We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“ONE NOT TO BE MISSED”
Review of Shanai

Shanai
Ranked #719 of 2,616 Restaurants in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Indian
Dining options: After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Dublin, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“ONE NOT TO BE MISSED”
Reviewed 15 February 2014

Shanai is a great restaurant situated in Cornelscourt. We visited there recently and found a friendly and warm staff with excellent food and a reasonably priced wine and beer list.

On seating we were delighted with the Poppadoms and dips delivered very quickly to the table.. the starters of Tandori Chicken , Vegetable Platter and Chicken Tikki were delicious and very generous in their portions. Main courses of Buttered Chicken with Pilau Rice and Biryani Chicken with curry sauce were excellent and we found we couldn't even think of dessert . We will certainly be making this a frequent stop on a night out. Very friendly and helpful staff. Highly recommendable

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Carmelanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    34
    10
    0
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
“Consistently Good”
Reviewed 31 January 2014

We enjoy excellent food in this warm and welcoming restaurant. Deceptive from the outside, the menu offers great variety at sensible prices. After Poppadom’s & Dips on arrival the Samosa and Piaju are good choices for starters. Tandoori Chicken Murgi and a sizzling Chicken Tikka (love hearing it coming from the kitchen) are delicious for mains with a side dish of Saag Aloo. A must have is Corianda Nan, crisp, light and perfect. A bottle of well priced Pinot Grigio makes our experience all the more enjoyable. This is a place to visit.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bill C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic food.great value good service”
Reviewed 3 December 2013

Just been to shanai on a Sunday for lunch and had a great meal with excellent service, very reasonably priced food. Highly recommended.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Easmi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Favourite Restaurant”
Reviewed 22 August 2013

I live near this restaurant and go a lot, around once a month. I love the food here. They have a really varied menu which is great for vegetarians as most of the dishes have the option to be vegetarian or not. The food is really great value for money and the staff are friendly. The decor needs an update but personally I care much more about the quality of the food then the interior design. The restaurant looks average from the outside but the food is really tasty, definitely the best I've had in Dublin!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DaenisC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
161 reviews
101 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
“Terrific little Indian/Bangladeshi place.”
Reviewed 29 June 2013

Extremely friendly staff.
Good food.
Great value.
Consistency.
I love this place.
The wine is also good value.
Highly recommended.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Shay O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Shanai also viewed

Dublin, County Dublin
Dublin, County Dublin
 
Dublin, County Dublin
 
Dublin, County Dublin
Dublin, County Dublin
 

Been to Shanai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing