We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“First time at theatre and very memorable” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bord Gais Energy Theatre

Bord Gais Energy Theatre
Book In Advance
More Info
US$52.21*
and up
Dublin Dinner Cruise by Guinness Barge
Ranked #36 of 498 things to do in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Bord Gáis Energy Theatre raised its first curtain on March 18, 2010 and has since been presenting world class performances to almost 2 million audience members from across Ireland and the world. With a diverse repertoire of genres ranging from musicals to folk concerts and from opera to ballet, coming to the theatre allows you an escape. You can get to a Broadway or West End theatre, Russian ballet or German opera, all from just a few minutes away from home. In an iconic building, designed by renowned architect Daniel Libeskind, the theatre is a pinnacle of entertainment in the heart of Dublin’s city centre. Home to the Circle Club, the theatre provides for those who wan to experience a little bit more during their theatrical experience. Here is a place to relax and enjoy the performance while taking in the magnificent views of Grand Canal Basin, food, and friends.
Maghera, Co. Down, N. Ireland
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“First time at theatre and very memorable”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 December 2013 via mobile

I went the The Bord Gais Theatre with my wife in December to watch wicked, we had never been at the theatre before so were looking forward to it. I was very impressed with the building and the service at the confectionary counter before entering the theatre. The show Wicked was excellent and well worth a see, the seats in the stalls were comfortable enough for the duration and I'm 6ft 4in tall. I think the amount of shows that would interest me in the theatre would be few and far between, but if another one came up I would definitely go to The Bord Gais Theatre to watch it.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank mcnabb69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

561 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    389
    134
    23
    6
    9
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Naperville, Illinois
Level Contributor
241 reviews
41 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Priscilla Queen of the Desert”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 December 2013

The theatre district is very modern with lots of upscale artwork with neon. Lots of restaurants surrounding the theatre. The theatre is large and beautiful. The seats are large and very comfortable. We saw Priscilla Queen of the Desert, which was very funny and well done. Highly recommend a theatre night while visiting Dublin.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank MicheleC106
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dorset uk
Level Contributor
30 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great Theatre”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 December 2013

Great theatre and lovely venue. Performance marred by people eating popcorn - is this necessary in a theatre?

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank mwdorset2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
45 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Awsome”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 December 2013

I saw Wicked last week and it was the best show so far that I have seen in the Bord Gais. Our seats were fantastic and the costumes especially the hats were delightful

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Anne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
122 reviews
42 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Ballet”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 December 2013

It is a great venue...First of its kind in Dublin..I am not mad about the name though..Grand Canal Theater was a lot more appealing. I do love the area though as well..Must see in Dublin.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank IrlandeRussie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bord Gais Energy Theatre also viewed

Dublin, County Dublin
Dublin, County Dublin
 

Been to Bord Gais Energy Theatre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing