We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Day trip to Dublin”
Review of Stena Adventurer

Stena Adventurer
Ranked #145 of 507 things to do in Dublin
Attraction details
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Day trip to Dublin”
Reviewed 16 April 2014

At £5.00 day return on a Tuesday from Holyhead, a trip to Dublin is well worth it. Even at £10.00 return on the other weekdays Stena are offering a cracking deal over the summer. The ferry yesterday was virtually empty, it was on time and as the sea was calm and the weather beautiful, the trip in itself was pleasant. The long stay car park at Holyhead is well worth £7.00 for the day and a free shuttle bus to the terminal is quick.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Marilyn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    21
    15
    7
    9
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
yorkshire wolds
Level Contributor
40 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Very helpful staff on a VERY difficult crossing - Stena Nordica”
Reviewed 24 February 2014

Crossed from Holyhead to Dublin on 15th Feb in force 9 gales and returned 23rd Feb in gales again!! The crew on both crossings were thoughtful, reassuring and very helpful. On our return journey I realised I had forgotten my inhaler and became quite wheezy, the staff were incredible and sat me down and chatted while they found me an inhaler to use. Special thanks to crew members Terry Nott (manager) and to the wonderful Mike Rowlands who's medical training and reassuring chat was put to good use! All staff were friendly and I would definitely use Stena again instead of our usual Irish ferries. Well done Stena crew and thanks!

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank yorshirejan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tralee, Ireland
Level Contributor
99 reviews
41 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“Total Relaxation on the Irish Sea”
Reviewed 20 September 2013

We returned from our holiday in North Wales on the Adventurer last week - Holyhead to Dublin Port.

We always travel with Stena and we always pay a bit extra for a Premier ticket with access to the Stena Plus Lounge.

As usual we found embarking/disembarking to be fast and smooth. The Stena Plus Lounge was once again very relaxing and we found the choice of drinks and "nibbles" to be varied - there were some lovely spiced nuts, olives and breadsticks which went very nicely with complimentary wine! (I wasn't driving)

The sailing was very smooth and we arrived in Dublin feeling refreshed and ready for the long drive home. We would definitely recommend Stena.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Alcudiafan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, UK
Level Contributor
482 reviews
124 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 268 helpful votes
“Why choose Stena ?”
Reviewed 14 September 2013

Four of us travelled from Holyhead to Dublin on the Stena Adventurer on a Monday afternoon as footpassengers.

We arrived in Holyhead by train and the Port is right at the end of the platform. Cheek-in opened about 40 minutes before the boat was due to sail.

When you check in you also check your luggage in (like on an aircraft). You then don't see your bags until you arrive at the other end.

This came as a bit of a shock to us as our entertainment (books / magazines / laptops etc) were all checked in.

A bus then shuttles you from the terminal building out to the boat. The bus drives onto the boat and you disembark and walk up the stairs to the passenger areas.

The boat was quiet and in the area where we sat there were almost no other people.

Food and drink costs on board are expensive.

The boat seemed a little dated.

We travelled with Stena because of a good deal (price wise). However, the times at which they sail leave something to be desired and Irish Ferries (their competitor on the route) seem to have more sailings and better boats).

The crossing took 3hrs and 20 minutes and we were just 5 minutes late.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Skeldergate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Club class going downhill”
Reviewed 17 August 2013 via mobile

I always book premier (Holyhead and Dublin) so I can get on and off first and sit in club class however the complimentary refreshments have gone downhill since my last visit, there were too many people booked in so it was very noisy. Do not be fooled by the new adverts on tv, the seating is not comfortable just standard. It needs a complete overall.
Oh and the prices. ...always too high £400 return for 2 adults and 1 child. ....will have to start flying and hiring a car.....sorry doggies no more hols for you!!!!!!
On a positive note the staff have always been pleasant and helpful

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank tracey2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Stena Adventurer also viewed

 
Dublin, County Dublin
 

Been to Stena Adventurer? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing