We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lunch/Early Bird Dinner quality is unbeatable for the price” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Wallace's Asti

Wallace's Asti
Ranked #655 of 2,526 Restaurants in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Kids, Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Lexington, Kentucky
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lunch/Early Bird Dinner quality is unbeatable for the price”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2014

The bargain here is a soup and salad with a pizza sandwich. I guess this place really is designed to be a wine bar at nights, but the food quality is superb and this was the least I paid for such a meal anywhere in Ireland. Nice ambiance inside the building, near Croke Park, neighborhood could be nicer.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank dwhamm0 .
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

189 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    82
    62
    14
    16
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cavan, Ireland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good Food, Friendly Staff & Cool Interiors”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014

We booked for lunch for 2 adults and 2 children. I had read all the reviews and decided to try it out. We had 2 mussels to start with, and the mains were tagliatelle bolognese, 2 pizzas and roast pork in pancetta. OMG it was delicious and such good portion sizes too. we washed it down with 2 bottles of the pinot grigio and the total came to 124.00.. whilst this was not the cheapest lunch we have ever had, it was certainly worth it. And seeing as how the wine cost 46 of the 124 the food itself wasn't overly expensive. My daughter even advised that her Bolognese was better than mine (much to my disgust!!) the waiters were all lovely, very friendly with a couple of the males being very easy on the eye. The interior was very laid back and reminded me of an Italian café / wine bar rather than a restaurant. It had covered seating outside too which felt very contintental. All in all, I would recommend this and will def be back.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Elisa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“excellent local bistro”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2014

good honest Italian food, reasonably priced, house red is wonderful (not so keen on the white) and two of the three waiters are honeys (the third is fine but I understand the obstinate label). We order three specials for 2 adults and 2 kids and fight over the extra glass of wine. Bread is great, pizzas some of the best in Dublin and pastas lovely. We good 3ish times a month. However my b-in-l finds the portions small (he is rather large).

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank gcgcggc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
103 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Great food,obstinant waiter”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2014

The food is good,but pricey.next door to Croake Park Hotel.
It is more of a wine bar,but food is fresh,and tasty.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank mattata1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcestershire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
516 reviews
157 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 273 helpful votes
“Good quality and good value”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2014

We booked at short notice and were glad that we had as despite being a Sunday evening it was very busy with people waiting for tables. The staff made us feel very welcome, our order was quickly taken and the wine and bread appeared immediately. There was then a slight delay before the starters arrived but the mussels in a spicy tomato sauce were certainly worth waiting for and the pizza was delicious. Would recommend and would visit again.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Warks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Wallace's Asti also viewed

County Dublin, Province of Leinster
 
Dublin, County Dublin
Dublin, County Dublin
 

Been to Wallace's Asti? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing