We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“just perfect”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Dawson Hotel & Spa
Ranked #107 of 153 Hotels in Dublin
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“just perfect”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2014 via mobile

I stayed here with my husband for 1 night . the location is perfect. We landed on dublin airport at 7 am and had contacted the hotel prior to arrival to request early check in. They could not guarantee it but did say to leave our luggage and they would do their best. We dropped the cases and visited collins barracks museum and guinness store house. Our r was a junior suite at the top of the building and the luggage was in the room when we arrived after a couple of pints of the black stuff. All in all the very pleasant stay . Will be back.

tip. Ask about the lift to higher floors.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank GPopIrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

680 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    166
    208
    144
    82
    80
See reviews for
47
338
31
97
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (129)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Washington, dc
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2014

My husband and I stayed her at the back end of a two week European honeymoon. The staff was friendly, helpful and knowledgable about the area. The hotel was clean, and had a very upscale feeling to it. It is pretty close to Graffton and O'Connell streets and has some delicious restaurants near by. The staff assisted with our baggage and always greeted us with a smile. Lovely stay!

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KnoxTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2014

I went here with my sister to get a signature manicure and pedicure done a few weeks ago. The staff were lovely but the quality of our treatment wasn't great. They didn't have much of a range of colours and I'm not sure if they are experts in nails.

My sister had a bad experience with the girl breaking the kin and it bled and no apology.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank emercryan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
70 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014

There are several hotels in Dublin I like to stay in very much, but rates fluctuate hugely depending on - whatever - and they can be silly prices. We were attending an event at the National Concert Hall, and decided to book the Dawson, really for location and its good value. I knew it had been La Stampa, which had been a quirky spot and quite a party hotel in the past so wasn't sure what to expect as a refurb. On arrival I really was underwhelmed by having to drag cases up a staircase to reception, and then be told room wasn't ready, as it was already 3.15pm. But this was rectified fairly quickly, and we were offered a free drink from the bar while waiting. Decor in the corridors had obviously not had much of a makeover but I was happy with my room, which was a great size, comfortable bed, large old furniture but in a good way, and happily a good big modern bathroom. The location is great though, handy to main shopping areas, St Stephens Green and lots of traditional bars and eating spots, would recommend to tourists who aren't familiar with Dublin layout, they would hit most things from around here on foot. High spot for me was breakfast. We had a well cooked, no hassle breakfast in a small area at front of restaurant with small tables and decor that almost felt like we were breakfasting in a French salon, very relaxing. There are definitely much slicker upmarket hotels in Dublin, but this is well worth checking out, especially if you are finding prices are through the roof when you looking for somewhere and don't want ripped off. And if you want to feel a bit special without forking out a week's salary - book one of the suites- completely OTT!

Room Tip: Ask for a front room if you want a view- but currently a lot of work going on around all over the ci...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Moira670
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cali, Valle, Colombia
Level Contributor
86 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2014

Was a surprise as I booked it using hotwire. Stayed solo as was attending a conference in Trinity College. Absolute perfect location, close to everything. Very nice room, double sink bathroom. Very friendly staff. On the downside: TV was old. Absolutely recommended

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank S1PRA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2014

I stayed at The Dawson as a solo female traveller, I booked a junior suite but I'm pretty sure I was upgraded to their Delux Junior Suite (room 406) at no additional charge. The room was spacious, beautifully furnished and a lovely place to relax after a busy day in Dublin. Two minor grumbles...the coffee / tea tray didn't have milk or sugar but it did have 7(!) sachets of decaf, secondly the hotel advertises molton brown toiletries, this is not true but what they did have was ok none the less. The Dawson is a great base to explore Dublin with Grafton Street, Trinity College, Bus Stops and St Stephens Green all less than 2 minutes away. The Staff were incredibly helpful and kind. Overall I found the hotel great value for money and would definitely visit again.

Room Tip: 406 is a beautiful spacious room on the first floor overlooking Dawson Street
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Reaneybean80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2014

Superb location on Dublin s Dawson Street, right next to Stephens Green.
We stayed in a Junior Suite which was lovely. The view from the room across to Dublin's mansion house was beautiful. The staff were all very friendly, and we enjoyed our stay very much. Breakfast was over priced so we didn't eat in the hotel. There was no coffee or milk in the service tray in the room, very minor thing. The only slight issue i had hotel there was very little signage / direction for the hotel reception outside so i went in three different doors looking for it. Anyway I found it and all in all the hotel was lovely.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MaeveSDublin_Ireland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
Buswells Hotel
#24 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,398 reviews
Brooks Hotel
#10 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,223 reviews
South City Centre
Fitzwilliam Hotel Dublin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Drury Court Hotel
#25 of 153 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,385 reviews
The Morgan
#35 of 153 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,659 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Dawson Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Dawson Hotel & Spa

Property: The Dawson Hotel & Spa
Address: 35 Dawson Street, Dublin 2, Ireland (Formerly La Stampa Hotel)
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Dublin
#48 Luxury Hotel in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Dawson Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Dawson Hotel and award winning Dawson Spa are ideally located on Dawson Street in the heart of Dublin's city centre, with Trinity College at one end of the street and St. Stephen's Green at the other. Dublin's main shopping district, Grafton Street, is a short stroll around the corner from the hotel. Temple Bar is only 10 minutes’ walk away, while Dublin Castle and the Olympia Theatre are a 15 minute walk. With an elegant decor, each room includes a private bathroom with toiletries. All rooms contain an LCD TV with cable TV channels, complimentary water and free Wi-Fi access. The Dawson Spa, located to the rear of the building, features “Voya” organic seaweed beauty products made in Ireland. Also onsite, the adjoining Sam's Bar offers a glamorous vibe, fresh cocktails and music from international DJs, with a Victorian garden terrace overlooking Dublin's Mansion House. While we do not have parking onsite, we have an agreement with Setanta Q-Park, located on Molesworth Street, where our guests can benefit from discounted parking with up to 50% off per 24 hour period. Should you wish to exercise or use saunas, we also offer our guests complementary day passes to Energie Fitness Gym & Swimming Pool on Clarendon Street. Please note, the Hotel is not recommended for those with mobility issues, in particular those who require wheelchair access. In addition, the hotel does not have any adapted wheelchair accessible rooms. Please be aware that rooms listed as Vibrant Weekend rooms are those located directly above Sam’s Bar, and music will be heard until around 02:30 on a Thursday, and 03.30 on Fridays and Saturdays. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Dawson Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Stampa Hotel Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing