We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Groupon deal”
Review of La Belle Fontaine

La Belle Fontaine
Ranked #2,111 of 2,598 Restaurants in Dublin
Cuisines: Irish
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Dublin, Dublin, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Groupon deal”
Reviewed 27 November 2013

Nice pleasant meal very tasty great value very friendly staff. We had the Lamb which came with fresh veg we ordered a glass of white wine with this it was a very good wine in a very generous glass at only 4.50 euro very good value. This would be an ideal place to take a break from the shopping and relax without being ripped off

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Brendan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

16 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2
    0
    0
    4
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Westport, Mayo, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“The worst of the worst!”
Reviewed 2 November 2013

This place really is as bad as every other review says, and worse! The maroon rugs on the floor were filthy. If that wasn't enough, the flags, the bunting, plastic tablecloths and flowers, were tacky, and this is before we get to the owner. He was flummoxed by the concept of not having our voucher printed on paper. He wouldn't serve tap water, and insisted we buy a bottle, which he ultimately did not charge for. The food was passable (just). For us the worst part of this entire horrendous visit was the music. We got to hear 'Whisky in the Jar' twice and many other songs that they only play in Irish theme pubs in other countries. "The Chicken Song" by The Fureys, the one about the gay rooster getting raped by a chicken, was really too much. If you're in 'slumming' mood, this place is so appalling it could be fun. Dreadful experience, would not ever recommend.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Pete G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Well I have to disagree with all the bad comments”
Reviewed 1 November 2013

I have to disagree with all the bad comments the other visitors made. Ok I never ate there but I had coffee and the people working in the bar were very kind and really nice to talk to. The 2 lovely ladies working in the bar made my stay very warming and the locals that drink and dine in there are friendly. I would recommend this café if I was going to Dublin, esp if you just visited St.Marys church. The staff are lovely!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank geofferinho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Hurry quickly by”
Reviewed 27 October 2013

This is not a restaurant, it is a cafe, and it is a low budget cafe. Menu is poor. Food is woeful. Decor is tasteless, chequered bunting, red paper chain, tinsel shamrock, many assorted prints. You get what you pay for. Prices are low. One thing - staff are friendly and are kind to some of the unfortunates that appear tp frequent this establishment.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank hotmail888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“It fell completely flat in many ways”
Reviewed 15 October 2013

La Belle Fontaine, a fancy name for a restaurant but it didn't live up to our expectations.

I have been passing by this restaurant on a regular basis but somehow it didn't appeal to me, But this day happened when I didn't want to walk far from my appointment, We were starving and unfortunately I didn't check TripAdvisor , so off we went in...

First there were only 2 staff at the time of our visit who were strangely busy that we had to wait for her to notice us to lead us to our table, The light was dim ,soft music playing in the background giving the illusion of cozy ambiance but with the decor of cheap buntings,plastic flowers and unlit candle if anything I felt sorry for them.
We ordered Starters one of our choices was not available for the mains rack of lamb was underdone,dry and tough while the fish tasted it had been in the freezer for long ,chips was bland the ketchup which was in our table had a missing cap it was awful ,so I had to leap to another empty table to get a clean container of ketchup. We were about 5 couples dining when we were there,when 2 staff carrying 2 black bin bags from downstairs kitchen hurriedly hauled their trash and made a low-key exit maybe they thought diners would not notice as it happened very fast. This is a big NO-NO in a dining facility it was absolutely disgusting and disrespectful to customers.
Needless to say, We didn't bother to get desserts & coffee.
The waitress was pleasant so we gave a tip, but we have ZERO desire to go back to this establishment.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Cathedrals_Bookshops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed La Belle Fontaine also viewed

Dublin, County Dublin
Dublin, County Dublin
 
Dublin, County Dublin
Dublin, County Dublin
 
Dublin, County Dublin
 

Been to La Belle Fontaine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing