We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Surprised and delighted”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Grafton Capital Hotel
Ranked #126 of 150 Hotels in Dublin
Reviewed 25 August 2012 via mobile

Was expecting this place to be awful,right beside break for the border club but I loved it. Thankfully the club was closed so only noise was from the street which I dont mind as I love the noise of my own city. Room was big, huge compared to a certain 5 star hotel down the road and the bed was massive,loads of room and v comfy. Only staff I saw was reception, v friendly, only downside was the rough element at the cash machine right outside which is offputting. Aside from that, great location and would definitely go back!

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tabris6ie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,063)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

639 - 645 of 1,063 reviews

Reviewed 19 August 2012

We stayed at the Grafton Capital Hotel for 4 nights. The location is really great, it's a bit more than a 5-minute walk to Trinity College and around 10 minutes to O'Connoll Street.
The staff in general was friendly and helpful, only the guy at the check-in made the impression of not wanting to be there when we checked in at around midnight.
Unfortunately, Wifi is only available on the first floor. The rooms were ok, although there was an ink stain on the bed cover and TV reception could have been better.

All in all a good hotel for a short stay to explore the city.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank smephie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2012

Our first stop in a two week tour of Ireland was the Grafton Capital Hotel. The hotel is conveniently located downtown so that we could bus in from the airport, walk around the city during our stay and bus out to pick up our rental car at the airport a couple of days later. Convenience is clearly a halmark of this hotel.

The accomodations are simple, spartan and a bit old. Staff were friendly and courteous. The rooms were clean. The walls of the hotel are paper thin and as the club downstairs bumps and thumps into the wee hours of the morning, you'll want to avoid staying in a room anywhere near the restaurant/club.

This is not the hotel to choose when you intend to spend time in your hotel room relaxing. But if you are looking for something relatively inexpensive and conveniently located within walking distance of much of the area of Stephen's Green Dublin, and if you intend to spend much of your time out taking in the scenes and vibe of the city, this is an appropriate choice.

Room Tip: Stay away from the rooms above the club. We were in the back. Not much of a view, but quieter (min...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2012

This hotel is ok for the price (shop around for the best deal)! The hotel is quite old and the amentites are probably equal to a 2-3 star hotel. But the rooms are clean, the location cannot be beat and the staff are really friendly and helpful. If you just need a comfy bed, warm shower and be near all the nightlife and shopping then this is the place for you! If your are looking for luxury look elsewhere!

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wilp33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2012 via mobile

stayed for one week, on the 4th floor. fair conditions, without breakfast, wich was no problem (lots of niceplaces to eat,very near). in a nutshell, fair place, fair price, excellent location in the heart of the centre of Dublin.

Thank Adrian R
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 7 August 2012 via mobile

I have stayed here twice and on both occasions the rooms were spacious and clean. Location is fantastic. Very close to shops, bars & restaurant. Unfortunately staff on both visits let this hotel down. No please , thank you or your welcome. Barely spoke to us outside of "sign here" & "heres your key" . During our second stay, we asking for information from the receptionist, we felt like we were an inconvienence, we resorted to finding an internet cafe to look up the info we needed. We also rang down from our room to order a taxi which reception said was no problem. When we came down to reception 10 minutes later, they had not called it yet. We were late for our apointment as a result. Calling a taxi for guests is a basic request. We received no apology for this. Manners go a long way. Its because of the staff we will not be staying here again.

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fifipied
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2012

Myself and my boyfriend stayed in \july for 2 nights while attending a concert. We arrived on a sunday and checked in where the front desk staff were friendly. After leaving our bags in the room we went downstairs to the bar/restaurant to get lunch but we were informed by staff the bar or restaurant does not open on a sunday so we had to go elsewhere. That was my first dissappointment.
I had a very bad sleep in the hotel as our room was beside the lift ant it was making noise all night. I was then suddenly woken at 7am by workers outside my room(on hotels site) throwing wood and stone into a skip which continued for the most part of the day. This happened on both mornings.
Breakfast was very dissappointing as both mornings there was no clean tables to sit at and not set up correctly. The fruit option consisted of brown apple floating in juice. After breakfast on both mornings my partner and I were both terrible sick.
Lastly the bathroom was of a very low standard with pipes sticking out and a broken shower. One thing that I found very annoying was the wash hand basin was outside of the bathroom so after using the loo you had to leave the bathroom to wash your hands.
Apart from all that good location. :(

Room Tip: dont stay here!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 007laura007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
Drury Court Hotel
#22 of 150 in Dublin
1,574 reviews
The Clarence
#41 of 150 in Dublin
1,776 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Brooks Hotel
#11 of 150 in Dublin
2,402 reviews
Temple Bar
Eliza Lodge
Eliza Lodge
#92 of 150 in Dublin
577 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grafton Capital Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grafton Capital Hotel

Address: Lower Stephens Street, Dublin 2, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin > South City Centre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #126 of 150 Hotels in Dublin
Price Range: £121 - £143 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Grafton Capital Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grafton Capital Hotel is a traditional Georgian townhouse which offers spacious accommodation and a warm ambiance. Located in the heart of Dublin City Centre, paces away from Grafton Street, entertainment & cultural attractions; it is the perfect tourist choice. Each room in the Grafton Capital Hotel is spacious and elegantly designed. Decorated in rich traditional Georgian colours, each room provides guests with tea & coffee trays, ironing facilities, hairdryer, TV, power shower and telephone. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Superbreak UK, Southall Travel, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ebookers, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grafton Capital Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grafton Capital Dublin
Hotel Grafton Capital

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing