We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“BAD SMELL”
Review of Shan Restaurant

Shan Restaurant
Ranked #2,000 of 2,571 Restaurants in Dublin
Price range: US$37 - US$147
Cuisines: Indian
Restaurant details
uk
Level Contributor
84 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“BAD SMELL”
Reviewed 14 April 2014 via mobile

Soon as we walked into the restuarant a bad smell hit us... we took one look at the carpet and left. It was terrible place why would people eat in a vile place!! Went over the road to aleenas not to bad was better than shan and the waiter told us that shan has not changed the carpet over ten years...WOW ....the flees are loving it!

Helpful?
Thank Holidayboy77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    13
    7
    6
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Pretty decent”
Reviewed 26 July 2013 via mobile

I decided to try this place just for kicks, despite seeing not that great reviews here in trip advisor.

I arrived just after 7 PM, and only one table of customers were present besides me. Dining room is spacious, little worn out but in reasonably good shape.

Service was friendly and helpful, though a little warning of portion size would have been nice.
I'm used to eat quite a lot, and have completed 2.5kg burger challenge (9th of 370 candidates), but the amount of food on my biryani surprised me big time; even it's meant for a single person, I'd recommend sharing one.

Food was nothing too special, but good Indian food you'd expect to get from not too fancy restaurant. As a spicy food lover I found it matching my expectations and had a few sweaty moments during my dinner.

If you're looking for adventures in Indian cuisine, this restaurant has is not the place, but if you're after just 'normal' Indian food for big hunger, it's a decent option near temple bar.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Maerkus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Excellent indian food”
Reviewed 23 June 2013

We found this restaurant by accident and I am really glad we did. Excellent authentic Indian food, great price and excellent friendly service. For the price outstanding

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Fionn D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
469 reviews
379 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 331 helpful votes
“A very late night meal here can't be beaten”
Reviewed 20 February 2013

The main draw for this above average take away standard Indian is the fact that it stays open until 4am. The food is totally fine while not exactly mind-blowing but the service was good; friendly and efficient and good humoured - a tough balancing act when the joint gets filled with drunk people after the bars and clubs close! I'll definitely return late at night but this wouldn't be in my top ten Indian restuarants of Dublin.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank FreshEire A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Not worth it”
Reviewed 23 December 2012 via mobile

Ate here on a Saturday night after seeing a man with a sign advertising a early bird menu. Walked in only 2 other couples in the room.
Waiter sat texting on his phone, not interested in being there.
Starter was nice, chicken pakora but the main of chicken tikka masala was awful. Tasted too sweet and cheap. Far too much rice and the chicken tasted of plastic. Looked it had been warmed up. Paid the bill and left, should have read the reviews on here first.
Great location in Temple Bar.
Avoid - go else where

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank James_Lee2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Shan Restaurant also viewed

 
Dublin, County Dublin
 

Been to Shan Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing