We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Worst experience in Ireland”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Grafton Capital Hotel
Ranked #126 of 153 Hotels in Dublin
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Worst experience in Ireland”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2013

I stayed here on a Saturday night and the music from the club below was so loud I could sing along with the songs. The walls and carpets were stained. The towels in the bathroom were stained. Our bed was two twin beds shoved together and disguised as a queen. It was awful. I would never stay here again. I'd rather sleep in car!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JDHG129
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,043 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    136
    358
    281
    157
    111
See reviews for
132
431
45
67
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (202)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Witney, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2013

stayed here on a long weekend october 2013, the location is fabulous, pretty much right in the middle of everything, by st stephens green and grafton street. the rooms are a bit antiquated and the paint work could be better, but the beds are lovely and comfortable and we had a brilliant shower in our room. Breakfast was buffet breakfast, but as we went down a bit later you could tell the food had been under the heater lamp for a while. however there are a couple of lovely cafes opposite who did really nice breakfasts for a bit less money.

downside is the nightclub next to it. we went to do all the trips out with friends who had never been to dublin before, so we were out from 10.00am until 11.30 pm doing different things. by the time we got back to the hotel we were ready to collapse, unforutnately the night club stopped that as the windows are not double glazed, we were on the second floor and situated fairly close to the club. no chance of sleep until that stopped at 2.00-2.30am. not good when you have been out all day without stopping. so we were absolutely shattered the next day.

if you go to dublin to party all night and sleep most of the day this hotel would be fine.not expensive and close to everything, for me, i wouldnt stay here purely because after running arond all day I would want to know that when I return at 11.30 I would be able to sleep when I got back to the room

Room Tip: ask for one as far away from the night club as possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank deborah a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
119 reviews
100 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2013

spent the Arthur's day in Dublin and decided to stay at this hotel with my bestiest, the reception was really nice, lovely girl and so polite.,,,the location was amazing, walking distance from all the great places, only the bed was too hard but it wont kill me,
for sure i will book this hotel again and will recommend this hotel to my love ones.....

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ephie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ocala, Florida
Level Contributor
342 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 160 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2013 via mobile

Stayed here one night in September, unfortunately it happened to be a Saturday night. This is an old city hotel, but does have a certain charm to it. There is a courtyard where you can have a cocktail and watch the action on the street. The lobby is very small and becomes crowded at checkout time. Our room was on the fifth floor and we hoped that it would be above the street noise, but we were wrong. The sound of revelers continued until after 3am. Even with the windows and curtains closed, it was noisy.
The room was average size and the bath was was well. The room was clean and we had everything we needed except soap, which seems to be a common shortcoming of most Irish hotels.
On the positive side, this hotel is in a great location with pubs, good restaurants, shops and department stores nearby.

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank OcalaTraveler2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
125 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 October 2013

This is a relatively cheap hotel located in walking distance of all the main areas of central Dublin. As such it's a great location to explore. However as this is central Dublin, this means at night it is relatively noisy, not helped by the nightclub under the hotel. Given other places I have stayed in Dublin, is is not unusual, but if you are someone who needs almost perfect quiet in order to sleep probably not for you. Interior clean and staff polite. Allow you to leave bags securely pre and post checkout.

Room Tip: Higher up the further from the nightclub
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Neil R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Midlands
Level Contributor
23 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 September 2013

This is the saddest hotel I've stayed in for a long time. Forget location, DO NOT STAY HERE WHATEVER THE OFFER unless you are a 20 something, ecstasy popping, insomniac who loves clubbing and has no intention of sleeping in the room. There are NO quiet rooms.
I stayed at the weekend and there is a nightclub IN/UNDER the hotel so you cannot escape the noise until 3/4 am or beyond. It is crazy. When the music stops you are then entertained by ladies of the night who are being serviced in adjacent rooms loudly, violently and graphically. Slapping flesh on flesh is not a pleasant sound at any time, let alone when you are exhausted.
AVOID AT ALL COSTS. IT SHOULD BE CLOSED DOWN. OLD, TIRED, OBSCENE

Room Tip: Find another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eleni63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Dublin hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
0.0 mi away
Drury Court Hotel
Drury Court Hotel
#24 of 153 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,378 reviews
0.1 mi away
Travelodge Dublin City Centre, Stephens Green Hotel
0.2 mi away
The Central Hotel
The Central Hotel
#92 of 153 in Dublin
3.5 of 5 bubbles 872 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Kelly's Hotel Dublin
Kelly's Hotel Dublin
#94 of 153 in Dublin
3.5 of 5 bubbles 291 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mercantile Hotel
Mercantile Hotel
#114 of 153 in Dublin
3.5 of 5 bubbles 384 reviews
0.3 mi away
Dublin Citi Hotel
Dublin Citi Hotel
#74 of 153 in Dublin
3.5 of 5 bubbles 972 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grafton Capital Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grafton Capital Hotel

Property: Grafton Capital Hotel
Address: Lower Stephens Street, Dublin 2, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin > South City Centre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #126 of 153 Hotels in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Grafton Capital Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grafton Capital Hotel is a traditional Georgian townhouse which offers spacious accommodation and a warm ambiance. Located in the heart of Dublin City Centre, paces away from Grafton Street, entertainment & cultural attractions; it is the perfect tourist choice. Each room in the Grafton Capital Hotel is spacious and elegantly designed. Decorated in rich traditional Georgian colours, each room provides guests with tea & coffee trays, ironing facilities, hairdryer, TV, power shower and telephone. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, Odigeo, Superbreak UK, TripOnline SA, Hotelopia, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grafton Capital Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grafton Capital Dublin
Hotel Grafton Capital

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing