We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location in Dublin”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Grafton Capital Hotel
Ranked #125 of 151 Hotels in Dublin
GRAND RAPIDS
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Good location in Dublin”
Reviewed 21 June 2014

We were a little apprehensive after reading some of the other posts - but overall we're quite satisfied with our recent stay. Very convenient location to public transit and popular pedestrian sites like Grafton Street and the Temple Bar area. Yes it's a bit outdated and the Internet is spotty at times - but what the heck, you're in Ireland in the middle of a really fun city!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CHARLES M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,061 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    139
    360
    287
    160
    115
See reviews for
136
438
47
67
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (206)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
York, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2014

This hotel has good location for the centre of town and the rooms are clean but that is where any positive feedback ends.

The rooms are very small, the bed old and uncomfortable, no airconditioning and I would estimate that the last redecoration was in 1972. There is a large bar associated with the hotel downstairs which on certain nights plays dance music until 1 am with a bass sufficient to shake the rooms - I have nothing against partying until beyond 1am but would prefer a hotel to provide accommodation that it suitable for sleeping in too. The walls are very thin which leaves little to the imagination as to what is going on in the adjacent bathroom.

All of this wouldn't be too bad if it was a budget hotel but I was paying €140 room only and whilst working in the city for 5 weeks stayed in premium hotels for this money. To be fair to the hotel, the city was very full this week so the price would have been adjusted to market demand but for the quality of accommodation I considered this very steep.

In summary, unless you're in town to party all night, I would try and find somewhere else.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank James17382
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Dublin hotels

Walpole, New Hampshire
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2014

We have stayed at the Grafton Capital Hotel once before, and we chose it again for its great central location just off Grafton St. in Dublin. It had been updated since we were last here, and this time the elevators worked, which was a good thing. It is a bit pricey, but the rooms are spacious and clean. Also, for its central location, it was surprisingly quiet, which was a huge plus.
I would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Celticmagpie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
91 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2014

We stayed here on a recent tip to Dublin. We booked last minute so didn't do much research into where we were staying. In fairness the location is excellent and at a push we'd probably consider staying again in the future as it was so convenient! The hotel itself is fine but very basic. The room we stayed in was small but was clean. There is a night club adjoined to the hotel but the noise didn't disturb us as we were out late ourselves. However, I would see this as a problem for families with small children or couples looking for a relaxing stay.

We found the service the worst part of the hotel. On check in there was no evidence of our booking. We had to produce the email on our iPhone as proof. Turns out reception got the dates mixed up and had our room organised for the following day. They weren't apologetic as we waited, they pretty much ignored us and chatted as one changed their mistake and the other counted cash and talked about 'closing the website as no rooms were now left'. Had we arrived any later would we have been left with no room? When our room was organised the beds were separate, we reserved a double, and after dropping off our bags housecleaning asked us to leave so they could zip up the beds and change the sheets. It wasn't a huge problem but it meant our overall experience was negative, a lot of waiting around through no fault of our own.

I wouldn't be comfortable recommending this hotel for anyone who wanted a nice experience or break but if you want somewhere central it's a great choice!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DIAMOND89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jackson, Mississippi
Level 6 Contributor
116 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2014

This hotel is a bit pricy (at least for dates we were staying) and it is an older hotel but great location and rooms were nice and clean. Front desk staff very helpful with references to eat and directions. There was street noise during the night that could be disturbing for light sleepers.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Coonie_72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2014 via mobile

Stayed here on the weekend wit my 3 other friends two rooms while I found both rooms out dated our room was clean so I was happy but our friends room was not the same. There was an awful smell in the bathroom so they had to keep the bathroom door shut their room was how ever cool as they could open the when where in our room the window was broken and would not stay open so the soon was way to warm to sleep or even try to get ready to go out also the sockets in the roon were so bad as they do not fit normal plugs and we had a huge issue wit lighting as nearly all the lights in our room did not work and we had to keep going to our friends room trying to got ready to go out. The most important part was the staff although checking in the lady behind the desk said all the right things it was very fake and had been very rude at the start as she could you find our name on the booking and was just like no can't find it and was happy to just ignore us then but it turns out she was looking up the wrong name as she misheard me but to top it off was when we returned to the hotel that nite we decided to leave the bar in town early and get a last drink in the residents bar but when the man finally let us back into the hotel my friend politely asked him sorry can you tell us how to get to the R bar where he laughed and said what R bar she then said its a hotel the R bar and very rudely he said " its a 3 star your staying in love not a 5 star " we were left speechless and for this reason we will def not be in a hurry to return to this hotel it was cheap wit a good location but you get what you pay for and after reading the mixed reviews I took the chance but trust me its worth paying the extra few pound for a better hotel

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Pamela F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tucson, AZ
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2014

Grafton Capital Hotel is a very basic room set in an amazing location. The bed wasn't particularly comfortable, the room wasn't well appointed and the TV was a relic from a time past, but it wasn't a bad place altogether. The thing that really saves Grafton is its location, you really can't beat it. Only a five minute walk to St Stephen's Green, 10 minutes to Trinity College and Temple Bar and less than 5 minutes to Grafton St. I don't know if I would stay here again but I don't regret staying here either.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank buckeyeaz81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
0.0 mi away
Drury Court Hotel
Drury Court Hotel
#24 of 151 in Dublin
1,460 reviews
0.1 mi away
Travelodge Dublin City Centre, Stephens Green Hotel
0.2 mi away
The Dawson Hotel & Spa
The Dawson Hotel & Spa
#105 of 151 in Dublin
702 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Central Hotel
The Central Hotel
#96 of 151 in Dublin
892 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mercantile Hotel
Mercantile Hotel
#115 of 151 in Dublin
403 reviews
0.1 mi away
Fitzwilliam Hotel Dublin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grafton Capital Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grafton Capital Hotel

Property: Grafton Capital Hotel
Address: Lower Stephens Street, Dublin 2, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin > South City Centre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #125 of 151 Hotels in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Grafton Capital Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grafton Capital Hotel is a traditional Georgian townhouse which offers spacious accommodation and a warm ambiance. Located in the heart of Dublin City Centre, paces away from Grafton Street, entertainment & cultural attractions; it is the perfect tourist choice. Each room in the Grafton Capital Hotel is spacious and elegantly designed. Decorated in rich traditional Georgian colours, each room provides guests with tea & coffee trays, ironing facilities, hairdryer, TV, power shower and telephone. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Southall Travel, Ebookers, Superbreak UK, Nozio Netplan srl, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Grafton Capital Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grafton Capital Dublin
Hotel Grafton Capital

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing