We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Friendly staff, comfortable hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Dawson Hotel & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Dawson Hotel & Spa
Ranked #111 of 153 Hotels in Dublin
cavan
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Friendly staff, comfortable hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014

I booked this hotel for one night, mainly due to its fantastic location in the centre of Dublin City. I hadn't read any of the online reviews beforehand, just really loved the look of the place from the website. Check in was seamless and the staff were very friendly and helpful. Our Junior Suite room was fantastic, clean and really well decorated. However, the public stairways and corridors do need a fresh lick of paint. There were also scuff marks on the skirting boards and walls of our room. I didn't mind this too much as the room was lovely.

While reading the online reviews, I noticed that a common theme was the noise problem. Dawson street is a very busy street, with bars, restaurants and late night venues littered up down. We had no problem sleeping and didn't hear any noise, probably because we got back to our hotel room after a night out and everything in the vicinity had closed up for the night.

We didn't have breakfast, but from their prices online, €30 for a hotel breakfast for 2 is very steep. We ate in a beautiful coffee shop nearby and paid about €15 for the 2 of us for breakfast. Take the room only rate here as there is much better value to be had outside of the hotel

A word of warning regarding the mini bar. There was no price list given with the mini bar drinks (and if there was, it was hidden somewhere as I never found it). There was no notice to say that the mini bar was not complementary. Nothing anywhere with a price list for drinks. All in all, I was charged €29 for a small bottle of champagne (which I could have bought in any supermarket for less than €6) and €6 for a bottle of Corona. Very very disappointing.

Reasonable parking is provided in Setanta Car Park, just off South Frederick Street which is the next street over from Dawson street. 24 hour parking for €17.50 (very good) and the hotel will validate your parking ticket at checkout. Very handy service

All in all, I can recommend the Dawson Hotel for a short break in Dublin. It was very clean and our room was beautiful, bathroom was very spacious too. I will definetly stay here again, although I am not 100% sure if I could cope with the noise on the street below

Room Tip: Ask for the specials on the Junior/Deluxe suites.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank niamhandferg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

669 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    163
    206
    140
    81
    79
See reviews for
46
332
31
95
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (126)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Newbridge, Ireland
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2014

When I first showed up to the hotel first impressions were pretty good. Staff were lovely and my room looked lovely. We had a lower couch area were tge bathroom was situated and then a small stairs up to where the bed was. The room was beautifully furnished and had a very comfortable bed. But there was no spare pillows or blanket in the closet like I have found in other hotels.We didn't really get any sleep. Right out side our window there was a very loud boiler type thing which ran loudly all night. And above us there must have been a room similar to ours (one with a small stairs in it) because every time the people in the room above us walked about or used their stairs we could Hear them very clearly in hour room. So after getting up after a very sleepless night, I wanted to take a shower at about 9 am. ...not a drop of hot water for a shower, ice cold water. Very disappointed at this as hot water is a basic nessecity for a hotel, especially for one that's supposedly 4 star. Won't be returning

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank orlaedel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
limerick,ireland
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2014

I booked the Dawson due to its proximity to The Shelbourne Hotel where I was attending a work event. I hadn't seen any reviews but liked the look of the Hotel. On arrival I was upgraded to A junior Suite which immediately had me on a winner. The staff were just lovely, all of them. I got a lovely welcome and the surroundings were just so peaceful despite being in Dublin city centre. My Room was just lovely, clean and well equipped. Once I got up the following day I headed down for breakfast which was served until 10.30 which was great. Again the staff were just lovely, very accommodating and pleasant. There was a great breakfast selection and bar the fruit and meats there was a menu and everything cooked fresh. It was again very clean and extremely efficient. Although I was going out for the day and had checked out I was able to leave my bags in the hotel and pick them up later. A gent from reception insisted on carrying them out for me even though they were light and overall left me with a feeling that my business was appreciated even though I was only there for the one night and on single occupancy. I was very impressed and my husband and I will be returning to the Hotel in August and I look forward to our return visit. Well done to all

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marhughes32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork
Level Contributor
38 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2014

Booked this hotel - and was totally overwhelmed when I checked in.

Paid €198 for a two night stay in December - reasonable enough price, considering the location and the time of year.

The room I got was absolutely superb. Big, spacious and very elegant! Really wowed me.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CorkGirl_1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Galway, Ireland
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2014

This is the second time my wife and I have stayed here this year and hopefully it won't be too long before we're back. The rooms have a quaint old world charm that have a home away from home feel yet purvey a touch of elegance that make you want to relax. Being a city centre hotel it's close to all amenities so it makes a fantastic base for exploring Dublin. We have our favourite restaurants close by so I can't comment on the food. The hotel is quite at night as it is not appealing to a rowdy clientele. In conclusion we enjoy staying here and will do so again.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2014

I chose this hotel based almost exclusively on TripAdvisor reviews, and overall I was quite happy. The location is superb, within easy walking to all things within the city center. We stayed in a junior suite on the 3rd floor. Street noise was never a problem, and the in-room air conditioner/heater kept the room very comfortable. We used the spa downstairs for a couple's massage, and were very happy with their services. Travelers should be aware that (1) there is no lift, so luggage must be brought upstairs (although the porter was more than happy to assist us with this task), and (2) parking is located in a public lot a few blocks away. Having said that, neither of these was enough of an issue for me to rate this hotel less than 5 stars.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aubre H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sligo, Ireland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014

This hotel is situated in a very good location near Grafton Street so there is plenty of shops and restaurants within the vicinity. I do think the hotel is a bit hap hazard in its layout however as the bar is on the ground floor and you must go through this area to gain access to the breakfast room/dining room area, whilst the reception area is up two flights of stairs. I would have thought the reception area of any hotel should be as close to the entrance as possible and the main focal point on entry?? I was very pleased with our suite that i booked, nice and spacious and very clean and they even had three yellow roses in a vase with a tray of fresh fruit. Although the view from our room which was to the back of the hotel was very disappointing and I thought the stairs and corridors to the bedrooms could do with a bit of a refurbishment. The bed was very comfortable and thankfully we had a very restful sleep. There are pubs/nightclub underneath and it did appear to be quite noisy when going to bed so whether it stopped or we were just so tired that we slept through it I am not sure. There was a nice selection of food on the breakfast menu and the waiter/waitresses were very friendly and helpful as was all the reception staff and concierge of the hotel. This hotel suited our one night stay in Dublin for attending of an event, but I wouldn't be in a hurry to book this hotel for a leisurely stay in the capital.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank maya7045
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
Brooks Hotel
#10 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,193 reviews
Buswells Hotel
#23 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,374 reviews
South City Centre
Fitzwilliam Hotel Dublin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Drury Court Hotel
#24 of 153 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,357 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Dawson Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Dawson Hotel & Spa

Property: The Dawson Hotel & Spa
Address: 35 Dawson Street, Dublin 2, Ireland (Formerly La Stampa Hotel)
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Dublin
#49 Luxury Hotel in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Dawson Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Dawson Hotel and award winning Dawson Spa are ideally located on Dawson Street in the heart of Dublin's city centre, with Trinity College at one end of the street and St. Stephen's Green at the other. Dublin's main shopping district, Grafton Street, is a short stroll around the corner from the hotel. Temple Bar is only 10 minutes’ walk away, while Dublin Castle and the Olympia Theatre are a 15 minute walk. With an elegant decor, each room includes a private bathroom with toiletries. All rooms contain an LCD TV with cable TV channels, complimentary water and free Wi-Fi access. A buffet breakfast service is available each morning, from 07.00 - 10.30 Monday to Friday and 08.00 – 11.00 at the weekends, served with orange juice, tea and coffee at our adjoining tenant The Seafood Bar restaurant (located at the Ground Floor of the Hotel). The Dawson Spa, located to the rear of the building, features “Voya” organic seaweed beauty products made in Ireland. Also onsite, the adjoining Sam's Bar offers a glamorous vibe, fresh cocktails and music from international DJs, with a Victorian garden terrace overlooking Dublin's Mansion House. While we do not have parking onsite, we have an agreement with Setanta Q-Park, located on Molesworth Street, where our guests can benefit from discounted parking with up to 50% off per 24 hour period. Should you wish to exercise or use saunas, we also offer our guests complementary day passes to Energie Fitness Gym & Swimming Pool on Clarendon Street. Please note, the Hotel is not recommended for those with mobility issues, in particular those who require wheelchair access. In addition, the hotel does not have any adapted wheelchair accessible rooms. Please be aware that rooms listed as Vibrant Weekend rooms are those located directly above Sam’s Bar, and music will be heard until around 02:30 on a Thursday, and 03.30 on Fridays and Saturdays. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your The Dawson Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Stampa Hotel Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing