We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The Best”

Dublin Tour Guide - Private Tours
Ranked #12 of 224 Tours in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Young, energetic, but most importantly, knowledgeable and entertaining, Garvan offers some of the greatest walking tours in Dublin, delivered with as much passion as good cheer. Having over 700 tours under his belt, he knows all the main sites and most of the hidden ones ;)
Useful Information: Wheelchair access, Activities for older children
Inver Grove Heights, Minnesota
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The Best”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2014

Garvan is great. He is so passionate about his city, and this passion translates into one of the best tours you will ever have. His command of Ireland's history is remarkable. His passion for the city and Ireland's history is astounding. His songs and poems will transport you to another time, and you will feel it. His enthusiasm is refreshing and genuine. This was one of the best tours we have ever had.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Kevin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

280 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    273
    6
    0
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Needham, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“A Wonderful Morning!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2014

Garvan is a passionate, knowledgeable and charismatic guide who really made the incredible history of Dublin come alive for our family. He is a gifted historian and storyteller, who is able to give an overview of Dublin through vivid stories and great insight into the forces that shaped modern Ireland. If you have the opportunity you MUST schedule a tour of Dublin with Garvan. We have two teenage children (ages 14 and 18) and they both thought Garvan was, far and away, the most inspiring tour guide they have had (and they have had a bunch)!!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank fsr02492
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arnhem, The Netherlands
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Everybody loves Garvan!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2014

Garvan is the most entertaining tour guide you could wish for. He is knowledgable, good fun, and flexible. If you go to Dublin, make sure to book him.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Charlotte M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arnhem, The Netherlands
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Superb tourguide!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2014

Garvan is one great tourguide! He knows the city, knows the history of Ireland and when he tells about it, everybody is entertained! Make sure to book him, he's fun, friendly, a bit crazy (in a good way!) and you'll see Dublin from a different point of view.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank ElmarNuttree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Not to be missed!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2014

Garvan Rushe was recommended to us by our hotel and what a wonderful recommendation it was! We needed a knowledgeable guide, one who could interest both adults and a 13 year old. Garvan was perfect, in fact even better than we imagined. He was extremely knowledgeable (he knows so much) and enthusiastic and had a way of explaining Dublin and Ireland that was not only understandable but made everything magical. He was able to interweave history, culture and current events, and, at the same time, it was always fun (he taught us how to make a crisp sandwich). Garvan has a website which made it easy to contact him, and he responded quickly to my questions. He offers different tours to choose from and was also happy to tailor the tour to our interests. Garvan turned out to be a very special part of our Dublin trip. He is truly an Irish gift!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Linda K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Dublin Tour Guide - Private Tours also viewed

 

Been to Dublin Tour Guide - Private Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing