We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“super!”
Review of Marian Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Marian Guest House
Ranked #48 of 149 Dublin B&B and Inns
bucharest
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“super!”
Reviewed 11 August 2014

A real "home away from home"! Catherine, the owner, ia a real Mother Hen. We felt welcome and taken care of. Brendan's (her husband) touch was very appreciated in the traditional irish breakfast. The room was clean and quiet. Great location from the city center. I would advise day trip tours with Paddywagon which is down the street on Lower Gardiner. DART station is also very close, nor to mention Bus Eirean and Luas. Catherine and Éirinn go Brách!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BucharestElena_64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

235 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    71
    89
    46
    16
    13
See reviews for
15
122
36
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tamworth, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2014

Considering this hotel was only 45 Euro a night and is near the centre of Dublin it is very good value. The host is great and breakfast was excellent. Whilst the room and external bathroom were clean there were a couple of minor irritations (1) there is a considerable slope in the floor of the room (2) the windows are only single glazed so you can hear the traffic noise if on the front of the building. Wifi was also very slow.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tamworth1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2014 via mobile

The hotel was avarage level hotel. Room was big and beds comfortable. There was "food smell" outside the room (lobby). The owner was really nice lady! The breakfast was irish: vegetables would be nice.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sanna P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
1 review
Reviewed 21 May 2014

The owner is friendly and extremely helpful. Rooms are clean and comfortable. The traditional Irish breakfast is really good and plentiful, you will not leave hungry. Highly recommend this place to stay. Walking distance to sightseeing and shopping. Great location!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tanya S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2014

Upon arrival we were greeted by Cathrine who was very friendly and welcoming from the start. Cathrine was very helpful and provided us with a map and good information on local attractions and services, as well as ensuring that we could find our way back to the guesthouse(using the map).
The double room (#3) was adequately sized, clean and comfortable with a small but functional toilet and shower room. Each day we were asked if we needed/wanted anything for our room and Cathrine took time out to chat to us about our day.
Breakfast provided was served between 8.30 and 9.30 each morning with several choices, our favourite being the full irish(accompanied with toast, tea/coffee and juice). Great meal to last you until dinner (didn't really need lunch) There is also a communal tea/coffe making facilities (as well as a fridge) provided.
The guesthouse is in a convenient location, O'connel street is only a 10minute walk away with local shops in between if you need to pick anything up. There is also a bus stop 2minutes from the front door which is cheap and reccommended by Cathrine to get you to and from the airport (#41)!
We also purchased our hop on-hop off bus ticket from Cathrine herself which was extremely helpful! :)
Overall the room(including breakfast) is reasonably priced and you are getting what you pay for. Great place for price and location. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lexie887
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barnstaple, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
217 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2013

I stayed in this guest house in September 2013.

Good points: Really friendly owners. Great location with a short walk to the centre of the city or use the bus stop just up the road. Easy access to/from the airport using either the AirLink or public bus network.

Bad points: If I was to be really picky I would say the 8.30-9.30 time for breakfast was too short a time slot but didn't cause me a problem during my trip.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mezzarino1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eustis, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 September 2013

We arrived the first of September to a warm welcoming smile, The room was clean and the facilities were close and clean too. Just a ten minute hike from the center of O' Connell St, the bus and train station makes this the perfect spot to stay. If you are in town for the wildly popular matches, Croak Park is a five minute walk from the house. Bring an appetite to Catherine and Brendan's FULL Irish breakfast, you will need a hike afterwards. The bus to the airport is just up the block. We would definitely recommend this B&B to other travelers and look forward to staying here ourselves in the future.

Catherine & Mike

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CatherineByrne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
1.4 mi away
Tipperary House
Tipperary House
#12 of 149 in Dublin
297 reviews
0.8 mi away
Egans House
Egans House
#23 of 149 in Dublin
451 reviews
1.6 mi away
Baggot Court Townhouse
Baggot Court Townhouse
#25 of 149 in Dublin
326 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Parkway Guesthouse
Parkway Guesthouse
#18 of 149 in Dublin
337 reviews
2.6 mi away
Donnybrook Hall Hotel
Donnybrook Hall Hotel
#4 of 149 in Dublin
448 reviews
2.5 mi away
Glenogra Guest House
Glenogra Guest House
#40 of 149 in Dublin
148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marian Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marian Guest House

Property: Marian Guest House
Address: 21 Upper Gardiner St., Dublin 1, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #48 of 149 B&Bs / Inns in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:1 star — Marian Guest House 1*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Marian Guest House - Dublin, Ireland is owned and run by the McElroy family. It is just off Mountjoy Square and 400 metres from Dublin city centre and all principal shopping areas, cinemas, theatres, museums. Well appointed bedrooms most of which are en-suite. Tea and coffee making facilities available and use of private car park. We are situated in Dublin City Centre. We Have been Catering for Guests the last 20 years, & Renowned Worldwide, as you can see from the Testimonial Page. Marian Guest House is only 10 minutes walk from the main street of Dublin, O'Connell Street. Only 5 minute walk to Croke Park, and bus/car journey of 25 minutes to Dublin Airport. The Bus stops outside our door to various parts of Dublin City. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Marian Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marian Guest House Hotel Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing