We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“College Visit To Waterways Ireland”

Waterways Ireland Visitor Centre
Ranked #242 of 532 things to do in Dublin
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Waterways Ireland owns a multipurpose space in the Dublin Docklands, which operates as a Visitor Centre, and Events Space. Applicants may wish to consider using the venue for exhibitions, displays, launches or press calls.
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“College Visit To Waterways Ireland”
Reviewed 8 October 2013

We decided to visit on a college trip and proved extremely helpful by giving use brochures and magazines . Our tour guide had a real passion for Irelands waterways and represent our rivers and canals with pride . if you like history it has a back drop of the famous 1916,s Bolands Mills it in a vibrant and colourful spot along the canal. Its definitely worth a trip and I would go again !

Eamon Doolan

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Eamon D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    4
    2
    0
    4
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Waterford, Ireland
1 review
“Really enjoyable”
Reviewed 5 May 2013

We had a great time here. Very informative tours and a lovely location next to all the barges. Great experience and highly recommend it to people of all ages.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank James M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
219 reviews
66 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
“rubbish”
Reviewed 18 December 2012

where are all the boats, why weren't boats who tried to get access denied. This is a terrible waste of tax payers money. There was no one in attendance at the information office, just a phone number on the door and when i made a long distance call to it was told it was closed. This was no my first visit. I went earlier in the year also and had the same terrible experience.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank sandraorourkeglynn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WaterwaysIre, Communications Officer at Waterways Ireland Visitor Centre, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
The Grand Canal is closed from 31st November - 17th March for maintenance, so no boats would have been moored at the centre during your visit on 18th December. The Visitor Centre operates Wed-Sun in high season in response to demand from the majority of visitors both from the water and from the city. We do not have the resources to keep it open all year.

I am sorry you were disappointed in your attempts to visit. New tours have been put in place for this season, and if you have the opportunity we would be delighted to welcome you along. Please do contact us in advance 01 6777510 if you would like to verify our opening hours.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Truro, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Waste of money”
Reviewed 26 July 2012

Sounded good, but 4 euro each for nothing but a map and a few childrens toys and a screen in one room. The girl on the desk had a attitude problem. Dont bother going

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Sally B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level 6 Contributor
159 reviews
113 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
“Box in the Docks”
Reviewed 8 January 2012

An interpretive centre on the Grand canal. It's a Box as described and only worth a visit if you can combine it with a visit to the Aviva Stadium or something else. No Parking and public transport is scarce.

Helpful?
Thank mickptre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Waterways Ireland Visitor Centre also viewed

Dublin, County Dublin
Dublin, County Dublin
 
Dublin, County Dublin
Dublin, County Dublin
 

Been to Waterways Ireland Visitor Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing