We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good service”
Review of Hong Hop

Hong Hop
Ranked #1,208 of 2,618 Restaurants in Dublin
Cuisines: Chinese
Restaurant details
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“good service”
Reviewed 4 November 2013

We enjoyed some of the food but chicken over cooked five people all you can eat 20€ ...two bottle of wine .four cokes and lemonade €160

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank susanne36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    11
    5
    6
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Best value asian restaurant in Dublin”
Reviewed 14 October 2013

We frequent this restaurant regularly and are constantly drawn back by the warm and friendly service and the quality and variety of the food provided. This resturant operates a menu where you can eat as many starters and main courses as desired for a set price of €20 per head (€16 before 8.00pm). The quality of the food on the menu is superb. The a la carte menu is also very interesting and has a number of unusual dishes that you would not find in other asian restaurants. There is also a good wine and beer menu. Sommer and her team run a great establishment and it is always a joy to eat here. Can't recommend this restaurant highly enough.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Sam E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Superb service, delicious food, friendly and welcoming atmosphere.”
Reviewed 31 December 2012

Tried the hong hop several months ago with my girlfriend. Immediately it became apparent that we would like this place. We were greeted at the door and immediately shown to our table and made to feel very welcome, despite the restaurant being busy. The wine menu was great (according to herself) and their '4 for the price of 3' beers deal went down well with myself! The food was delicious, very fresh presented nicely. Also, and on a pedantic note, the time between starter being collected and mains arriving was perfect!
We have since been back 2-3 times per month at least, and have had numerous family birthdays and events there. I can not recommend this place and staff highly enough.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Scooby45_G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
“Take away very dissapointing”
Reviewed 29 December 2012

Got take away delivered and iv now thrown out the menu as i will never order from here again. The prawn cocktail only had 4 prawns and i dont know what the salad was but it didnt have lettuce, it did have a long hair though! The spare ribs came as 2 bigish pieces but tasted horrible so i didnt eat them. The chicken cheese rolls were ok. The chicken honey black pepper sauce was fine but for spending €30 i feel ripped off. Most of it went to the dog. Never again

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank evlynm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Formerly named Caravel”
Reviewed 24 June 2012

Dined at this restaurant on numerous occasions when it was The Caravel, changed owner and now its called the Hong Hop( a tongue twister of a name )
Decor was exactly the same, staff was friendly and polite. We availed of the ALL YOU CAN EAT BUFFET for 16 euros, made to order.
My husband loved the chicken curry when it was called the caravel , but not to sure of the chicken curry now, it was bland, tasteless, Starters are on much of a smaller scale, e.g , I ordered prawn toast, and that was prawn less , I also ordered chicken samosa and that was full of filo pastry with no chicken, the prawn toast was put on the same platter with every thing else like honey ribs, satay chicken and all the sauces soaked into my prawn toast which spoiled it.
I dont expect to be returning to this restaurant as we left feeling disappointed.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank YOLANNA-TB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Hong Hop also viewed

 
Clondalkin, County Dublin
Dublin, County Dublin
 

Been to Hong Hop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing