We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yummy hot chocolate, great cuppa and quirky atmosphere.”
Review of The Sweetest Thing

The Sweetest Thing
Ranked #7 of 52 Dessert in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$2 - US$4
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Outdoor Seating
Port Elizabeth, South Africa
Level Contributor
124 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Yummy hot chocolate, great cuppa and quirky atmosphere.”
Reviewed 24 November 2013

I must say, the sweetest thing has some competition with The Bakehouse a few shops up. I think that if you are looking for cake, go to the bakehouse, however if you are looking for a decadent hot chocolate drink go to the sweetest thing. I think this place is fabulous, however will need to increase the variety and quality of baked offerings to compete with The Bakehouse. If you are looking for a great atmosphere, decadent hot chocolate, try it out!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Emma A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    79
    28
    4
    6
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Springfield, VA
Level Contributor
246 reviews
107 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 178 helpful votes
“Great milkshakes”
Reviewed 25 October 2013

This small cafe along the riverwalk is a great place to stop for a late-afternoon ice cream treat. The milkshakes were great, and the service was warm and friendly.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Carol757
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great hot chocolate!”
Reviewed 10 September 2013 via mobile

This little cafe has really yummy hot chocolate! We also enjoyed our carrot cake. The individual blocks of chocolate they sold there were 'interesting' to say the least - I definitely didn't enjoy the chilli one but some of the other liked the chocolate with added sea salt. But overall as a nice little cafe to enjoy a hot drink on a cool day, it was fabulous.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kel146
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nottingham
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“lovely”
Reviewed 27 August 2013

i took my two children here last week for a choc drink ,,the service was great and the place was lovely..the guy behind the counter cudnt do enough to help us thank you very much would recommend this place to anyone for a coffee or chocolate drink ...thnks once again

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank idyba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Yum!”
Reviewed 29 July 2013 via mobile

Great location with friendly staff and delicious menu. Relaxed atmosphere and made feel very welcome by barista Declan.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Leanne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Sweetest Thing also viewed

 
Dublin, County Dublin
Dublin, County Dublin
 

Been to The Sweetest Thing? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing