls are paper thin. We heard the entire conversation. The language being used was shocking. I called the manager twice and he did come up - however, it made no difference. Then one of the guys started vomitting so we listened to that for an hour - got to sleep about 6.30 only to be woken again at 7 by their alarm calls - they refused to answer the call so the alarm call kept ringing.

In short - unless you plan on getting completely drunk yourself and can sleep through alot of noise do not stay at this hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Edwina69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2011

We were a bit worried before we set off, as the reviews I read were not really very good. However we were very pleased at the reception when we were looked after by a very efficient receptionist. The room was very clean and spacious with a good sized bath with very hot water. the only downside I could mention is that the central heating radiators made a gurgling noise when on. But, that aside we had a great stay there, it was in an excellent location for the shops and bars. If we go to Dublin again - we will stay at the Grafton Capital.

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Yorkssailor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2011

This was a decent hotel for a large city and centrally located. It did not offer breakfast, but Bewley's would have been better anyway. The hotel was very fairly priced.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank korbt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2011

This hotel is very traditional. It is very close to the central shopping area in Dublin. It is also nearby transport links and major attractions. The standard of the hotel is good and the room was comfortable. The hotel is great value for money and the staff were very friendly. I stayed for 2 nights and saw the Guinness factory. Book of Kells. And a few galleries.

Room Tip: Not applicable all rooms seemed good
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lara B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
Drury Court Hotel
#22 of 150 in Dublin
1,569 reviews
The Clarence
#40 of 150 in Dublin
1,776 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Brooks Hotel
#11 of 150 in Dublin
2,400 reviews
Temple Bar
Eliza Lodge
Eliza Lodge
#92 of 150 in Dublin
577 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grafton Capital Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grafton Capital Hotel

Address: Lower Stephens Street, Dublin 2, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin > South City Centre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #125 of 150 Hotels in Dublin
Price Range: £120 - £142 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Grafton Capital Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grafton Capital Hotel is a traditional Georgian townhouse which offers spacious accommodation and a warm ambiance. Located in the heart of Dublin City Centre, paces away from Grafton Street, entertainment & cultural attractions; it is the perfect tourist choice. Each room in the Grafton Capital Hotel is spacious and elegantly designed. Decorated in rich traditional Georgian colours, each room provides guests with tea & coffee trays, ironing facilities, hairdryer, TV, power shower and telephone. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Superbreak UK, Southall Travel, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grafton Capital Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grafton Capital Dublin
Hotel Grafton Capital

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing