We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A pleasant change from generic hotel decor, central”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Dawson Hotel & Spa
Ranked #105 of 151 Hotels in Dublin
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“A pleasant change from generic hotel decor, central”
Reviewed 11 June 2011

Room was split level ,clean,some bits looked a bit tatty, quiet, central & comfortable, I would stay again.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wee_Minx33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

690 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    170
    211
    146
    82
    81
See reviews for
47
343
31
102
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (131)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Lafayette Hill, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2011

Great location, all the significant sites in Dublin are easily walkable from here. Right in the heart of Dublin, endless amounts of restaurants, bars, and shops all around. The hotel accomodations are clean and comfortable.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pdgreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
129 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2011

We booked this hotel to visit Dublin for our anniversary. What a great choice we made :) The hotel was lovely, very modern and great decor. The service was good at reception, very professional. The room was lovely, clean with a nice comfy bed. We were warned about noise at the weekend due to the DJ etc which goes on on a Friday and Saturday but we slept fine. Breakfast was good too! The noise is minimal and I slept very well. I would definately stop here again and next time I will eat in the retaurants at the hotel as we had a bit of a disaster meal at an indonesian restaurant at Temple Bar. Overall I would recommend this hotel. If you want night life and a nice place to stay you have it ALL at the hotel! :)

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank TravelBear87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
168 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2011

We spent three nights here in the "Artemis" suite, a spacious room facing Dawson Street. the decor is a bit theatrical and a bit shabby chic. The carpeting in the hall and in the room was a bit soiled. Service was very good and friendly (young people from other EU countries such as Hungary and the Czech republic). Breakfast was average in quality.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank abcpoet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2011

Great position and very reasonable rates. However the hotel is in dire need of a lick of paint and a bit of upgrading here and there. Unfortunately have stayed in other small luxury hotels of the world and this does not come close.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Murrali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2011

Stayed at this hotel in May 2011, took my boyfrient here as a surprise it was great!

Jumped on the airbus from the airport which dropped us off at Trinity College (Grafton Street), from there its an easy 5 minute walk.

Arrived, smoothly checked in and were allocated a nice room on the third floor. The room was lovely, nicely decorated, clean and a good size. The bed was comfortable and the shower was amazing - one of the most powerful showers I've ever been in!!

The location was perfect, withing walking distance to everything - short walk to Trinity College and Dawson Street itself it lovely. A few nice resteraunts and chic bars litererally seconds away. Not to mention the bar in the hotel itself, very nice indeed.

The shuttle bus pick up point to go back to the airport is literally right outside the hotel, not to mention there are taxi's everywhere! Overall, a great stay and a top hotel for a weekend away.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank HolidayTimeReview
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Long Island
Level Contributor
35 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2011

My husband and I stayed at La Stampa for 3 nights in March 2011. Granted this hotel has some issues which should be addressed (will get to those later) but for us, the positives far outweigh the negatives. First, the hotel is in a superior location. It is a stone’s throw from Trinity College, St. Stephen’s Green, the National Archaeology Museum, National Library, the Irish Parliament and directly across the street from the Lord Mayor’s Residence. Nearby is Grafton St. which is the main shopping district, Temple Bar area and a wide variety of restaurants. If you are taking the Aircoach to the airport, the pick-up point is steps from the hotel. (Note: From the airport into Dublin, the bus drops you off a few blocks from La Stampa but still only a short walk.) Literally, everything is right at your doorstep. The staff couldn’t have been nicer. We arrived at the hotel about 7 AM and even though check-in is not till mid-afternoon, they were able to have our room ready by 11 AM. When we had trouble with the internet access, they offered us use of one of their laptops. The room we had was a very good size and the bathroom was large and clean. For a city hotel, the price was quite fair. Now the areas that need attention. It seems a little tired and rundown in places but I think that with a fresh coat of paint and new carpeting this hotel would be just about perfect. If you are looking for the Ritz, this is not the place for you but if you don’t require a super fancy hotel and are more interested in value and location and service, I don’t think you can do much better than La Stampa.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank MWWT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
Buswells Hotel
#23 of 151 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,420 reviews
Brooks Hotel
#9 of 151 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,242 reviews
South City Centre
Fitzwilliam Hotel Dublin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Drury Court Hotel
#25 of 151 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,410 reviews
The Morgan
#36 of 151 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,689 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Dawson Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Dawson Hotel & Spa

Property: The Dawson Hotel & Spa
Address: 35 Dawson Street, Dublin 2, Ireland (Formerly La Stampa Hotel)
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Dublin
#47 Luxury Hotel in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Dawson Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Dawson Hotel and award winning Dawson Spa are ideally located on Dawson Street in the heart of Dublin's city centre, with Trinity College at one end of the street and St. Stephen's Green at the other. Dublin's main shopping district, Grafton Street, is a short stroll around the corner from the hotel. Temple Bar is only 10 minutes’ walk away, while Dublin Castle and the Olympia Theatre are a 15 minute walk. With an elegant decor, each room includes a private bathroom with toiletries. All rooms contain an LCD TV with cable TV channels, complimentary water and free Wi-Fi access. The Dawson Spa, located to the rear of the building, features “Voya” organic seaweed beauty products made in Ireland. Also onsite, the adjoining Sam's Bar offers a glamorous vibe, fresh cocktails and music from international DJs, with a Victorian garden terrace overlooking Dublin's Mansion House. While we do not have parking onsite, we have an agreement with Setanta Q-Park, located on Molesworth Street, where our guests can benefit from discounted parking with up to 50% off per 24 hour period. Should you wish to exercise or use saunas, we also offer our guests complementary day passes to Energie Fitness Gym & Swimming Pool on Clarendon Street. Please note, the Hotel is not recommended for those with mobility issues, in particular those who require wheelchair access. In addition, the hotel does not have any adapted wheelchair accessible rooms. Please be aware that rooms listed as Vibrant Weekend rooms are those located directly above Sam’s Bar, and music will be heard until around 02:30 on a Thursday, and 03.30 on Fridays and Saturdays. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HRS so you can book your The Dawson Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Stampa Hotel Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing