We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food & service”

McGettigans Cookhouse & Bar
Ranked #46 of 2,574 Restaurants in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$7 - US$25
Cuisines: Irish, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Reservations
Description: At the McGettigan's Cookhouse & Bar we are committed to using the finest quality ingredients and we believe that North County Dublin has some of the the best farming land and producers in this country.We always try to source the majority of our fruit and vegetables locally. We also believe in sourcing our meat and fish from Ireland.Our popular beer garden provides ample seating for those choosing to enjoy a meal or beverage in the fresh air. Fully heated and covered for those evenings with a chill in the air, our beer garden also boasts Digital TV showing all the latest sport in plasma screens and surround sound system music ensuring the perfect ambiance in modern design surroundings.With all of our guests and customers comfort a priority our beer garden is non-smoking, we do also have a purposely designed smoking area which is also seated and fitted with surround sound music.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good food & service”
Reviewed 18 May 2014

This is a relatively new eatery in the North Star Hotel on Amien St. You would pass by it without noticing but it is well worth the visit. A restaurant cum bar with a relaxed pub atmosphere. The food is really good and great value. The fish and chips is great. Staff are friendly and relaxed full of Dublin charm. And you can stay as long as you want.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Marie O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

345 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    209
    93
    30
    10
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sligo, Ireland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Fantastic customer service , great quality,tasty food”
Reviewed 7 May 2014 via mobile

Stumbled upon this place as it's close to Connolly train station , and am delighted I did !
Great quality food , big variety , affordable and definitely best customer service I've ever experienced in Dublin . Lovely Friendly , professional staff .
I had the fish and chips and it was tasty . (See pic )
Nice casual atmosphere here , I will def be back anytime I'm waiting for train at Connolly .

Helpful?
Thank claremck834
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elmhurst, Illinois
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Amazing Fish n' Chips”
Reviewed 24 April 2014

Stopped by while at the hotel for a quick bite to eat. Beer was relatively inexpensive (compared to Chicago standards) and the Fish n' Chips were amazing! Very good!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Vanessa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Only drinks I found on Good Friday... and as a surplus, the food was great”
Reviewed 18 April 2014 via mobile

Busy, but cosy. The meals were simple but of high quality and were made with local products. Best thing... We managed to spent more than one and a half hours to finish our dinner. Usualy in Ireland second courses arive before the first course is even finished :-) I will certainly consider this place as a 'must go there again place' when I return to Dublin again.

Helpful?
Thank Didier P
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Level Contributor
33 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Delicious”
Reviewed 17 April 2014

I stayed in the North Star Hotel and after an exhausting day decided to eat here rather than venture further afield. The food was delicious, and well priced! Staff were lovely as well! Would recommend to anyone, especially if you're staying in the hotel!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Hannahpriyanka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed McGettigans Cookhouse & Bar also viewed

Kingswood, County Dublin
Dublin, County Dublin
 
Dublin, County Dublin
Dublin, County Dublin
 
Dublin, County Dublin
Dublin, County Dublin
 

Been to McGettigans Cookhouse & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing