We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A well earned break ruined by rude service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Dawson Hotel & Spa
Ranked #109 of 153 Hotels in Dublin
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“A well earned break ruined by rude service”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 January 2012

We arrived looking forward to a much needed break in Dublin city centre. On arrival staff were sullen and unfriendly. They also wouldn't accept a company credit card. Instead of being shown to the elevator we were walked up the stairs to the fourth floor( the elevator was working). There were also maintenance men working on the stairwell which we had to navigate around.
When we returned to the hotel after a lovely evening at the theatre the bar was open but empty. I asked for a cocktail from the list on the bar but the bartender refused. So we took a glass of wine to our room.
At 5 a.m the fire alarm went off, I had to ring reception to find out what was happening. I was told to all was fine, not really considering we were on the top floor. We left the next day. I would never stay there again. It really did ruin what was supposed to be a night off from the kids, work,life.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ciaraoconnell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

680 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    166
    208
    144
    82
    80
See reviews for
47
338
31
97
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (129)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
61 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 January 2012

It was a good hotel, but I found the furnishings a bit dated. Also we passed a patch of damp in the hallway on the way to the room and there was no view from the room. Also the staff were a little surly. The bar was gorgeous though and the restaurant, well that was spectacular - eat there if you get the chance. The club downstairs was also good - nearby, not too packed and with music you want to dance to, while not making your ears bleed.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank happylondoncamper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ireland
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2012

We stayed in La Stampa with friends. We had different room types so we got to see a fair share of the hotel.
Firstly the reception area is tiny, with a rather curt receptionist. But that isnt really an issue. I didnt go to sit in the reception !!
So to get to the rooms we were taken on a magical mystery tour though the hotel and the next door Sam Sara bar/pub/wine bar. Sam Sara is beautiful. But I would have preferred to not be exhausted by the time I got to my room. this is teh only way to the rooms !!
So we were led along corridor after corridor. Grubby corridors. Paint peeling, damp patches, mattress lying around and heavily scuffed walls.
I was SHOCKED and so disappointed even before I got to the room.
Anyway room was ok, dull with a view of a brick wall. Our friends room, which was in fact a suite was nicer, very nice in fact but we were all let down by the "getting" to the room.
So, good points. The location !! Couldnt be better. But for the price, this hotel should spend a couple of euros and paint the place !!! Also a smile at reception wouldnt go amiss !!!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dawnriser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Dublin hotels

Dublin, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2012

We had 10 rooms booked early December on a Friday night...... everyone was in good form but when we checked in some people got really goods rooms with others on the shabby side but worst of all was 2 rooms had not been cleaned or made up and there was dirty dishes on the bed, hair etc. all over the bathroom...... really disappointing. The bar was good but very busy and understaffed so to get a drink we had to leave and go to another bar close by.... Breakfast was good but the room was in need of a major overhaul. Won't be rushing back!!!

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DisappointedVisitor1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2012

I stayed here for one night at the beginning of December. We were having a work night in town and I decided to treat myself to a nice night in La Stampa Hotel - I had heard great things about it and read good reviews. From the moment I arrived, the girls at reception seemed a little distracted - I got checked in fairly quickly and a very nice man came to help me with my bags, as its quite a long walk through the Samsara Bar to the lift. After coming out of the lift, it was a bit of a maze to the room - but eventually found it. It was OK. Views were dreadful - first of a wall and the second of another wall, and as I looked around the room, I found it to be lacking anything luxury about it. I saw cracks in the bedroom, and I as I walked out to the shops to grab a newspaper, I noticed that the walls in the halls were also very grubby and cracked. When I came back to the room, I decided to order room service, but found no menu in the room. I called down to reception and about 15 minutes later a staff member arrived at my door, and told me very curtly to quickly look at the menu and decide there and then while he was standing there. I quickly decided on a Club Sandwich. It arrived a while later - Cold, and tasteless. Very unappealing. I didn't avail of the breakfast the following morning, so can't comment on this. I think for the price I paid, there are far nicer hotels around that part of Dublin City, and I would definitely not recommend this hotel to a friend.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank goldenlane100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 December 2011

This is the second time I've stayed at this hotel and definitely won't be the last time. Well appointed rooms and facilities and the staff were all very friendly.
Thank you for your hospitality.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sim017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Éire
Level Contributor
37 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 December 2011

Booking: I booked their spa + room offer. I emailed well in advance and recieved excellent support on the various pricing and booking options. I had to follow up with a phone call for credit card details, but forgot, but they were helpful and email / called to follow up.

Location: This hotel is bang in the centre of Dublin, two minute walk from Grafton St, Stephens green, the park, and lots of restaurants and cafes. We're Dublin natives, but it would be convenient for anyone who wants to be in the city.

Customer Service: Our check in was hampered a little bit by multiple people checking in and the main check in person being away temporarily, but, the quality of the service was excellent and we were barely delayed.

The Room: we booked a junior suite, which was really quite nice. I've uploaded some photos as well. I guess I booked the suite because it was a special occasion and we were celebrating, and certainly it is not your average hotel room. However, size of the room aside, I think you're really paying for the view and the room decoration. It was quite nice, and individual, and of a very high standard but there was something missing. Something around room layout, I think. But, it was certainly somewhat bespoke, so definitely worth it.

Access and noise: We were on the third or fourth floor, and we took the stairs. I believe there is a lift in the back, but its not really used for getting to rooms, so anyone with limited mobility should consider this. Additonally, if you get a room facing the street, be prepared for some street noise - this kept my partner up at night. We stayed the weekend before Xmas so there were significantly more people socialising than there would usually be in this location.

Breakfast: This is where you really see the boutique part of the hotel. The main dining room is exquisitely decorated and incredibly beautiful. The food was amazing and had a great menu. The service left a lot to be desired (slow to seat us, slow to take our order, slow to bring some elements like tea and coffee), but, because of the venue (and the fact that we werent on business and didnt REALLY mind the delay) its still totally worthwhile booking.

Hotel: it is under some reconstruction around the stairs and some rooms. Obviously this isnt very visually appealing, but we didnt mind. I do think though that it's something they should advise you of before you book.

Spa treatment: An above average spa, great treatment, hour long massage was really amazing. Would recommend.

Overall: Lovely hotel, great location, good service, great deal. Be prepared to take the stairs, the potential for street noise, and know that there are some renovations happening.

Room Tip: For the view, if you go mid-week (quieter), ask for street view. If you're going at a weekend...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SaoireSaoirse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
Buswells Hotel
#24 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,397 reviews
Brooks Hotel
#10 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,220 reviews
South City Centre
Fitzwilliam Hotel Dublin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Drury Court Hotel
#25 of 153 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,383 reviews
The Morgan
#35 of 153 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,658 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Dawson Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Dawson Hotel & Spa

Property: The Dawson Hotel & Spa
Address: 35 Dawson Street, Dublin 2, Ireland (Formerly La Stampa Hotel)
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Dublin
#49 Luxury Hotel in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Dawson Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Dawson Hotel and award winning Dawson Spa are ideally located on Dawson Street in the heart of Dublin's city centre, with Trinity College at one end of the street and St. Stephen's Green at the other. Dublin's main shopping district, Grafton Street, is a short stroll around the corner from the hotel. Temple Bar is only 10 minutes’ walk away, while Dublin Castle and the Olympia Theatre are a 15 minute walk. With an elegant decor, each room includes a private bathroom with toiletries. All rooms contain an LCD TV with cable TV channels, complimentary water and free Wi-Fi access. The Dawson Spa, located to the rear of the building, features “Voya” organic seaweed beauty products made in Ireland. Also onsite, the adjoining Sam's Bar offers a glamorous vibe, fresh cocktails and music from international DJs, with a Victorian garden terrace overlooking Dublin's Mansion House. While we do not have parking onsite, we have an agreement with Setanta Q-Park, located on Molesworth Street, where our guests can benefit from discounted parking with up to 50% off per 24 hour period. Should you wish to exercise or use saunas, we also offer our guests complementary day passes to Energie Fitness Gym & Swimming Pool on Clarendon Street. Please note, the Hotel is not recommended for those with mobility issues, in particular those who require wheelchair access. In addition, the hotel does not have any adapted wheelchair accessible rooms. Please be aware that rooms listed as Vibrant Weekend rooms are those located directly above Sam’s Bar, and music will be heard until around 02:30 on a Thursday, and 03.30 on Fridays and Saturdays. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Dawson Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Stampa Hotel Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing