We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Dawson Hotel & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Dawson Hotel & Spa
Ranked #110 of 153 Hotels in Dublin
Galway, Ireland
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great Location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2010

Decent hotel in a great location. Refurbishment works ongoing at the moment so the place comes accross as a bit grubby, but will likely improve when works are completed. Staff all friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pikeman-7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

670 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    163
    206
    141
    81
    79
See reviews for
46
332
31
96
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (126)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2010

La Stampa was brilliant to stay at,friendly staff,quality service,top location in the city.Was quite surprised by some of the negative reviews on various sites before I booked..I took the ''risk'' & glad I did!

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BeeHotelReview
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2010

We spent a wonderful time in your Hotel. We are simply delighted! People were so nice and helpful , service was excellent .
Thanks must go to all the staff for looking after us so well. We will certainly recommend your hotel to all our friends.
My wife and I visited Dublin for the 1st time and we will come back for sure .

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wallirab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hunedoara, Romania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2010

I spent one weekend night with my wife at La Stampa Hotel to celebrate my birthday. We booked one of their new deluxe junior suites and we were both totally blown away with this room. It was well equipped, very spacious with a big comfortable bed, with a wall mounted TV which could be rotated and swivel so you can watch from bed or from the sitting area. The bathroom was also enormous, with separate shower and a large bath. The staff were very friendly and the service was excellent from the moment we checked in to the hotel . We ate in their French bistro and the food was delicious.

I would most definitely recommend this hotel , and can't wait until we go back.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank badflorin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2010

Had to visit Dublin with work - but partner came along too - and we had a day to selves at end of trip - so trip was mixture of busienss and pleasure. Really liked this hotel. It was expensive to be honest- but as work were paying for my first night - we only had to pay for 2nd.
The location is just super - you honeslty couldn't ask for better. Previous visits to Dublin we visited temple bar a lot - but this hotel taught us how to enjoy true dublin. All the surrounding streets are filled with shops, cafes, delis, restaurants, bookshops. They then lead onto either St Stephens Green - or Graton Street - so everything is on your doorstep. On Saturday we walked to Temple Bar - and quickly remembered how touristy it is - and walked swiflty back to our hotel area to spend the afternoon around there - much nicer area. It was literally 'buzzing' with life (in a nice way!) - I coudl spoends days and days potterign around!
Dont; understand some of the bad reviews - our room was spotless and v luxurious. Big room. Furniture not what used to in hotel - very different style - but that made it nicer! Bathroom was fab - double doors leading onto 'his and hers' sinks. Very quiet at night and we slept brilliantly.
Service was brilliant. We needed to leave bags with them on first morning and last afetrnoon. They were quick, helpful and generally lovely to deal with.
If we were heading back to Dublin - I'd love to stay here again - the only thing holding me back would be the cost (Friday night Was €130 room only).

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BelfastAlison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2010

I cannot speak highly enough about La Stampa - they made the most important night of our lives absolutely fantastic. My new wife and I held our wedding at La Stampa in June 2010, which involved twenty of my family members staying at the hotel for several days, and a 100 person meal at the Hotel's restaurant, which was called the Balzac at the time.

Notwithstanding that the food and service were absolutely first class, and the restaurant manager, Laurent, a picture of efficiency and easygoing charm, my entire family were thrilled with the service they recieved from the hotel. All of the rooms were very comfortable, functional, and where we needed a little extra help (with, for example, elderly relatives), the hotel staff could not have been more friendly. Indeed, the whole hotel staff were very excited about having a wedding there, and were on hand to help with the inevitable last-minute stuff.

Other reviews on this page will tell you about the fantastic location, lovely rooms (especially the Morocccan Suite, which is incredible), all of which are true, but for us, it was the quality and charm of the Service that really ensured our wedding went off without a hitch. I'd recommend this hotel to everyone.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sach_23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2010

Stayed 2 nights at La Stampa on a mixture of business and pleasure. Firstly this is a GREAT location. Hotel is on Dawson Street and is only steps away from some great restaurants . . . Marco Pierre Whites steakhouse is doors away and the excellent One Pico is on an adjacent street. Plenty of bars too . . . of all types. If you go out of the rear of the hotel and turn right you will see Kehoes, a great traditional Irish pub, outside the front door Cafe La Seine. Rooms are well a tiny bit disappointing I must admit. Classic rooms all look out over the back of the hotel so don't expect a view of any sort except rooftops. Room was very clean but just not the type of decor I would usually go for (a bit too boho for me - hated the curtains), But beds were comfortable and air conditioning unit was great as it had a quiet setting which didn't could not be heard!!! I usually hate air con as it keeps me awake but this did not! Free internet in all rooms was good bonus. Bathroom was lovely with good shower and excellent his and hers sinks, good towels and toiletries too. I ordered breakfast in my room on both mornings. First morning it was late and I had to ring down. When it did arrive it was a good fry with everything I would have expected as well as a complimentary newspaper. 2nd morning it arrived but had a few things missing so had to be chased up. Would I recommend to a friend . . . hard to say cause the location is almost unbeatable in my opinion so therefore I ticked yes. If you get it at the right price then it's worth it . . . Just don't pay too much I paid 120 Euro per room per night inc breakfast from the hotels own website and thought it was enough.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SpiritofKillaloe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
Brooks Hotel
#11 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,197 reviews
South City Centre
Fitzwilliam Hotel Dublin
Buswells Hotel
#23 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,377 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Drury Court Hotel
#24 of 153 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,357 reviews
The Morgan
#35 of 153 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,628 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Dawson Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Dawson Hotel & Spa

Property: The Dawson Hotel & Spa
Address: 35 Dawson Street, Dublin 2, Ireland (Formerly La Stampa Hotel)
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Dublin
#48 Luxury Hotel in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Dawson Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Dawson Hotel and award winning Dawson Spa are ideally located on Dawson Street in the heart of Dublin's city centre, with Trinity College at one end of the street and St. Stephen's Green at the other. Dublin's main shopping district, Grafton Street, is a short stroll around the corner from the hotel. Temple Bar is only 10 minutes’ walk away, while Dublin Castle and the Olympia Theatre are a 15 minute walk. With an elegant decor, each room includes a private bathroom with toiletries. All rooms contain an LCD TV with cable TV channels, complimentary water and free Wi-Fi access. A buffet breakfast service is available each morning, from 07.00 - 10.30 Monday to Friday and 08.00 – 11.00 at the weekends, served with orange juice, tea and coffee at our adjoining tenant The Seafood Bar restaurant (located at the Ground Floor of the Hotel). The Dawson Spa, located to the rear of the building, features “Voya” organic seaweed beauty products made in Ireland. Also onsite, the adjoining Sam's Bar offers a glamorous vibe, fresh cocktails and music from international DJs, with a Victorian garden terrace overlooking Dublin's Mansion House. While we do not have parking onsite, we have an agreement with Setanta Q-Park, located on Molesworth Street, where our guests can benefit from discounted parking with up to 50% off per 24 hour period. Should you wish to exercise or use saunas, we also offer our guests complementary day passes to Energie Fitness Gym & Swimming Pool on Clarendon Street. Please note, the Hotel is not recommended for those with mobility issues, in particular those who require wheelchair access. In addition, the hotel does not have any adapted wheelchair accessible rooms. Please be aware that rooms listed as Vibrant Weekend rooms are those located directly above Sam’s Bar, and music will be heard until around 02:30 on a Thursday, and 03.30 on Fridays and Saturdays. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your The Dawson Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Stampa Hotel Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing