We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Halloween Magic..”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Grafton Capital Hotel
Ranked #125 of 151 Hotels in Dublin
Dublin, Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
33 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Halloween Magic..”
Reviewed 6 November 2013

My husband and I spent a night in this Hotel last week.. We were tourists in our own City.. The Hotel was very central.. Good valued for what we paid.. It was what it said on the tin.. A tad tired, but clean.. Our room was fine and quiet,, as we requested. We had a lovely time.. Dinner in the bar/restaurant attached 'Break for the Border'// cheap and cheerful.. I would recommend this Hotel for any travellers wishing to spend some time in Dublin City.. sightseeing/shopping...... no frills....;Lots to see and do in Dublin's Fair City.

Room Tip: Time of year.. It was Halloween... Room on the 5th Floor was fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 234liz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,057 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    138
    359
    286
    160
    114
See reviews for
134
437
47
67
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (205)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Antonio
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2013

Two of us stayed here October 1-3, and 20-21, 2013, sharing a twin room. The rooms were clean; the windows opened to let in cool air. I found the hotel charming in its decor: art of the American West on the walls. Hotel staff very friendly and accommodating. The Grafton is close to St. Stephens Green, shopping areas, Trinity College, museums. There are lots of places to eat nearby. It was noisy at 2 a.m. on a couple of occasions: merrymakers shouting up and down the street. If this is a problem, ask for a room in the back. People shot off fireworks one night (in anticipation of Halloween).

Room Tip: Choose a room away from the street or the hotel's pub if you need quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank eliintexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sjællands Odde
Level Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2013

We were 25 people staying at Grafton Capital Hotel from 22nd Sept. to 27th Sept. and we all were very contented and would like to recommend this hotel. The hotel is very charming. If you want to stay in a "modern" hotel you should choose another hotel, but if you want a "cosy" hotel with a warm milieu and a touch of the "Wild West" you will find no better place. The staff was very friendly, serviceminded and tried to make our stay as pleasant as possible. The hotel is very central to the sights of the town and Templebar, but at the same time in a quiet area. The breakfast buffet was delicious with a large assortment. Many of us will certainly stay there again if we come back to Dublin another time.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Edith K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2013

I stayed here on a Saturday night and the music from the club below was so loud I could sing along with the songs. The walls and carpets were stained. The towels in the bathroom were stained. Our bed was two twin beds shoved together and disguised as a queen. It was awful. I would never stay here again. I'd rather sleep in car!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JDHG129
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Dublin hotels

Witney, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2013

stayed here on a long weekend october 2013, the location is fabulous, pretty much right in the middle of everything, by st stephens green and grafton street. the rooms are a bit antiquated and the paint work could be better, but the beds are lovely and comfortable and we had a brilliant shower in our room. Breakfast was buffet breakfast, but as we went down a bit later you could tell the food had been under the heater lamp for a while. however there are a couple of lovely cafes opposite who did really nice breakfasts for a bit less money.

downside is the nightclub next to it. we went to do all the trips out with friends who had never been to dublin before, so we were out from 10.00am until 11.30 pm doing different things. by the time we got back to the hotel we were ready to collapse, unforutnately the night club stopped that as the windows are not double glazed, we were on the second floor and situated fairly close to the club. no chance of sleep until that stopped at 2.00-2.30am. not good when you have been out all day without stopping. so we were absolutely shattered the next day.

if you go to dublin to party all night and sleep most of the day this hotel would be fine.not expensive and close to everything, for me, i wouldnt stay here purely because after running arond all day I would want to know that when I return at 11.30 I would be able to sleep when I got back to the room

Room Tip: ask for one as far away from the night club as possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank deborah a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
119 reviews
100 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2013

spent the Arthur's day in Dublin and decided to stay at this hotel with my bestiest, the reception was really nice, lovely girl and so polite.,,,the location was amazing, walking distance from all the great places, only the bed was too hard but it wont kill me,
for sure i will book this hotel again and will recommend this hotel to my love ones.....

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ephie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
0.0 mi away
Drury Court Hotel
Drury Court Hotel
#26 of 151 in Dublin
1,433 reviews
0.1 mi away
Travelodge Dublin City Centre, Stephens Green Hotel
0.1 mi away
Kelly's Hotel Dublin
Kelly's Hotel Dublin
#94 of 151 in Dublin
297 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Central Hotel
The Central Hotel
#92 of 151 in Dublin
882 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mercantile Hotel
Mercantile Hotel
#112 of 151 in Dublin
396 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Dawson Hotel & Spa
The Dawson Hotel & Spa
#106 of 151 in Dublin
695 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grafton Capital Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grafton Capital Hotel

Property: Grafton Capital Hotel
Address: Lower Stephens Street, Dublin 2, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin > South City Centre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #125 of 151 Hotels in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Grafton Capital Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grafton Capital Hotel is a traditional Georgian townhouse which offers spacious accommodation and a warm ambiance. Located in the heart of Dublin City Centre, paces away from Grafton Street, entertainment & cultural attractions; it is the perfect tourist choice. Each room in the Grafton Capital Hotel is spacious and elegantly designed. Decorated in rich traditional Georgian colours, each room provides guests with tea & coffee trays, ironing facilities, hairdryer, TV, power shower and telephone. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Priceline, Nozio Netplan srl, Travel Republic (UK), Southall Travel, Superbreak UK, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HRS, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Grafton Capital Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grafton Capital Dublin
Hotel Grafton Capital

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing