We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lot of stairs”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Dawson Hotel & Spa
Ranked #104 of 151 Hotels in Dublin
Offaly Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“A lot of stairs”
Reviewed 2 February 2014

Myself and some friends stayed in this hotel which is now called The Dawson Hotel. We were on the third floor. The only lift was accessable from the night club which was on the lower ground floor. The rooms were ok but did not come up to the standard of the rooms shown on their web site. The location was very good as was the breakfast.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarjoOffalyIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

702 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    173
    216
    148
    82
    83
See reviews for
47
351
32
105
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (136)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level 6 Contributor
162 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 February 2014 via mobile

I had a great stay at this hotel, slept very well...once I got over the shock of space travel. You feel like a character in a Sherlock Holmes novel entering their rooms, feet sinking away in their wealthy carpet. Asthma patients should avoid this marvellous setting.
The bar downstairs is way ahead of its time...
Great location.

Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Christophe P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2014 via mobile

This was our third stay in the La Stampa - now called the Dawson.

On our two previous stays we had no complaints. Unfortunately the standards have really slipped.

The door handle to the bathroom was hanging off, the bathroom floor tiles have very little grouting and the tiles are lifting of the floor as a result.

There is mould growing in the ceiling about the bath. The bath itself is stained as is the surrounding tiles.

It's a shame that such a lovely hotel has not been well maintained

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank Denise P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ewan M, Manager at The Dawson Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 9 September 2014
Good Evening Denise P,

Apologies for the delay in response and thank you for taking the time to write a review for The Dawson. We have taken all our reviews very seriously and we endeavour to ensure our hotel is restored to glory and as a result it is in renovation, we thank you for your feedback.

We hope that you may stay with us again in the future to witness all the changes that are currently being made in all our hotel rooms and facilities.

Kind Regards
Siofra M
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Dublin hotels

London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2014

We booked the La Stampa hotel for a short 2 night break in January 2014. A few days before we were due to fly to Dublin, I reviewed the website to remind myself of where we had booked...I was surprised to find out that the hotel had been taken over and completely changed its name to The Dawson Hotel. Whilst these things can't be helped, I was shocked that they hadn't advised us of the change of name and wanted us of any work that may be going on (one would assume when a hotel gets taken over or renamed there would be some kind of refurb). Alas, we arrived in Dublin early on the Friday morning and finally found the hotel which to be fair was in a fantastic location - situated in the middle of the trendy Dawson Street, centrally located for most of the tourist attractions and within walking distance to most of the bars and restaurants. We arrived at 50% 2* hotel entrance and 50% building site...great! Just what I wanted when I had forked out a reasonable amount of money for this supposedly 'luxury boutique hotel - one of the finest in Dublin'. The check in was chaotic, the staff made us feel very uncomfortable and were being very cloak and dagger with their conversation around us. Not a welcoming check in to say the least. We had left our bags at the hotel earlier in the morning and once checked in we discovered our bags had actually been put in the wrong room so of course this took time to rectify and finally we were led down a poorly decorated corridor to our musty smelling hotel room which we were less than impressed with. The paint on the walls was chipped, the carpet looked like it hadn't ever been cleaned and the plug sockets were not securely fitted to the wall leaving me to expect to be electrocuted every time I plucked up the courage to insert a plug into the mains! To top It all off, there were a distinct humming sound that didn't cease throughout our 2 night stay causing an extremely interrupted sleep.

The hotel in reality is far from the beautiful boutique hotel portrayed on their website...it is outdated, smells musty and is not somewhere I would recommend to anyone!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Yellowbear213
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lastampa, Manager at The Dawson Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 21 January 2014
Dear Emma,
Thank you for taking your time to post your review.
I’m terribly sorry to hear that your experience in our hotel was not satisfactory at all.
As per my private email sent to you, I have posted a partial refund on your card because, despite our efforts, we could not ensure everyone was made aware about these renovations. I would like to apologize again to you for any inconvenience caused.
In the same time, in line with your comments about the rooms and corridors, our hotel is due a renovation and we have now started addressing these issues.
From your private email I have also taken note of your comments about the corridor vacuum cleaning while you were checking in and the luggage confusion. I have spoken to all my colleagues about this and explained how this can make guests uncomfortable.
Thank you again for your helpful comments.
We do hope that you will give us a second chance and look forward welcoming you to the hotel again.
Best Regards
Daniel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ennis, Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 January 2014 via mobile

Great location. No parking. No complaints except hall carpets very worn - I hate that. Overall, staff were very friendly. Nothing wrong at all with this place. I'd go again if my regular place were booked out. Overall, a solid hotel, but I wouldn't get too excited. Restaurant not great.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DaithiDufaux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ewan M, Manager at The Dawson Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 9 September 2014
Hi DaithiDuFaux,

Apologies for the delay in response and we thank you for taking the time to write a review on The Dawson. We take all comments very seriously and are currently in the process of restoring our hotel to glory. You'll be happy to hear our carpets were the first to be replaced and we are currently in the process of renovating our rooms. We're delighted to hear you found the staff friendly and we hope you consider joining us in The Dawson Brasserie for dinner on another occasion as we hope to change your opinion on our dining room.

Kind Regards
Siofra M
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2014

My partner and i stayed in La Stampa for 3 nights this week. We stayed in Room 302. This property is right in the heart of the nicest part of Dublin on Dawson St, one minute walk from Grafton Street. All the best restaurants and pubs are on your door step. It is clean. The breakfast is excellent, lovely selection of nicely cooked foods. The staff are really nice. The cost is just wonderful as in you can get two nights in this hotel where literally around the corner it would cost the same for one night. Book it, you wont be dissapointed.

Room Tip: We had Room 302, its a really good choice, on top floor. If you have difficulty walklng upstairs as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lormah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lastampa, Manager at The Dawson Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 11 January 2014
Dear Lormah,

Thank you for taking the time to leave your comments.
I am so glad you enjoy your stay with us and hope it won't be too long before you are back again.

Best Regards
Daniel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alicante, Spain
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 January 2014

Great location, Great price, very good standard. We were welcomed by very friendly staff. Rooms were very clean and very pleasant overall experience. Would definitely recommend this hotel to any of my friends. Great restaurants locally.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tommy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lastampa, Manager at The Dawson Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 11 January 2014
Dear Tommy,
Thank you for taking the time to post your review.
We are delighted to know that you loved our hotel, location and rooms and, overall, have enjoyed your time here.
We look forward welcoming you to the hotel again.

Best Regards
Daniel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
0.1 mi away
Buswells Hotel
Buswells Hotel
#22 of 151 in Dublin
1,474 reviews
0.2 mi away
Brooks Hotel
Brooks Hotel
#9 of 151 in Dublin
2,287 reviews
0.1 mi away
Fitzwilliam Hotel Dublin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
O'Callaghan Stephen's Green Hotel
0.3 mi away
Drury Court Hotel
Drury Court Hotel
#24 of 151 in Dublin
1,458 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Morgan
The Morgan
#36 of 151 in Dublin
2,778 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Dawson Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Dawson Hotel & Spa

Property: The Dawson Hotel & Spa
Address: 35 Dawson Street, Dublin 2, Ireland (Formerly La Stampa Hotel)
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Dublin
#49 Luxury Hotel in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Dawson Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Dawson Hotel and award winning Dawson Spa are ideally located on Dawson Street in the heart of Dublin's city centre, with Trinity College at one end of the street and St. Stephen's Green at the other. Dublin's main shopping district, Grafton Street, is a short stroll around the corner from the hotel. Temple Bar is only 10 minutes’ walk away, while Dublin Castle and the Olympia Theatre are a 15 minute walk. With an elegant decor, each room includes a private bathroom with toiletries. All rooms contain an LCD TV with cable TV channels, complimentary water and free Wi-Fi access. The Dawson Spa, located to the rear of the building, features “Voya” organic seaweed beauty products made in Ireland. Also onsite, the adjoining Sam's Bar offers a glamorous vibe, fresh cocktails and music from international DJs, with a Victorian garden terrace overlooking Dublin's Mansion House. While we do not have parking onsite, we have an agreement with Setanta Q-Park, located on Molesworth Street, where our guests can benefit from discounted parking with up to 50% off per 24 hour period. Should you wish to exercise or use saunas, we also offer our guests complementary day passes to Energie Fitness Gym & Swimming Pool on Clarendon Street. Please note, the Hotel is not recommended for those with mobility issues, in particular those who require wheelchair access. In addition, the hotel does not have any adapted wheelchair accessible rooms. Please be aware that rooms listed as Vibrant Weekend rooms are those located directly above Sam’s Bar, and music will be heard until around 02:30 on a Thursday, and 03.30 on Fridays and Saturdays. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your The Dawson Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Stampa Hotel Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing