We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellant location, good value”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Dawson Hotel & Spa
Ranked #108 of 153 Hotels in Dublin
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Excellant location, good value”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2014

I chose this hotel based almost exclusively on TripAdvisor reviews, and overall I was quite happy. The location is superb, within easy walking to all things within the city center. We stayed in a junior suite on the 3rd floor. Street noise was never a problem, and the in-room air conditioner/heater kept the room very comfortable. We used the spa downstairs for a couple's massage, and were very happy with their services. Travelers should be aware that (1) there is no lift, so luggage must be brought upstairs (although the porter was more than happy to assist us with this task), and (2) parking is located in a public lot a few blocks away. Having said that, neither of these was enough of an issue for me to rate this hotel less than 5 stars.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aubre H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

680 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    166
    208
    144
    82
    80
See reviews for
47
338
31
97
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (129)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sligo, Ireland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014

This hotel is situated in a very good location near Grafton Street so there is plenty of shops and restaurants within the vicinity. I do think the hotel is a bit hap hazard in its layout however as the bar is on the ground floor and you must go through this area to gain access to the breakfast room/dining room area, whilst the reception area is up two flights of stairs. I would have thought the reception area of any hotel should be as close to the entrance as possible and the main focal point on entry?? I was very pleased with our suite that i booked, nice and spacious and very clean and they even had three yellow roses in a vase with a tray of fresh fruit. Although the view from our room which was to the back of the hotel was very disappointing and I thought the stairs and corridors to the bedrooms could do with a bit of a refurbishment. The bed was very comfortable and thankfully we had a very restful sleep. There are pubs/nightclub underneath and it did appear to be quite noisy when going to bed so whether it stopped or we were just so tired that we slept through it I am not sure. There was a nice selection of food on the breakfast menu and the waiter/waitresses were very friendly and helpful as was all the reception staff and concierge of the hotel. This hotel suited our one night stay in Dublin for attending of an event, but I wouldn't be in a hurry to book this hotel for a leisurely stay in the capital.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank maya7045
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
127 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2014

Arrived at the hotel late on the 16th March so St Patrick's Day celebrations were in full swing which we weren't too bothered about especially as we'd come to Dublin to enjoy the festivities! Really friendly staff - didn't try too hard but also didn't seem offhand at any point.

We stayed in Room 206 which had a great bathroom and not a brilliant view, however, it was clean which you can't complain about. However, there is a bar/nightclub underneath the hotel which can be noisy, but largely wasn't noticeable.

I would stay here again - the location was wonderful, 5 minutes away from Grafton Street shops, parallel to St Stephen's Green and a 10 minute stroll (or stagger!!) from Temple Bar.

Room Tip: Choose a room towards the rear of the hotel as the noise can get rowdy at the weekends from the nigh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vix8323
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
birmingham
Level Contributor
36 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2014

Was really impressed when receptionist walked me to my room on 3rd floor. Ok room - mixture of indian and Chinese themed furniture and clean but outdated bathroom but general areas needed hovering and stairs had threadbare steps and wobbly bannister. Ok for a one night stay in central location but needs investment.Shabby bit not chic

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank BirminghamMouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Dublin hotels

Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
64 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2014

The problem is, they advertise 4 stars so my expectations immediately go higher.
Location wrt. Dublin is great. Location on top of a night club is already less enjoyable; earplugs are mandatory!
First impression when entering the room was very good. But when you start looking at the details, there is an obvious lack of maintenance.
If you get a good deal, take it. There is much worse.
But if you are going to pay an inflated 4-star-like price, run away.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ggllk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2014

After reading bad reviews re the noise of the nightclub below and condition of hotel i debated checking into another hotel but i contacted the hotel who were accomadating and put us on the top floor.

The hotel is changing from La Stampa to the Dawson and is in the middle of the re-branding. The hotel from the outside looks lovely, in the heart of the city so some noise should be expected. On arrival we were greeted by friendly staff, we were early for check in but they got our room cleaned and put our bags in there for us.

There were steps (lots of them but i didnt mind this as i had requested specifically the top floor) the room was large, comfy bed and it was clean.

The hotel is in need or redecoration, yes there was a broken tile in the bathroom but overall not much to complain about re quality of room. At the moment it is a 3* charging 4* prices. Noise could be heard from the club on the 1st and 2nd floor and if we were in a room on these floors we probably wouild have checked pout at 3am, we were on the top floor, some noise could be heard and you could feel the vibrations from the music, it is a club and the music goes on until 3am.

Overall we didnt have too much to complain about and this hotel will get better i am sure. The room although tired was clean. The onsite spa is excellent as is all the staff. It is jsut a shame about the noise from the club below.

Room Tip: Make sure if you stay you are on the top floor you will not fleep if you are on the 1st or second.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nicola262
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
Buswells Hotel
#24 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,397 reviews
Brooks Hotel
#9 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,220 reviews
South City Centre
Fitzwilliam Hotel Dublin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Drury Court Hotel
#26 of 153 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,380 reviews
The Morgan
#35 of 153 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,655 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Dawson Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Dawson Hotel & Spa

Property: The Dawson Hotel & Spa
Address: 35 Dawson Street, Dublin 2, Ireland (Formerly La Stampa Hotel)
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Dublin
#48 Luxury Hotel in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Dawson Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Dawson Hotel and award winning Dawson Spa are ideally located on Dawson Street in the heart of Dublin's city centre, with Trinity College at one end of the street and St. Stephen's Green at the other. Dublin's main shopping district, Grafton Street, is a short stroll around the corner from the hotel. Temple Bar is only 10 minutes’ walk away, while Dublin Castle and the Olympia Theatre are a 15 minute walk. With an elegant decor, each room includes a private bathroom with toiletries. All rooms contain an LCD TV with cable TV channels, complimentary water and free Wi-Fi access. The Dawson Spa, located to the rear of the building, features “Voya” organic seaweed beauty products made in Ireland. Also onsite, the adjoining Sam's Bar offers a glamorous vibe, fresh cocktails and music from international DJs, with a Victorian garden terrace overlooking Dublin's Mansion House. While we do not have parking onsite, we have an agreement with Setanta Q-Park, located on Molesworth Street, where our guests can benefit from discounted parking with up to 50% off per 24 hour period. Should you wish to exercise or use saunas, we also offer our guests complementary day passes to Energie Fitness Gym & Swimming Pool on Clarendon Street. Please note, the Hotel is not recommended for those with mobility issues, in particular those who require wheelchair access. In addition, the hotel does not have any adapted wheelchair accessible rooms. Please be aware that rooms listed as Vibrant Weekend rooms are those located directly above Sam’s Bar, and music will be heard until around 02:30 on a Thursday, and 03.30 on Fridays and Saturdays. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Dawson Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Stampa Hotel Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing