We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A superb city centre get away”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Dawson Hotel & Spa
Ranked #103 of 151 Hotels in Dublin
Ennis, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A superb city centre get away”
Reviewed 7 July 2011

Just back from a fantastic weekend spent at La Stampa Hotel in Dublin. The staff at the hotel were very helpful and welcoming on arrival. The room was tastefully decorated and spacious for a boutique hotel. The bed was very comfortable and dressed eastern style echoing the theme of the hotel. We had our evening meal in the Dining Room by Conrad Gallagher. The dining room was very impressive having been recently refurbished. We choose the set menu which was fantastic value. The meal was superb and there was a great choice on offer. The service was top class and very efficient. The location of the hotel is ideal for shopping and night life. The hotel has one of the biggest bars in Dublin which is styled beautifully. The staff and management were extremely courteous and friendly. Overall we had one of best weekends in Dublin staying here and look forward to a return visit soon.

Room Tip: Book online and early for the best rates
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Murph8080
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

711 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    175
    219
    150
    83
    84
See reviews for
50
355
33
105
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (139)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
UK
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2011

Stayed in La Stampa for our wedding anniversay, Fri & Sat night. An amazing location which allowed us to step outside our front door and instantly soak up the atmosphere of Dublin. The hotel has the added bonus of having an amazing spa upstairs where we enjoyed a couples treatment. I only had a peek of the restaurant as I always like to go somewhere different, but that was my only regret as the dining room looked amazing....maybe next time

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank scubajnr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anonymous
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2011

The La Stampa was a beautiful and pleasant hotel. Very convenient to the City Centre with lots of shopping and dining nearby. The staff are extremely helpful and friendly. I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Anonymous40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2011

Incredible location, great room amenities, helpful (but somewhat aloof) staff, very quiet, wonderful and large bathroom, thoughtful evening turn-down service, lots of charm without sacrificing luxury feel. In short, I am traveling to DUB with some frequency now and this will be my always-stay in Dublin.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cariocaken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hertfordshire
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2011

La Stampa Hotel is in a great, central location - 2 mins from Grafton Street,and St. Stephen's Green and 5 mins walk to Trinity College. Our room was on the third floor at the back and was clean, lovely oriental decor and no traffic noise. The staff were welcoming and as we arrived on an early flight and left on a late one, stored our luggage for us. Didn't have breakfast as only 5 min walk to Bewley's on Grafton Street which does a great breakfast and very good coffee. Did have cocktails in the fab SamSara bar though (25 Euros for a very large jug of Cosmopolitan which was great value between the 5 of us). Would definitely stay here again as good value, friendly staff and good location.

Room Tip: Quieter at back of Hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WGSilver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2011

Room was split level ,clean,some bits looked a bit tatty, quiet, central & comfortable, I would stay again.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wee_Minx33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lafayette Hill, Pennsylvania
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2011

Great location, all the significant sites in Dublin are easily walkable from here. Right in the heart of Dublin, endless amounts of restaurants, bars, and shops all around. The hotel accomodations are clean and comfortable.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pdgreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
0.1 mi away
Buswells Hotel
Buswells Hotel
#23 of 151 in Dublin
1,487 reviews
0.2 mi away
Brooks Hotel
Brooks Hotel
#9 of 151 in Dublin
2,321 reviews
0.3 mi away
O'Callaghan Stephen's Green Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Fitzwilliam Hotel Dublin
0.3 mi away
Drury Court Hotel
Drury Court Hotel
#24 of 151 in Dublin
1,479 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Morgan
The Morgan
#35 of 151 in Dublin
2,822 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Dawson Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Dawson Hotel & Spa

Property: The Dawson Hotel & Spa
Address: 35 Dawson Street, Dublin 2, Ireland (Formerly La Stampa Hotel)
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Dublin
#49 Luxury Hotel in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Dawson Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Dawson Hotel and award winning Dawson Spa are ideally located on Dawson Street in the heart of Dublin's city centre, with Trinity College at one end of the street and St. Stephen's Green at the other. Dublin's main shopping district, Grafton Street, is a short stroll around the corner from the hotel. Temple Bar is only 10 minutes’ walk away, while Dublin Castle and the Olympia Theatre are a 15 minute walk. With an elegant decor, each room includes a private bathroom with toiletries. All rooms contain an LCD TV with cable TV channels, complimentary water and free Wi-Fi access. The Dawson Spa, located to the rear of the building, features “Voya” organic seaweed beauty products made in Ireland. Also onsite, the adjoining Sam's Bar offers a glamorous vibe, fresh cocktails and music from international DJs, with a Victorian garden terrace overlooking Dublin's Mansion House. While we do not have parking onsite, we have an agreement with Setanta Q-Park, located on Molesworth Street, where our guests can benefit from discounted parking with up to 50% off per 24 hour period. Should you wish to exercise or use saunas, we also offer our guests complementary day passes to Energie Fitness Gym & Swimming Pool on Clarendon Street. Please note, the Hotel is not recommended for those with mobility issues, in particular those who require wheelchair access. In addition, the hotel does not have any adapted wheelchair accessible rooms. Please be aware that rooms listed as Vibrant Weekend rooms are those located directly above Sam’s Bar, and music will be heard until around 02:30 on a Thursday, and 03.30 on Fridays and Saturdays. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Dawson Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Stampa Hotel Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing