We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A beautiful luxurious gem in the heart of Dublin!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Dawson Hotel & Spa
Ranked #103 of 151 Hotels in Dublin
Denver, Colorado
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“A beautiful luxurious gem in the heart of Dublin!”
Reviewed 3 April 2013 via mobile

We stayed for one glorious evening in this boutique hotel. Because I am a member of small luxury hotels, we were upgraded to a wonderful little yellow suite! What a treat!

The location, one block from Trinity college, everything was walkable in Dublin! The staff was very nice, very helpful.

Pros: lovely service, beautifully decorated rooms, location in Dublin

Cons: tiny lobby, difficult to load and unload car

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank minibargrrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

702 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    173
    216
    148
    82
    83
See reviews for
47
351
32
105
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (136)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
dublin
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2013

the rooms at the front have a great view , but if you like sleeping , forget it , they are so noisy , must be the busiest street at night in Dublin and the windows are not even double glazed , the stairs was also very noisy with party people coming and going during the night. the room above us sounded like staff quarters with people moving around from 5.30.am they say all the rooms are different , the room we had was way out of date , tatty, not maintained , mod about 15 years ago , the TV was the cheapest make 10 years ago and the dvd player similar , the furnishings had bits hanging off them , and were stained , the room looked like it had been partied in many times, bed was ok, pillows the worst of any hotel ive stayed in, the service was terrible, breakfast took 1hr 20 mins from order to delivery , with a reminder from us in between. I did complain about things later and they did credit me 150 of the 220 for the room but to be honest it wrecked my special night and money cant buy memory’s
its a good location, but more than 5 mins walk from temple bar as last tourist review stated.
I wouldn’t stay here again
there's plenty of other good options without the drawbacks of this kind of place
it will suit some people, and maybe i got a bad room,
also remember this building is over a 100 years old and was not built as a hotel
tv programs were basic , no movie channels ,
it did have a mini bar !!

Room Tip: dont stay at the front of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank container
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Dublin hotels

Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed at La Stampa for a couple of nights over St. Patricks weekend last week. The hotel is lovely, a 5 minute walk to Temple Bar. We had to walk through the bar downstairs to get to our room, a lot of reviewers had complained about this, the bar was fantastic so this really wasn't an issue. The rooms were beautiful, a little lobby with a chaise longue awaited us with beautiful ornate furninshings, up half a flight of steps into our equally beautiful room, fantastic!! We partied in the bar downstairs until the early hours seeing both St. Patricks day and my 40th birthday in. Can't rate this hotel highly enough!

Room Tip: Ask for a 2nd floor room as you maybe disturbed on the first floor as it's above a bar which get...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bridgetown, Barbados
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2013

Stayed at La Stampa for 7 nights last Sept/Oct 2012 with a new student attending the Royal College of Surgeons. The location was fantastic, right around the corner from Grafton street, the RCS, Trinity College, and St Stephens Green (a sizeable shopping mall with a grocery in the basement). There are quite a few restaurants nearby and I enjoyed the Guinness and beef pie at the restaurant next door (can’t remember the name). You do have to walk through the Samsara bar to get to your room which was a little tricky on Arthur’s day when Guinness was free after 9, as the bar and the street were extremely crowded. In any event, me and my crowd always stopped by the bar on the way to our rooms and indulged in whatever cocktail was on special that day, so it was ‘all good’. The room was shabby chic, very roomy and I was welcomed with a yellow rose in a vase, comfy bed and very pleasant bathroom. Front office staff were always helpful and advised us how to get to Ikea by bus to buy dorm room furniture, and generally gave good advice and directions. It’s dated luxury, but if you need a central hotel on a quiet Street in Dublin, La Stampa is the real deal.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sapodillabrown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 March 2013

Great hotel for a weekend break in Dublin. Location is fantastic - right in the center of town. The rooms are stylish and functional. Very comfortable beds and a good shower and they have great deals - all good. I highly recommend.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mally77_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2013

The hotel is a very picturesque boutique style hotel 2 minutes walk away from Grafton Street. We arrived in Dublin early on the Wednesday and left early on the Friday and unforunately it rained for 90 percent of the visit.

The hotel staff were very helpful and the only downside was as it was so dark (even during the day) because of the bad weather you needed the bedroom lights on all the time when you were in there. Our TV did not work and it was rectified whilst we were out.

It would have been helpful to have an electric socket above the table next to the TV as it meant you either had to unplug the minibar fridge to plug the kettle for tea or coffee in or put the equipment on the floor. The two nights we were there the builders started work early in the morning, but work does have to go on in a city centre.

Like many other Dublin hotels they do want a 50% non refundable deposit up front and that can be a little off putting. Would certainly go back again.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TimTimLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2013

had pre-dinner menu this evening with friends, second time here. Beautiful menu choices and fantastic value at €30 for 3 courses, tough to make a choice. Good wine selection and not too expensive. The surroundings are ambience are superb. Service was friendly and professional. Will definitely be back

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SilverDillon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
0.1 mi away
Buswells Hotel
Buswells Hotel
#22 of 151 in Dublin
1,473 reviews
0.2 mi away
Brooks Hotel
Brooks Hotel
#9 of 151 in Dublin
2,287 reviews
0.1 mi away
Fitzwilliam Hotel Dublin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
O'Callaghan Stephen's Green Hotel
0.3 mi away
Drury Court Hotel
Drury Court Hotel
#24 of 151 in Dublin
1,458 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Morgan
The Morgan
#35 of 151 in Dublin
2,775 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Dawson Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Dawson Hotel & Spa

Property: The Dawson Hotel & Spa
Address: 35 Dawson Street, Dublin 2, Ireland (Formerly La Stampa Hotel)
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Dublin
#49 Luxury Hotel in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Dawson Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Dawson Hotel and award winning Dawson Spa are ideally located on Dawson Street in the heart of Dublin's city centre, with Trinity College at one end of the street and St. Stephen's Green at the other. Dublin's main shopping district, Grafton Street, is a short stroll around the corner from the hotel. Temple Bar is only 10 minutes’ walk away, while Dublin Castle and the Olympia Theatre are a 15 minute walk. With an elegant decor, each room includes a private bathroom with toiletries. All rooms contain an LCD TV with cable TV channels, complimentary water and free Wi-Fi access. The Dawson Spa, located to the rear of the building, features “Voya” organic seaweed beauty products made in Ireland. Also onsite, the adjoining Sam's Bar offers a glamorous vibe, fresh cocktails and music from international DJs, with a Victorian garden terrace overlooking Dublin's Mansion House. While we do not have parking onsite, we have an agreement with Setanta Q-Park, located on Molesworth Street, where our guests can benefit from discounted parking with up to 50% off per 24 hour period. Should you wish to exercise or use saunas, we also offer our guests complementary day passes to Energie Fitness Gym & Swimming Pool on Clarendon Street. Please note, the Hotel is not recommended for those with mobility issues, in particular those who require wheelchair access. In addition, the hotel does not have any adapted wheelchair accessible rooms. Please be aware that rooms listed as Vibrant Weekend rooms are those located directly above Sam’s Bar, and music will be heard until around 02:30 on a Thursday, and 03.30 on Fridays and Saturdays. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your The Dawson Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Stampa Hotel Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing