We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not up to scratch”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Grafton Capital Hotel
Ranked #125 of 151 Hotels in Dublin
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Not up to scratch”
Reviewed 24 July 2014 via mobile

Nice location which is why I think this hotel does so well, other than that not much going for it. Miserable & unfriendly reception apart from a lady who was covering a break who was delightful. Rooms dated and old. Breakfast dry and not much of an offering. Generally a very run down hotel who is making off of its location.

Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
Thank wattage80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,057 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    138
    359
    286
    160
    114
See reviews for
134
437
47
67
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (205)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2014

stayed here for three nights 19-22 July with my wife,
very clean hotel good size room staff friendly free papers ,did not use facilities but enjoed stay will stay here again room 302 very nice but no view of front n

Room Tip: we had room 302 no good view nice room
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank paul w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014

We stayed for 2 nights. I will never book this hotel again, Apart from being located in the center of Dublin, so very central, rooms are dirty and old. Our room was just above the night club and it was impossible to sleep with earplugs. no comment on the service. Just very basic. All of that for 150€ per night. I call it a rip off.
Dublin is small so everything is at a walkable distance so dont book this hotel and find something a bit further but much nicer.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MRDL2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Dublin hotels

Stafford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2014

We used this hotel some 5 years back on a regular basis. Since then it has become like a poor 2 star. The room was booked non-smoking and when we rived a very ignorant receptionist advised only smoking available. To make it worse the toilet did not flush correctly, the sink plug hole would not release the water and the room was VERY smelly. We requested a pillow from reception at 11:30pm and all we got was a lot of reasons why that was inconvenient, we put the phone down and said forget it, 26 minutes later a pillow arrived. The location was good but unfortunately it was very noisy to sleep. All I can say is that this was nice place 4-7 years ago but now I would recommend ANYWHERE else as a better alternative.

Room Tip: Use another hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 July 2014

We stayed here for three nights. The first night was ok, second night was noisy with the bar noise downstairs and was not restful. The third night was the worst as the pub had live music that went to 1 am. We tried to escape it by sleeping on the bathroom floor but it was no use. When we called down we were told "sorry", the "pubs close at 3 a.m." and that there was nothing they could do except give us earplugs. We had earplugs, we piled pillows on top of our heads etc. It was awful. When we made our reservations, we also asked for somewhere in back, but guess there was none available. It is in a great location for shopping, dining etc., room was fairly clean, but we were very disappointed overall and won't return.

Room Tip: Get one in the back away from the pub.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jon s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
den bosch
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2014 via mobile

This hotel had a great location. The rooms have a good size and the staf is friendly. So far for the good things. Rooms are dirty and old. The hotel needs a complete renovation. At last the rooms are very noisy. Will not come back here, no value for money.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank danieldu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United States
Level Contributor
300 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 263 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2014

Okay, so it's dated, but we had no REAL issues with our stay. I was getting very worried after reading all the negative reviews, but I'll share what we experienced.

As soon as we arrived at the hotel, we asked for a room in the back to avoid any potential noise from the club in the front, but all they had were rooms in the front. Since it was a Saturday night, we were really concerned. Anyway, we had a huge corner room on the 4th floor, one side facing the street and one side overlooking the courtyard. We couldn't hear a thing at night! What a relief...so don't worry too much. The bed was large and very comfortable and the pillows were great and there were blackout curtains.

WIFI - is available and free on the 1st floor. They have a lounge there where I saw a lot of people sitting....it was nice to chat with other travelers.

Breakfast - no need to get breakfast here....go out and have fun exploring - for cheaper!

The placement of outlets were a bit strange, as you had to put the kettle on the carpet so that the cord would reach the wall --still a minor thing for us. The coffee were Nescafe packets (reg/decaf); sugar (reg/BROWN) (nice touch); liquid creamer cups; and Tetley tea bags. The coffee ----believe it or not---was STRONG and GOOD! Wow. Very nice surprise AND saved us a few euro and time going out to get coffee!
No bedside clock, so I guess use your phone to check the time. There was a TV, ironing board, and huge windows that you could open! It was terrific to get some breeze blowing through the room! Can't find that in US hotels.

BATHROOM: medium sized. Hair/body shampoo----that's right, you use it for your hair AND your soap. Its a pump bottle affixed to the wall near the shower head. There is another one affixed to the wall near the sink. There is also a shower cap and bar soap. The shower had amazing power and felt great on sore muscles, but doesn't drain that well. Also, be careful stepping down, as the tub is deep.

AROUND THE AREA: There is a SPAR - don't laugh -- just minutes from the hotel. It's 24hours, which is GREAT if you are an early riser/ night owl/ or catching a flight or train at an odd time. It's on the corner of South St. Georges St. and Dame St. and it has EVERYTHING! It has fresh beautifully packaged salads, sandwiches, and meals. Their pastries looked as good as anything I have seen in a dedicated bakery shop - butter croissant 90c ! AND there is an Insomnia branch inside. How did I not read about this before on TA? Well, we had a cappuccino and a double espresso macchiato and they were both great.

ALSO,1 minute from the hotel, you can walk up Chatham street to find an Insomnia cafe, and Butler's Chocolate Café (cronuts, anyone?? see my review), Steps of Rome, Presto Fresca, and many more places. Shopping is everywhere.

LOCATION - of this hotel is super. Close to eateries, bars, shopping on Grafton St., St. Stephan's Green mall, all kinds of things. There is even a McDonald's on Grafton that is 24hours - if you need those timings. And we felt safe everywhere - no problems. Oh, and the front desk staff are very helpful and friendly - offering maps and giving you directions and suggestions on what to see and do and where to eat.
We would stay here again!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank triptik123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
0.0 mi away
Drury Court Hotel
Drury Court Hotel
#26 of 151 in Dublin
1,433 reviews
0.1 mi away
Travelodge Dublin City Centre, Stephens Green Hotel
0.1 mi away
Kelly's Hotel Dublin
Kelly's Hotel Dublin
#94 of 151 in Dublin
297 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Central Hotel
The Central Hotel
#92 of 151 in Dublin
882 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mercantile Hotel
Mercantile Hotel
#112 of 151 in Dublin
396 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Dawson Hotel & Spa
The Dawson Hotel & Spa
#106 of 151 in Dublin
695 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grafton Capital Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grafton Capital Hotel

Property: Grafton Capital Hotel
Address: Lower Stephens Street, Dublin 2, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin > South City Centre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #125 of 151 Hotels in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Grafton Capital Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grafton Capital Hotel is a traditional Georgian townhouse which offers spacious accommodation and a warm ambiance. Located in the heart of Dublin City Centre, paces away from Grafton Street, entertainment & cultural attractions; it is the perfect tourist choice. Each room in the Grafton Capital Hotel is spacious and elegantly designed. Decorated in rich traditional Georgian colours, each room provides guests with tea & coffee trays, ironing facilities, hairdryer, TV, power shower and telephone. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Southall Travel, Travel Republic (UK), Superbreak UK, Nozio Netplan srl, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HRS, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Grafton Capital Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grafton Capital Dublin
Hotel Grafton Capital

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing