We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Much more than an average hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Dawson Hotel & Spa
Ranked #103 of 151 Hotels in Dublin
Italy
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Much more than an average hotel”
Reviewed 10 February 2009

I stayed with a friend 3 nights at the La Stampa Hotel. This was a very good experience, since we are looking always for some more particuliar hotels, we were here at the right place. The entrance of the hotel is amazing, when you check in, you see the impressive long bar. I never checked in at a hotel while listining to music of Nirvana, so much better than the regular "elevator" music. The employees of the hotel where very friendly, the breakfast was good. And for sure I can recommand the "Spa" part of the hotel. You're downtown of the centre of Dublin. We had a very good stay and I will definitely return when I go back to Dublin.

  • Liked — The venue
  • Stayed January 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank DonatellaItaly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

712 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    175
    219
    151
    83
    84
See reviews for
50
356
33
105
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (139)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Wicklow
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 December 2008

After reading various reviews I was expecting a loud cramped city centre hotel and found unusual bedroom, great service and didn't hear a thing all night. Only fault I could find was no tea or coffee making facilities but when I mentioned to receptionist following morning she explained that some rooms do have and they would provide complimentary if requested and manager offered his apologies. Great bar, Samsara, downstairs, lovely staff. Perfect location for shopping, nightlife, very central. Staff efficient and helpful, Would stay again. If you want something a bit different than your standard square room with a bit of atmosphere stay here.

  • Liked — Style of hotel, staff
  • Disliked — Lift through the bar
  • Stayed December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WicklowOptimist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
172 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 December 2008

The location of La Stampa is great. The room we stayed in was also very nice. We had the morrocan themed suite and it is quirky with a feeling quite different from many standardised hotels. However, with quirky comes varying quality. The shower didn't really work well, the reception was only average and worst of all, the breakfasts were terrible. Added to that our room was very close to the bar, which kept us awake.

  • Liked — The decor was different
  • Disliked — too close to a late night bar
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Hesmo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 December 2008

Great location right near Trinity College and a short walk to the Temple Bar area.

Quiet, comfortable room, helpful staff.

Interesting Indian motif in the room, very pleasant.

Highly recommended as a superior class hotel in a city where decent hotel rooms do not come cheap.

  • Liked — Room size, decor, staff
  • Disliked — Noting, it is somewhat pricey but not out of line for Dublin
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Wayne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
northerner abroad
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2008

My friend and I stayed at La Stampa for the first two and the last night of our holiday in Ireland last year. It looked great on the website (their own) and I read good reviews on here about it, but it was an awful place. The corridors are cramped and neverending. The decor is tired. My room was slightly bigger than my friends and the bathroom was quite nice but it wasn't worth the money by a long chalk. The breakfast was diabolical - don't have it here, go down the road where there are some nice coffee shops - who thinks one lone mushroom is okay for goodness sake? The guy who showed us to our room was lovely - very helpful (I couldn't work out how to get the air con to work) but the young women on reception were not particularly friendly. I wouldn't stay here again and I wouldn't recommend it to anyone else either.

  • Stayed August 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Finoula
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Dublin hotels

Derbyshire
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2008

I booked this hotel after the excellent review in the Sunday Telegraph, and then read the reviews on here. I thought I had made a mistake booking it. How wrong could I have been. This is fabulous hotel, in a fabulous position in a fabulous city. The staff were excellent. The room was comfy and quiet. The cocktails are devine and the restaurant (the balzac) is simply outstanding. If you didnt like this hotel I can only imagine that you are either very rich or very famous!!!

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bigalowl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2008

Stayed here for one night.

In favour of the hotel:
Staff - wonderful - helpful and friendly - tried v.hard.
Spa - excellent.
Bathroom products - devine.
Stairs - not a problem


Againt the hotel:
Shower flooded the bathroom.
Noise from road, i.e. drunks, fights, cars etc woke us up several times during the night.
Food - hugely overpriced.
Car park - none and Setanta car park a couple of streets away was full when we tried to use it.
Observed their Irish manager not being so nice to their foreign staff ... This was a bit of a turn-off. She seemed to even look down on her customers.


Overall this hotel is really lovely, the interior design is amazing but I wouldn't stay there again because it's too noisy, and we stayed on a week-night so I can only imagine what the weekend is like. ..

  • Stayed June 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tysonrea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
0.1 mi away
Buswells Hotel
Buswells Hotel
#23 of 151 in Dublin
1,487 reviews
0.2 mi away
Brooks Hotel
Brooks Hotel
#9 of 151 in Dublin
2,321 reviews
0.3 mi away
O'Callaghan Stephen's Green Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Fitzwilliam Hotel Dublin
0.3 mi away
Drury Court Hotel
Drury Court Hotel
#24 of 151 in Dublin
1,480 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Morgan
The Morgan
#35 of 151 in Dublin
2,823 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Dawson Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Dawson Hotel & Spa

Property: The Dawson Hotel & Spa
Address: 35 Dawson Street, Dublin 2, Ireland (Formerly La Stampa Hotel)
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Dublin
#49 Luxury Hotel in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Dawson Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Dawson Hotel and award winning Dawson Spa are ideally located on Dawson Street in the heart of Dublin's city centre, with Trinity College at one end of the street and St. Stephen's Green at the other. Dublin's main shopping district, Grafton Street, is a short stroll around the corner from the hotel. Temple Bar is only 10 minutes’ walk away, while Dublin Castle and the Olympia Theatre are a 15 minute walk. With an elegant decor, each room includes a private bathroom with toiletries. All rooms contain an LCD TV with cable TV channels, complimentary water and free Wi-Fi access. The Dawson Spa, located to the rear of the building, features “Voya” organic seaweed beauty products made in Ireland. Also onsite, the adjoining Sam's Bar offers a glamorous vibe, fresh cocktails and music from international DJs, with a Victorian garden terrace overlooking Dublin's Mansion House. While we do not have parking onsite, we have an agreement with Setanta Q-Park, located on Molesworth Street, where our guests can benefit from discounted parking with up to 50% off per 24 hour period. Should you wish to exercise or use saunas, we also offer our guests complementary day passes to Energie Fitness Gym & Swimming Pool on Clarendon Street. Please note, the Hotel is not recommended for those with mobility issues, in particular those who require wheelchair access. In addition, the hotel does not have any adapted wheelchair accessible rooms. Please be aware that rooms listed as Vibrant Weekend rooms are those located directly above Sam’s Bar, and music will be heard until around 02:30 on a Thursday, and 03.30 on Fridays and Saturdays. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Dawson Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Stampa Hotel Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing