We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect !”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Dawson Hotel & Spa
Ranked #107 of 153 Hotels in Dublin
Neuilly-sur-Seine, France
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Perfect !”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 November 2010

I went 2 times at La Stampa Hotel in October...and if I went a 2nd time, this is because my first experience had been great !
If you like luxury at a reasonable price, do not hesitate. The rooms are beautiful. I tried a classic double and a junior suite. The location in the city is perfect because at 2 mins walk from Grafton street, St Stephen's green, Trinity College, the bus station to the airport and 10 mins from Temple Bar.
I will soon go back in Dublin because it's a wonderfull city, and it's cool not to have anymore to search for a nice hotel because I will definately go back to La Stampa.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mag_paris75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

680 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    166
    208
    144
    82
    80
See reviews for
47
338
31
97
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (129)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2010

My wife and I traveled to Ireland in mid-September and spent 3 nights in Dublin at the start and end of our trip. We stayed at La Stampa both times and loved it. A charming little hotel with a lot of atmosphere. The staff was incredibly accommodating and friendly and the decor was very nice without being pretentious. The hotel also has two very nice restaurants and a large bar that can get quite busy at night. It is also located right next to several other trendy bars and night spots. Despite having an active night scene downstairs, the rooms were still quiet enough for a good night sleep (we stayed on the third floor). The only thing about La Stampa that I would describe as a problem was that the elevator and stairs were located in the back of the hotel so you had to go through the bar to get to them. Still, this hotel was fantastic and unbeatable for the price.

The location was also a big plus. It's only a five minute walk from St. Stephen's Green, Trinity College, and Grafton Street and a fifteen minute walk from Temple Bar and the National Gallery. In addition, there is a "Green Bus" stop at the end of the block. The "Green Bus" costs 16 euro for a one day pass and has stops all over the city including the Guiness Storehouse, Kilmainham Gaol, and Parnell Square.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MichaelTheThird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2010

Our experience was delightful! Our room was inviting, service was courteous and efficient.
You are a hidden secret in Dublin. We loved it and would want to stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sim030
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wrexham
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2010

I will be clear in my review - the below is not based on any poor service, in fact the service was okay - and I loved my time in Dublin - but the below is worth mentioning and should be taken on board - I was sold by all the positive reviews and felt very let down by the cost/benefit experience
to be completely honest - I have only ever reviewed 2 hotels - but felt compelled to review my experience:
La Stampa - is not a 5 star hotel and not worth the money. It tries hard to be a high end boutique hotel but does not live the experience. We booked a junior suit - it over looked a wall and a roof/hard standing that the staff smoked in - so our window could be viewed by the smoking staff. the description indicated bath and separate shower. The bath was great- a free standing roll top - but only had mixer taps - had to sit down to shower! The bath taps kept on falling off... the noise above from people walking about woke me up- very thin walss, anyone walking up and down the stairs was really loud - lots of drunk people wandering around (consistently through the night so would be surprised if this was a rare occurrence - although accept this may well be the case). I'm 32 so not an old man - I am up for partying, but I expect a party hotel to be sub £100 because of the noise issues - not in the £150 - £200 a night. This was my anniversary so wanted to spend more to get that luxury. This is the issue, this hotel is not worth the money - bargain basement experience for top end prices

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank smoothstar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Dublin hotels

Helsinki, Finland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2010

"Luxury Boutique Hotel" - I don't think so!, I think its membership to such a club should be revoked. I was only staying a couple of nights, luckily it was not a romantic great-away weekend with my husband or I would have left. The room was dark and the interior was extremely tired and totally lacked the luxury element I was expecting!!! The hallways!! - (quite a walk) leading to the room were in need of an overhaul. The first morning my room service breakfast was not up to standard, cold coffee, cold toast and the tray was not even covered. Could hear the man from the next room snoring!

  • Stayed September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank prisu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 September 2010

My wife and I used the Dublin La Stampa hotel as a base while traveling arond Ireland to Wexford, waterford, Tipperary, Cork, Kilarney, Dingle and to Dover UK. We stayed four nights at the La Stampa over and eleven night trip with three separate stays as we flew from Dublin to Bristol UK and back to Dublin to fly home to NY (USA). The staff and hotel management were extremely helpful and understanding allowing us to leave some luggage behind so we could travel light knowing we were coming back to the La Stampa.
The hotel was clean, spacious and reasonably priced. The staff could not have been more friendly and helpful. The food in the hotel restaurant, both dinner and breakfast, was among the best we had while in Dublin at a very affordable price. The next time we visit Dublin we will stay at the La Stampa.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank e296560
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2010

We booked this hotel through a discount website and got a great deal. The hotel is so central for a trip to Dublin as within walking distance of lots of wonderful bars and restaurants. The room was a good size and beautifully decorated and furnished, not the stereotypical or standard type hotel decor which was lovely. The staff were very friendly and helpful. Would definitely go back again and would try the spa this time as the treatments look amazing.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pinklily10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
Buswells Hotel
#24 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,398 reviews
Brooks Hotel
#10 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,223 reviews
South City Centre
Fitzwilliam Hotel Dublin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Drury Court Hotel
#25 of 153 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,385 reviews
The Morgan
#35 of 153 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,659 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Dawson Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Dawson Hotel & Spa

Property: The Dawson Hotel & Spa
Address: 35 Dawson Street, Dublin 2, Ireland (Formerly La Stampa Hotel)
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Dublin
#48 Luxury Hotel in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Dawson Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Dawson Hotel and award winning Dawson Spa are ideally located on Dawson Street in the heart of Dublin's city centre, with Trinity College at one end of the street and St. Stephen's Green at the other. Dublin's main shopping district, Grafton Street, is a short stroll around the corner from the hotel. Temple Bar is only 10 minutes’ walk away, while Dublin Castle and the Olympia Theatre are a 15 minute walk. With an elegant decor, each room includes a private bathroom with toiletries. All rooms contain an LCD TV with cable TV channels, complimentary water and free Wi-Fi access. The Dawson Spa, located to the rear of the building, features “Voya” organic seaweed beauty products made in Ireland. Also onsite, the adjoining Sam's Bar offers a glamorous vibe, fresh cocktails and music from international DJs, with a Victorian garden terrace overlooking Dublin's Mansion House. While we do not have parking onsite, we have an agreement with Setanta Q-Park, located on Molesworth Street, where our guests can benefit from discounted parking with up to 50% off per 24 hour period. Should you wish to exercise or use saunas, we also offer our guests complementary day passes to Energie Fitness Gym & Swimming Pool on Clarendon Street. Please note, the Hotel is not recommended for those with mobility issues, in particular those who require wheelchair access. In addition, the hotel does not have any adapted wheelchair accessible rooms. Please be aware that rooms listed as Vibrant Weekend rooms are those located directly above Sam’s Bar, and music will be heard until around 02:30 on a Thursday, and 03.30 on Fridays and Saturdays. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Dawson Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Stampa Hotel Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing