We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The Dining Room should be listed as a top restaurant” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Dawson Hotel & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Dawson Hotel & Spa
Ranked #111 of 153 Hotels in Dublin
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
97 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“The Dining Room should be listed as a top restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2012

"The Dining Room" at La Stampa offers a good selection on their Tabel dHotel Menu which should delight all looking for differing tastes ar a realistic Menu price. Even better value if you have taken advantage of a Special Offer.
I was very plesantly surprised that even on a busy Saturday night the service was fast, very friendly and from the Artichoke and Parsnip soup that delighted my wifes taste buds to the mackeral starter that pleased mine right through to the thoughtful complimentary glass of Prosecco offered after our desserts as it was an anniversary we had an exceptionally pleasant evening. We must say the room and its roof are something else and with the staff and food work their magic well

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TwoBigOneGrowing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

667 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    162
    205
    140
    81
    79
See reviews for
46
331
31
94
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (126)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Enniskillen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
126 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2012

No complaints really - but ongoing refurbishment well overdue.
Fantastic location and good deal on the internet - but not as special as I thought it would be.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FermanaghKeys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
yorkshire
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2012

Recently returned from a two night stay at La Stampa. Overall a very pleasant experience. Booking and check in ran smoothly along with communication leading up to our stay. We did not dine in the restaurant so cannot comment on that but we did enjoy some drinks in the bar which had a nice atmosphere and offers on cocktails which suited us fine! Room was clean, comfortable and well
furnished however not having tea and coffee making facilities was disappointing. Location is great, handy for everything, would definately recommend and hopefully return to this lovely hotel.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TnQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2012

I recently stayed in a junior suite at La Stampa on a business trip.
As check-out isn’t until noon, rooms aren’t available until 3pm – a little later than other hotels but this is understandable, so I used the adjoining bar to conduct some business meetings.
We ended up having lunch from the bar menu which had a good selection of dishes ranging from ‘lite bites’ and sandwiches, to more substantial meals.
I opted for a club sandwich which was very tasty and unlike any I have had before. I chose Guiness bread -which was rather unusual too.
Wi-Fi access is complementary but a little temperamental as it drops out occasionally. Strangely, I could not get my mobile phone to connect to this service.
The suite was furnished to a high level and included a well-stocked mini bar. The bathroom featured a free-standing Victorian bath and complimentary Moulton Brown toiletries. The only criticism I would have of the room was that it was a little dark – even with the lights on. I was using Skype on my laptop and the person I was video calling could not see my picture well because of the low-light.
I had dinner in the hotel’s restaurant which had a broad range of meals as well as a good selection wines. I was impressed that a three course meal with a bottle of Malbec came to €50 per head.
Breakfast was good, with a choice of cooked meals or a continental buffet.
I would highly recommend La Stampa, and would definitely stay there again as the staff can’t do enough for you, and the quality of the rooms. It made a pleasant change from staying at hotels near Temple Bar.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ferdinand_de_Bargos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, England
Level Contributor
250 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2012

In Dublin for one night. Stayed here because it looked a bit unusual and was available for a sharp price online.
Very nice room. I was at the rar and did not notice any noise.
Friendly helpful staff, good breakfast in a peaceful dining room.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WanderingAcademic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 February 2012

I stayed recently in La Stampa. I picked it firstly as I got a good deal for a room only, and secondly as the location is just perfect. Just off Grafton Street in the heart of Dublin City. They have a parking deal with the Setanta Car Park across the road of €12.50 for 24hrs which in Dublin is pretty good value. Overall the room was perfect, staff very helpful. Complimentary newspaper the next morning and help with my luggage. I would have no hesitation in recommending La Stampa as a base for exploring the city or for a shopping break...Its not too far to drop off the shopping bags.....

Room Tip: If you have a car use the Setanta Car Park. Show them your bill when paying for parking. Rate of €12...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank butterfly12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rathgar, Dublin
Level Contributor
32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2012

Don't know about the hotel, but the resteraunt is really special. Was there with my husband Dave for a meal on a voucher. The food was excellent, as was the house wine. We only had to leave a tip as everything was included in this particular voucher. The restaurant is straight out of Paris and really beautiful with lovely mirrors.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tillydog7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
Brooks Hotel
#11 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,191 reviews
Buswells Hotel
#23 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,374 reviews
South City Centre
Fitzwilliam Hotel Dublin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Drury Court Hotel
#24 of 153 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,356 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Dawson Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Dawson Hotel & Spa

Property: The Dawson Hotel & Spa
Address: 35 Dawson Street, Dublin 2, Ireland (Formerly La Stampa Hotel)
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Dublin
#49 Luxury Hotel in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Dawson Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Dawson Hotel and award winning Dawson Spa are ideally located on Dawson Street in the heart of Dublin's city centre, with Trinity College at one end of the street and St. Stephen's Green at the other. Dublin's main shopping district, Grafton Street, is a short stroll around the corner from the hotel. Temple Bar is only 10 minutes’ walk away, while Dublin Castle and the Olympia Theatre are a 15 minute walk. With an elegant decor, each room includes a private bathroom with toiletries. All rooms contain an LCD TV with cable TV channels, complimentary water and free Wi-Fi access. A buffet breakfast service is available each morning, from 07.00 - 10.30 Monday to Friday and 08.00 – 11.00 at the weekends, served with orange juice, tea and coffee at our adjoining tenant The Seafood Bar restaurant (located at the Ground Floor of the Hotel). The Dawson Spa, located to the rear of the building, features “Voya” organic seaweed beauty products made in Ireland. Also onsite, the adjoining Sam's Bar offers a glamorous vibe, fresh cocktails and music from international DJs, with a Victorian garden terrace overlooking Dublin's Mansion House. While we do not have parking onsite, we have an agreement with Setanta Q-Park, located on Molesworth Street, where our guests can benefit from discounted parking with up to 50% off per 24 hour period. Should you wish to exercise or use saunas, we also offer our guests complementary day passes to Energie Fitness Gym & Swimming Pool on Clarendon Street. Please note, the Hotel is not recommended for those with mobility issues, in particular those who require wheelchair access. In addition, the hotel does not have any adapted wheelchair accessible rooms. Please be aware that rooms listed as Vibrant Weekend rooms are those located directly above Sam’s Bar, and music will be heard until around 02:30 on a Thursday, and 03.30 on Fridays and Saturdays. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your The Dawson Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Stampa Hotel Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing