We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Samsara is a fabulous bar”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Dawson Hotel & Spa
Ranked #105 of 151 Hotels in Dublin
Quinta do Lago, Portugal
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Samsara is a fabulous bar”
Reviewed 9 December 2011

This hotel is built around the bar.
To go to the rooms using the lift you have to pass trough the bar.
But what a fabulous bar.Great ambience.Great barwomen.
The best bar in Dublin.The place to see and to be seen.
The rooms,and we stayed in a suite,are a little bit tired.But ok.
Very well located is a place to stay if you go to Dublin.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marado12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

702 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    173
    216
    148
    82
    83
See reviews for
47
351
32
105
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (136)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 December 2011

We stayed overnight on a weekend trip to Dublin city. The team at the reservations desk, are very efficient and we had a porter who carried all of our luggage to the 3rd floor ( 6 ladies on a night out carry a lot of bags!! ). There is lift service to all floors.
The rooms we chose were twin rooms and they are smartly furnished almost in an oriental luxury style. Fantastic bathroom with antique style brass taps, heated towel rails, huge bath, shower and marble sink with great lighting.
The dinning room is beautiful georgian opulence with floor to ceiling mirrors, fabulous floral arrangements and the chandeliers are dazzling with the ornate glass stained ceiling. Major wow factor.
The menu is extensive, it is not cheap, but when in an establishment like this, you are going to pay for not just the food, but for the experience. Between 5 ladies, we all had starters, main courses and dessert, fab cheese board and 3 bottles of wine. Bill was 448 euros, excluding tip. The service was slow, but the staff compensated that with a complimentary bottle of wine.
For those who want to dance the night away there is a very chique club downstairs with a huge selection of cocktails spirits beer wine etc and full waiter service too.
The next day, you can relax and indulge in the spa area to ease the aching limbs from dancing!
Breakfast is a full buffet and was included in the price of 85euro each for the overnight stay. There is a full menu of hot foods to choose from at breakfast. Service here very good too.
Despite the fact we were checking out at noon and stayed in the city shopping till 8pm, the reception staff, took all of our luggage and bags and very kindly safe guarded them behind the desk until we wanted to depart.
We enjoyed a couple of delicious glasses of sauvignon at the funky, trendy bar with superb lighting, which ended our great time on a very happy note.
Location wise, this hotel is excellent. It is in the epicentre of Dublin city. Just seconds from Stephens Green, The Shelbourne hotel and Grafton street, Powerscourt Shopping Centre.
This is the BEST side of the city and the most luxurious side of the city for style and for comfort, for shopping and for the large selection of fantastic restaurants and uber trendy coffee houses.

Not to be missed !

Room Tip: Ask for a room that faces out onto Dawson Street and one that is higher up, to lessen the street noi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ailinbranagan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roscommon, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 December 2011

We stayed at this hotel on the 19th of November and found it very bad from once we entered the hotel from once we left..Thankfully it was only one nights stay.
Its very old fashioned and dreary looking,long corridors with dirty carpets. you have to walk through a bar to get to your room,very noisy at night time. our room was very average, the next morning we went down stairs through the bar which the floor was very sticky, we entered the breakfast room where we waited to be seated and noticed a fly at first buzzing around the place,we did not pass much heed to this at first but as we continued to eat our breakfast it became more obvious that there was loads of flies flying around our table and other tables also, this was stomach turning and very off putting which we quickly left the dining room and mentioned this to the receptionist who replied that there was very little they could do.We won't be returning to this hotel on our next visit to Dublin.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank niamh79-84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Dublin hotels

London
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 November 2011

Botique hotels only work if they are finished exquisitely. This one is shabby, scuffed, knocked about a bit and not that clean

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LondonDylan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southwest U.S.
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 November 2011

I liked La Stampa very much. We had two nice sized rooms facing the back which was completely quiet. The bathrooms were not small and were very clean. The hotel is comfortable with a bit of that shabby chic feel to it, which I happen to like, but if you are looking for a perfect modern environment, this is not it. Yet it is modern in every way and yet relaxed. The front desk is excellent; very helpful and friendly. I loved the location. Everything you would want is easily within walking distance. Coffee shops, Grafton street, Stephen's Green, Buses, etc. Next time in Dublin I wouldn't hesitate to stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room facing the back. I hear that the weekends are quite noisy even in the hotel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank peacefultravelfortwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Galway, Ireland
1 review
Reviewed 29 November 2011

We stayed in the junior suite and both of us were blown away by how amazing the room was, fab and roomy! amazing hotel.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank c j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 November 2011

This is a restaurant-only review as we live in Dublin and have no need of the hotel accommodation.
Let me just say the food here is of exceptional quality, we have dined here on a few occasions and it pleases the palates of both young and old including our 11 yr old son who cannot recommend the Daube de Bouef highly enough. Nor can we. First class!

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JeanEithne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
0.1 mi away
Buswells Hotel
Buswells Hotel
#22 of 151 in Dublin
1,474 reviews
0.2 mi away
Brooks Hotel
Brooks Hotel
#9 of 151 in Dublin
2,288 reviews
0.1 mi away
Fitzwilliam Hotel Dublin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
O'Callaghan Stephen's Green Hotel
0.3 mi away
Drury Court Hotel
Drury Court Hotel
#24 of 151 in Dublin
1,460 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Morgan
The Morgan
#35 of 151 in Dublin
2,784 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Dawson Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Dawson Hotel & Spa

Property: The Dawson Hotel & Spa
Address: 35 Dawson Street, Dublin 2, Ireland (Formerly La Stampa Hotel)
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Dublin
#49 Luxury Hotel in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Dawson Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Dawson Hotel and award winning Dawson Spa are ideally located on Dawson Street in the heart of Dublin's city centre, with Trinity College at one end of the street and St. Stephen's Green at the other. Dublin's main shopping district, Grafton Street, is a short stroll around the corner from the hotel. Temple Bar is only 10 minutes’ walk away, while Dublin Castle and the Olympia Theatre are a 15 minute walk. With an elegant decor, each room includes a private bathroom with toiletries. All rooms contain an LCD TV with cable TV channels, complimentary water and free Wi-Fi access. The Dawson Spa, located to the rear of the building, features “Voya” organic seaweed beauty products made in Ireland. Also onsite, the adjoining Sam's Bar offers a glamorous vibe, fresh cocktails and music from international DJs, with a Victorian garden terrace overlooking Dublin's Mansion House. While we do not have parking onsite, we have an agreement with Setanta Q-Park, located on Molesworth Street, where our guests can benefit from discounted parking with up to 50% off per 24 hour period. Should you wish to exercise or use saunas, we also offer our guests complementary day passes to Energie Fitness Gym & Swimming Pool on Clarendon Street. Please note, the Hotel is not recommended for those with mobility issues, in particular those who require wheelchair access. In addition, the hotel does not have any adapted wheelchair accessible rooms. Please be aware that rooms listed as Vibrant Weekend rooms are those located directly above Sam’s Bar, and music will be heard until around 02:30 on a Thursday, and 03.30 on Fridays and Saturdays. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Dawson Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Stampa Hotel Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing