We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't spend your money here”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Grafton Capital Hotel
Ranked #125 of 151 Hotels in Dublin
den bosch
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Don't spend your money here”
Reviewed 12 July 2014 via mobile

This hotel had a great location. The rooms have a good size and the staf is friendly. So far for the good things. Rooms are dirty and old. The hotel needs a complete renovation. At last the rooms are very noisy. Will not come back here, no value for money.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank danieldu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,057 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    138
    359
    286
    160
    114
See reviews for
134
437
47
67
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (205)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
United States
Level Contributor
300 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 263 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2014

Okay, so it's dated, but we had no REAL issues with our stay. I was getting very worried after reading all the negative reviews, but I'll share what we experienced.

As soon as we arrived at the hotel, we asked for a room in the back to avoid any potential noise from the club in the front, but all they had were rooms in the front. Since it was a Saturday night, we were really concerned. Anyway, we had a huge corner room on the 4th floor, one side facing the street and one side overlooking the courtyard. We couldn't hear a thing at night! What a relief...so don't worry too much. The bed was large and very comfortable and the pillows were great and there were blackout curtains.

WIFI - is available and free on the 1st floor. They have a lounge there where I saw a lot of people sitting....it was nice to chat with other travelers.

Breakfast - no need to get breakfast here....go out and have fun exploring - for cheaper!

The placement of outlets were a bit strange, as you had to put the kettle on the carpet so that the cord would reach the wall --still a minor thing for us. The coffee were Nescafe packets (reg/decaf); sugar (reg/BROWN) (nice touch); liquid creamer cups; and Tetley tea bags. The coffee ----believe it or not---was STRONG and GOOD! Wow. Very nice surprise AND saved us a few euro and time going out to get coffee!
No bedside clock, so I guess use your phone to check the time. There was a TV, ironing board, and huge windows that you could open! It was terrific to get some breeze blowing through the room! Can't find that in US hotels.

BATHROOM: medium sized. Hair/body shampoo----that's right, you use it for your hair AND your soap. Its a pump bottle affixed to the wall near the shower head. There is another one affixed to the wall near the sink. There is also a shower cap and bar soap. The shower had amazing power and felt great on sore muscles, but doesn't drain that well. Also, be careful stepping down, as the tub is deep.

AROUND THE AREA: There is a SPAR - don't laugh -- just minutes from the hotel. It's 24hours, which is GREAT if you are an early riser/ night owl/ or catching a flight or train at an odd time. It's on the corner of South St. Georges St. and Dame St. and it has EVERYTHING! It has fresh beautifully packaged salads, sandwiches, and meals. Their pastries looked as good as anything I have seen in a dedicated bakery shop - butter croissant 90c ! AND there is an Insomnia branch inside. How did I not read about this before on TA? Well, we had a cappuccino and a double espresso macchiato and they were both great.

ALSO,1 minute from the hotel, you can walk up Chatham street to find an Insomnia cafe, and Butler's Chocolate Café (cronuts, anyone?? see my review), Steps of Rome, Presto Fresca, and many more places. Shopping is everywhere.

LOCATION - of this hotel is super. Close to eateries, bars, shopping on Grafton St., St. Stephan's Green mall, all kinds of things. There is even a McDonald's on Grafton that is 24hours - if you need those timings. And we felt safe everywhere - no problems. Oh, and the front desk staff are very helpful and friendly - offering maps and giving you directions and suggestions on what to see and do and where to eat.
We would stay here again!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank triptik123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
33 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2014 via mobile

The location is great and the linen was clean but that's where the positives end.

We quickly dropped off our bags, went to concert, when we returned the nightclub was in full swing directly under our window. The thud of the bass felt like the room was shaking, this went on until after 2 o clock. The man at the reception desk was unhelpful and uncaring.

There was no main light in our room, just two small side lamps. The walls are extremely thin, we could hear EVERYTHING going on in the room next to us and also in the hall.

Had a horrible night here to be truthful.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Sinead_Brid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Dublin hotels

Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2014

A friend and I spent 3 nights here last summer and it was pretty pathetic. First of all the room was pretty dirty when we arrived, there is no WiFi in the rooms (or at least when we were there in August 2013) and the staff wasn't that great either. It wasn't really their fault that it was super hot and therefore the lack of air conditioning made the room unbearably hot and then to get any relief we had to open the window and listen to all the crazy Irish people yelling all night. If you want a good location and nothing else, this is your place.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Carley A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
140 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014 via mobile

This hotels main selling point is it's excellent city centre location, it would be hard to beat it on this front.

Other than the location, the hotel itself is fine. It's not fancy, but the room we stayed in was quite big, it was clean and the shower in the bathroom was pretty good. The staff were also friendly and helpful.

There's nothing fancy about this hotel, and it could probably do with being done up...but the great, central location makes up for these slight flaws.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank James B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
45 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2014

Our one night stay was okay. Parking to unload and load our bags was inadequate, would be fine if someone actually enforced the "load and unload only" zone. The vehicles parked in that zone, remained in that zone for at least 1 hour....hardly a load and unload.
No internet in room and lobby internet very slow. Bar was closed. TV didn't work. On warm days, a recirculation fan should be standard in a room with no AC.
Staff was helpful and friendly.

Room Tip: higher up to avoid street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 2cougstoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bonney Lake, Washington
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2014 via mobile

We weren't expecting much and we weren't disappointed. 3 couples finishing up a Scotland/Ireland vacation. No internet in the rooms and the lobby wifi advertised was not working 90% of the time. No A/C, and they don't offer fans. If you ask for a fan they will bring one to your room. Shower plumbing is marginal. The front desk ladies were helpful. If you park in St. Stephen's Carpark around the corner, be sure to get your ticket validated at the hotel to get the discounted rate. Would we stay there again? Sorry, but NO.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Barryc737
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
0.0 mi away
Drury Court Hotel
Drury Court Hotel
#26 of 151 in Dublin
1,433 reviews
0.1 mi away
Travelodge Dublin City Centre, Stephens Green Hotel
0.1 mi away
Kelly's Hotel Dublin
Kelly's Hotel Dublin
#94 of 151 in Dublin
297 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Central Hotel
The Central Hotel
#92 of 151 in Dublin
882 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mercantile Hotel
Mercantile Hotel
#112 of 151 in Dublin
396 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Dawson Hotel & Spa
The Dawson Hotel & Spa
#106 of 151 in Dublin
696 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grafton Capital Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grafton Capital Hotel

Property: Grafton Capital Hotel
Address: Lower Stephens Street, Dublin 2, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin > South City Centre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #125 of 151 Hotels in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Grafton Capital Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grafton Capital Hotel is a traditional Georgian townhouse which offers spacious accommodation and a warm ambiance. Located in the heart of Dublin City Centre, paces away from Grafton Street, entertainment & cultural attractions; it is the perfect tourist choice. Each room in the Grafton Capital Hotel is spacious and elegantly designed. Decorated in rich traditional Georgian colours, each room provides guests with tea & coffee trays, ironing facilities, hairdryer, TV, power shower and telephone. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Nozio Netplan srl, Ebookers, Southall Travel, Travel Republic (UK), Superbreak UK, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HRS, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Grafton Capital Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grafton Capital Dublin
Hotel Grafton Capital

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing